We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful charm and great location plus saltwater pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful charm and great location plus saltwater pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Loved the proximity to the park and stores- you literally walk out onto the main street! We enjoyed a two night stay with a young child and teen, and got upgraded to a larger room for free since there was availability! It is one of the few downtown hotels with a pool, which is saltwater and rarely occupied. The service was great, and the classical decor added to the Victorian feel. I strongly recommend a package and add-ins in advance- such as breakfast and dinner, which saved us a lot of money, especially since we dined at their four diamond Escabeche. The food was good and again, service great. We had a very active child with us, but staff were friendly and helpful. We had vouchers for tours and free wine tastings from the hotel for each day, and thoroughly enjoyed it. There is plenty of parking in the back. If you forget your bathing suit, disposable ones are available for purchase at the spa. We really enjoy the Vintage chain and also stayed at Queen's landing, which is not as close to the strip as Prince. Tip: Not all hotels will place an immediate hold on the full estimated amount on your credit card at check-in, but they do.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    263
    126
    60
    15
See reviews for
206
957
14
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel is beautifully decorated throughout - gorgeous flowers outside, stunning entrance, and the dining rooms and tea room as well as each individual rooms. You truly feel specail when you stay here. I can't say enough for the customer service we got, especially from Cooper - we were very very satisfied with everything about the hotel. Had the best tenderloin eve! We highly recommend this jewel and can't wait till we go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellasignora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My partner and I decided to do a last minute Niagara-on-the-lake romantic getaway, and this hotel exceeded all of our expectations.
From the friendly valet parking, to the helpful front desk staff - we were always greeted with smiles and the best service!
We booked the "romance package" which included an upgraded room with a beautiful 4 post bed, a bottle of champagne, bouquet of roses and some fresh fruit.
When we left the hotel for our dinner and wine tour, upon our return the room was once again transformed with a turn down service and a fresh rose on the bed.
Our only regret was that we couldn't stay in this beautiful hotel longer ............

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Perfect place to stay for shopping and sightseeing,felt very welcome from the moment you walk throught the door,staff very freindly and helpful,Cooper upgraded our room right away because of cancelation,which was totally unexpected,rooms are very beautiful,restaurant was very nice and the food was good.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Perfect place to stay if you want to be able to walk to everything!! Beautiful hotel,amazing rooms,excellent staff. We would definately stay here again!! We would not do the hotel breakfast again. The vicorian buffet was NOT good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkerr70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel and especially the staff are top notch. We arrived on June 29, 2012 expecting a two night stay and found we were only booked one night. Well, the manager, Cooper overheard and immediately came to our aid. He set us up in a one bedroom luxury suite with complementary breakfast all at the same price of our original night. This was on a night that 20,000 people were expected in town for a concert. We will definitely be coming back as the staff went over and above “the call of duty” to help us. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. Well done !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We did not stay at this lovely hotel but attended their lovely tea service. The friendly staff with bright smiles who attended to our needs and gave great suggestions for a lovely seat down tea service that included home made pastries and teas from around the world. The wonderful tea and delightful eats we're served on fine china. Take a moment and reserve some time to enjoy a relax full moment away from the crowds and live life like the royals once did in this lovely parlor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRSIMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing