We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice - expected a lot and more than got it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice - expected a lot and more than got it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Roll back the years - lovely period ambience, stately building, nice setting, well maintained. Room was of good size with period furniture and décor. (Wifi a plus). Slower pace of life here a delightful change from nearby frenetic Niagara Falls.

Central location - able to walk to the theaters in only a few minutes. Desk staff, especially Uwe, very helpful with room assignment, recommendations for dinner, and wineries (many nearby by car). Minor gripe - eating at hotel a bit expensive, though you do get a nice ambience. Several less expensive restaurants within walking distance.

Would like to go back. Certainly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProfessor_5617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    264
    127
    61
    15
See reviews for
209
972
15
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My room was perfect. Athena was the lovely staff member who greeted us at the front desk and made sure every detail of our stay was attended to.
I made use of the fireplace in the room and stayed warm next to one in their cozy lounge for a late meal. Very nice entertainment there on Saturday nights.
The place was pretty booked but I never felt rushed or had to wait for any service during the weekend.
Again, the Prince of Wales was my restful elegant stay for a fantastic weekend getaway from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a fireplace during the chilly times of the year. Not all rooms are exactly the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megamomof3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked a suite for our 10th wedding anniversary. I had emailed the hotel ahead of time to request an early check in and let them know of our celebration. Upon arrival our room was ready early and check in was quick and easy. Our room was beautiful and we walked in to find a nice bottle of wine and a card congratulating us on our anniversary, very nice touch. The room itself was beautiful and very cozy. We loved the large bed, very comfortable. The suite was very nice and if we stayed again we would book a suite again. The only minor issue was that our fireplace did not work, we mentioned it to the front desk and was informed that it was not operational, not a big deal and did not upset us. The hotel was very quiet at night and we did not even hear other doors opening or closing. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the the towel warmer and rain shower head in the bathroom.
All staff we encountered were excellent, not one complaint.
The exercise room was a bit small with only one treadmill but I was there early and it wasn't an issue. I imagine most people run outside as it is beautiful scenary, but the weather wasn't the greatest so I chose the gym.
We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunMnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Yes it's expensive and it's worth it. You're already in NotL, so you might as well stay here and make it extra special!

I stayed only one night here and, from the moment you walk in, you can tell there's a lot of history in this building. I got lost in the building twice because of it's layout -- it must have seem some estate back in the day.

Our room was very clean and well appointed but you knew that already so I won't go into it. This hotel is part of the Vintage Hotel collection of NotL. These hotel are all connected with each catering to a very distinct style. Prince of Wales is very Victorian and is, in fact, where the Queen of England stays when she visits.

Because of this connection, you can use the amenities of the other hotels for free. I recommend checking out the hot springs at Inn and Post and the Tiara restaurant at Queen's Landing. Be sure to ask about the dinner offer if they don't tell you -- app, entre AND dessert for $60 a person and you don't choose from a restricted menu, you choose from the regular one. So I had a $20 app, a $42 entree and a $12 dessert for $60 -- I was happy :-).

Me and my fiance were celebrating our engagement and received a signed card from all the staff that day in our room. Also, every other hotel in the collection knew we were engaged and congratulated us when we went to the hot springs as well as at our dinner (where they gave us a custom dessert place with candles and "Congratulations on your Engagement!" written in icing on it).

Stay here. The attention to detail is amazing. I promise you won't regret it.

Room Tip: A deluxe room is only $20 or so dollars more than a standard but comes with a fireplace or whirlpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Cute tea room
Sandwiches and scones were amazing
Pastries were okay
Table was okay - rose was dying and cups didnt match plates wish I knew to sit in couch area as we had a squished awkward corner table

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_l0ve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Prince of Wales Niagara on the Lake October 17, 2013

As we approached the valet parking area in front of the hotel, we knew that we were in for a wonderful stay, albeit brief, to celebrate a birthday. The abundant flowers and shrubs were still in bloom and the exterior of the hotel promised a “visit” to another time of luxury as well as atmosphere.
Once we stepped into the lobby to check in, we knew we made a great choice. Victorian style furnishings, a Tiffany mural of Athena in a flower garden, and mythological characters were the subjects of large white stone or gold statuary. It was all very lovely.
Prints of European scenes, royalty and other prominent figures were encased in thick, gold frames of that period, and lined the walls of the long hallways. To me it was like a castle setting and brought back reflections from favorite British dramas, especially the Downton Abbey series.
The room turned out to be a suite…a sitting room with tv, couch, chair and a sparkling white, gas fireplace that gave out warmth at the flick of a switch. The sleeping room was well appointed with a big closet, desk, tv, small refrigerator, and accessories for serving wine. Again, ornate prints decorated the walls, and the signature color of these two rooms was in lush shades of red. It was royal!
A plate of oranges and a small box of chocolates rested on the table with a birthday card which brightened our arrival.
What would such an experience be like if we ignored the hotel’s High Tea? We didn’t want to know, so we confirmed our reservation and were promptly seated at 3 pm. We each selected a different tea from the list which were brought in two, generous sized china teapots. A three tiered server was brought with four kinds of tea sandwiches, cut in various shapes and very flavorful. The top tier held the scones and other pastries and a condiment tray with Greaves strawberry jam (made in the town), a sweet cream and butter toppings, set beside it. The high tea, purchased along with the hotel reservation, was $60.00 plus tax for two. It completed the British experience and added to the delight of our day.
The hotel is right in the center of town. Parking is free for guests and all of the shops are within walking distance. Although there were a few children seen in the town, most of the tourists appeared to be of mature age on that Thursday.
One other memorable impression occurred while resting on a bench during my shopping. A neatly dressed newspaper boy was walking store to store, delivering the local daily paper, and carefully pulling each folded copy out of his logo delivery sack as he entered the stores. That brought back memories of small town USA in some bygone days. We loved the visit and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0sephine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel was great, and we felt the staff did everything possible to accommodate us. We would definitely come back to Niagara on the lake, and stay at the Price of Wales.

The only downside was the lack of any type of night life. Although we did go on a Sunday evening.

Room Tip: Make sure you are booked in a room in the main hotel building (where you check in). There is a seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing