We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception at Prince of Wales”
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We held our wedding reception at the Prince of Wales hotel on July 1, 2012. We can say, without a doubt, this was the best decision we made in regards to our wedding.

I first became aware of Vintages Hotels through one of their amazing wedding shows that I attended with my mom and sister. We were greeted with a glass of champagne and treated like royalty. We saw all three properties (Prince of Wales, Queen's Landing, and the Pillar & Post) and I fell in love with all of them.

My fiance and I met with Stephanie Allen a short time later, who showed us the Flower Garden at the Pillar & Post where we ended up holding our ceremony and she answered all of our questions with much attention and thought.

When I first saw the properties, I thought it would be way too much for our budget. But I was pleasantly surprised to find that they have packages that suit almost any budget. How can you say no to perfect customer service, gorgeous surroundings, scrumptious food and a great price? You just don't, and that's the end of it.

Once we booked, we had access to our wedding coordinators, Kaitlin Lepp at the Prince of Wales and Savannah Krantz at the Pillar & Post. Both responded to my emails and phone calls straight away, throughout the planning process, and both were amazing on the day of our wedding. Kaitlin and her staff unpacked and arranged all our decor on the tables and in the room for the cocktail party and packed it all up for us again at the end of the night. They even put our leftover wedding cake into plastic trays for us. There was not one hiccup (at least that I was aware of) on our beautiful day and I know it's because they are professional, skilled and naturals at this wedding thing!

The food was absolutely amazing and our guests are still talking about the hors d'oevres at the cocktail party and the risotto at the dinner buffet. The wine was paired by their inhouse sommelier and was a great match to the dinner.

Wedding aside, you'll find impeccable service all throughout the hotel whether for room service, porter help, complimentary valet, in the restaurant, etc. Everyone is so helpful.

We had the bridal suite for two nights and it was HUGE! We even had a mahagony step to get into the King Sized bed and we came home each night to a beautiful rose on the bed. The bathroom had a shower and jacuzzi tub and was big enough for us three ladies to get ready in together. I heard some of the other hotel rooms were quite small (I didn't see them) but they were still beautifully decorated.

I had room service on the morning of our wedding and enjoyed the wild mushroom omlette and coffee. It was the perfect food to start a long day.

All in all, it was a perfect weekend and I wouldn't change a thing. We look forward to going back and enjoying the properties again in future and will always hold fond memories of our time at the Prince of Wales (and Pillar & Post)!

Room Tip: If it's in your budget, splurge for one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemonadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,459 - 1,465 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hotel came to us highly recommended so we decided to spend a night there for our anniversary. The property although is nice and in a great location feels a bit old. It is also expensive. The hotel restaurant is very pricey and the food was mediocre at best - had New York striploin with mashed potatoes - portions were small. You could hardly call that a steak. Not worth the money. The service was a bit slow. Breakfast the next morning was part of the package - we asked to be seated in the veranda, the hostess hesitantly checked and we were put in the veranda however didn't get a window table although it was available. Again, the service was slow. It felt the place was short staffed. At check-out we were charged for dinner twice so had to have them adjust.
I may stay at the hotel again however will definitely not eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for your candid feedback. I would like to apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations as that is our ultimate goal. We do pride ourselves on our fine dining experience. I will look into your concerns to ensure all of our guests enjoy their time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We paid $400+ to stay here for one night. We were advised the room was larger than average: it was not, it smelled of mildew, the carpet in the halls were being torn up, the room was not even in the main hotel. The best they initially offered was free parking. We convinced them that was not enough and we received free breakfast. While the staff was friendly and helpful, paying a premium for a crappy room was a huge disappointment. I can only conclude that while the building is nice and the staff friendly, the hotel is way overpriced and just not worth it. Save your $ and stay elsewhere.
---Still waiting for some kind of resolution...

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annex. Ask for the dimensions and a photo of your specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StevenAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable. I will look into your concerns and follow up with our reservations team to ensure they are painting an accurate picture to our portential guests. Please contact me directly--I would like to follow up with you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had never visited Niagara on the Lake, had few expectations, but were impressed by the person who had helped us choose a venue from among the several offerings of the Vintage Hotel Chain. In the course of the conversation we were moved from one hotel to another due to our request for a first floor room. The Prince of Wales is stunning at first view, surrounded by hanging plants in a riot of glorious colors, and equally elegant after you enter the hotel. Each person with whom we interacted treated us graciously and warmly, and satisfied our every need. This was true of the valets, the gentlemen and women who worked the reception desk....everyone! Before departing for home we booked a longer stay for 2013. We left with sweet memories, eager for our next visit to Niagara on the Lake and the Prince of Wales Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our daughter was married in the Hampton Court Room and the Reception was held in the Victoria and Albert Ballroom. From the moment we arrived on Fri. July 6th, we were treated with the ultimate service. The staff are professional, efficient and personable. The rooms we stayed in exceeded our expectations. The Venues were spectacular, the flowers from the Hotel's in-house florist, Clippings, were absolutely stunning. To say the food at this Hotel was delicious would be an understatement. From the moment we arrived to the time we left on Sunday, our stay was a pleasure. I would highly recommend this Hotel and it's Restaurant. We have had nothing except positive feedback from our guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Loved the proximity to the park and stores- you literally walk out onto the main street! We enjoyed a two night stay with a young child and teen, and got upgraded to a larger room for free since there was availability! It is one of the few downtown hotels with a pool, which is saltwater and rarely occupied. The service was great, and the classical decor added to the Victorian feel. I strongly recommend a package and add-ins in advance- such as breakfast and dinner, which saved us a lot of money, especially since we dined at their four diamond Escabeche. The food was good and again, service great. We had a very active child with us, but staff were friendly and helpful. We had vouchers for tours and free wine tastings from the hotel for each day, and thoroughly enjoyed it. There is plenty of parking in the back. If you forget your bathing suit, disposable ones are available for purchase at the spa. We really enjoy the Vintage chain and also stayed at Queen's landing, which is not as close to the strip as Prince. Tip: Not all hotels will place an immediate hold on the full estimated amount on your credit card at check-in, but they do.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel is beautifully decorated throughout - gorgeous flowers outside, stunning entrance, and the dining rooms and tea room as well as each individual rooms. You truly feel specail when you stay here. I can't say enough for the customer service we got, especially from Cooper - we were very very satisfied with everything about the hotel. Had the best tenderloin eve! We highly recommend this jewel and can't wait till we go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellasignora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,553 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £160 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing