We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous wedding”
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous wedding”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had our wedding at the Prince of Wales Hotel in April 2014 and the event not only met, but exceeded, our expectations in every way. The staff - our wedding coordinator Kaitlin in particular - went above and beyond. We trusted Kaitlin so much that we left all the set up details in her hands and didn't even think twice about it until she took us through the ballroom before the reception. It was absolutely perfect!

The staff at the Prince of Wales looked after all our needs and took excellent care of all our guests. From our rehearsal dinner at the Pilllar and Post, to our ceremony and reception at the Prince of Wales, and our farewell brunch the next morning, everything ran smoothly. The accommodations were beautiful, the meals, particularly for the reception, were amazing and the service impeccable.

We can't express how grateful we are for Kaitlin and the Prince of Wales - they made our day perfect. We highly recommend this venue for anyone looking for a special place to hold their wedding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twens201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Twen201,

I was truly delighted to read your review on TripAdvisor! The best compliment we can receive is to hear that all of your expectations were exceeded.... that is truly high praise! Kaitlin and her banquet team always do a wonderful job assisting our wedding couples create memories that will last a life time. I am also pleased to hear our sister property, the Pillar & Post provided you with a wonderful rehearsal dinner.

We hope you will join us again in the future to create more memories.

Kind Regards
Kelly Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    274
    130
    65
    16
See reviews for
218
1,010
17
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely one-night get away to Niagara-on-the-Lake for our 7th anniversary. The room was very nice and we had dinner at the Pellers Estate. While we were out exploring the shops and lake we returned to the room where someone was kind enough to leave a rose and turn on some beautiful jazz music in our room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Monimarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Monimrz,

Congratulations on your 7th Anniversary! I am so pleased you chose to celebrate your special day with us at the Prince of Wales Hotel. I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our turndown service,one of the many special touches we offer to all our valued guests.

I hope you will consider us again whenever your travels bring you to beautiful Niagara on the Lake.

Kind Regards
Kelly Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile


This is a charming, if somewhat sprawling hotel right on the main street in Niagara on the Lake.  The styling is a bit random, with something of a Regency theme, but also, Greek and Roman gods and, in our room, Art Deco lamps coupled with Willow Pattern styling on our headboard, footer and curtain around the bed.  We also had a couple of 18th century "slice of life" pantings.  Everthing was nice, but its a really random mix!  Its starting to age and look a bit tired in places.  The staff were helpful e.g. after we checked in we discovered that our room had no safe.  We contacted reception, who advised that they were being repaired and then got another safe found and set up in our room within 10 minutes.  They were also helpful with booking restaurant reservations, (which was handy as we were there for the 1st July holiday weekend), and on to a wine tour.
The wi-fi is free and requires a p/w provided at reception and written on your room key card.  There is free parking at the rear of the hotel,  with a valet service if required.  The beds were comfortable.  The room was modest in size, but big enough and furnished with tv cupboard, wardrobe, desk and occasional table.  There is a fridge in the tv cupboard.
The bathroom was spacious including a bath with shower over, the shower head being removable, should you wish to wash your hair without showering.  There was a self-lit shaving mirror, a wide surface in which the sink was set  plus a hot towel rail.  Hairdryer provided; hung on the back of the door.  The shower screen was not glass, but a curtain, and a bit grubby at the bottom - obviously not changed very often, which is a bit gross.
 If you are agonising between this and their sister hotel, The Queen's Landing, the QL has more elegant decor and a great view of the lake, whereas the PoW has a great location on the Main Street with all the shops and most of the bars / resto's close at hand.  For a 2-3 day trip stick with the Prince, but for a longer trip I'd consider QL, although, note, I haven't seen their rooms.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Prince of Wales is a beautiful and elegant hotel in the middle of Niagara on the Lake, ON. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. The bathrooms are updated with modern fixtures, bathrobes/slippers and umbrellas in the rooms. Turn down service is provided with a lovely rose on the pillows. Upon your arrival to your room they have water and oranges. Beautiful indoor pool with hot tub and sauna that was nice to relax in after we went to the theater. The hotel is conveniently located in walking distance to everything in the town. Outside of the building are the most gorgeous flower plantings that are beautifully taken care of. This is truly a luxurious splurge and well worth it.

Room Tip: If you have an issue with stairs, be sure to ask for a first floor or room with elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeashellSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A rose left on your pillow at night. Water and oranges for refreshments. Just a few of the lasting touches that leave such a warm and wonderful impression for the traveller experiencing the myriad graces and charms that Niagara-on-the-Lake has to offer. From the comfiest bed we've enjoyed on vacation, to high quality toiletries, valet parking and K Cup coffees on hand (plus free weekend coffee/tea mornings in the lobby), no detail is overlooked in your peaceful Prince of Wales stay. There's also a shuttle if mobility's a problem to get you the two blocks to the Festival Theatre. Like I said, no detail overlooked. Enjoy your stay - we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: There is not a bad one. I worried that our room on the 2nd floor directly above the entrance (and ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We hosted a group of 45 women for 3 nights. All expected a high-quality experience and the Prince of Wales and its staff did not disappoint! The rooms were beautiful and immaculate, and the staff was extremely kind and helpful - even with some of our odd requests! Our afternoon tea was exceptional. We received a truly royal treatment throughout out stay. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear BarbH,

Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so glad that everyone enjoyed their time here at the Prince of Wales Hotel and that you received the "Royal Treatment". Afternoon Tea in our beautiful Drawing Room is a very unique experience and I am so pleased all of the ladies enjoyed it!

I am very proud of our team here and happy that they were able to accommodate all of your requests.

I hope you will consider us again whenever your travels bring you to Niagara on the Lake.

Kind Regards
Kelly Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently hosted a team meeting at the Prince of Wales for about 30 attendees from June 9-12. The hotel proved to be the perfect setting for our event with easy access to the heart of the town. The rooms were well appointed with modern bathrooms and updates. I found all of the staff to be extremely helpful and professional over the course of our event. We were able to enjoy all of the facilities including a welcome reception at the hotel on the first evening and a lovely dinner at Queen's Landing, a sister property of the hotel, also within walking distance. Our meeting space was in the Royal Cambridge Room, a fairly new conference room located just outside the main hotel ... a beautiful room which offered plenty of space for our group in a more private setting. The only drawback was torrential rain one morning but luckily umbrellas were provided! We were very well looked after by Juan and Jordan who made sure all details were taken care of. Jordan was especially helpful and took such great care setting up meals and breaks and looking after our group .. it's obvious that the staff take pride in their work and want to make sure the guest has a good experience. I also have to mention that the lunches provided during our meeting were very good and surpassed my expectations. Delicous cakes and pastries too ... not your standard conference fare for sure. We hope to be back one day!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cdndreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,485 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
468 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing