We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond My Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
streetsville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beyond My Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I went for my "special" birthday and it was more than I expected. Great location and the room was lovely. Waiting for me (courtesy of my wonderful niece) was a cheese tray and a bottle of bubbly in addition to the bottle of wine and chocolate strawberries provided by the hotel in the package we purchased. Nicely presented. Breakfast next day was prepared by a chef - not just cooked. Nicely presented, great coffee and the server was very attentive. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlerose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,111
    264
    126
    60
    15
See reviews for
206
959
14
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My fiance and I spent a wonderfully exquisite three day getaway here while visiting the town. It's a beautiful hotel situated centrally in town. The rooms are comfortable, the dining is excellent, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you happen to take the vineyard tour - which can be booked at the front desk - you'll be very lucky if you get Margaret as your trolley guide.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unionville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Classic Victorian design in the room and cozy
The restaurant server pretty good menu and selection

Service is excellent from the housekeeping to the bar. Restaurant in the hotel offers excellent selection of menu plus extensive collection of wines from the Niagara regions

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

A beautiful Victorian hotel well-situated on main street downtown so you can walk everywhere. Service and the spa experience was 5 star. The room we stayed in was spacious and situated in the main hotel building. We were on the main floor with a view of the parking lot and the ceilings were quite low. Towels were frayed on the ends and the hotel is in need of some upgrades. Last call in the pub was 11:45 pm which seemed early for a Saturday night. Sunday brunch was included in our room rate and it was average. Not a huge selection but the Eggs Benedict were delicious.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

At a distance this is a very nice historical hotel. For the price I felt that this was poor value, but it seems to be always full and is probably the best option in town. We were given a room in a newer adjoining building which seemed more like a Holiday Inn room (no disrespect Holiday Inn) than a boutique hotel room. Part of the attraction is staying in the old hotel I would think. The hotel is starting to seem a little drab in in need of a renovation. The shuttle service is great. The bar is nice and has decent pub food. Our room was next to an ice making machine that seemed to be in loud production mode all night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor seem to have low ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidoffWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here a couple times and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are classy, the decor is elegant and the rooms are clean. The staff is helpful, minus the frontdesk mistakenly saying my credit card isnt working, then trying again and it working. We are going back the 20th of this month for a weekend getaway and are excited We reccomend checking it out.

Room Tip: book ahead, they have good room upgrades sometimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

A wonderful afternoon outing in the 'most beautiful town in Canada' and High Tea to sit and chat the say away! Very special and relaxing. So much delicious food, just come hungry! A social way to end the year with someone you care about!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mombd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing