We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service in Niagara”
Review of Queen's Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

After having a wonderful romantic getaway at the Vintage Hotels, my fiancée and I settled on the Queen’s Landing for our wedding. Lisa, the wedding coordinator, is perfection and helped us throughout our year of planning and handled every detail on the day. She also went above and beyond helping us even days after the wedding. The rest of the Queen’s Landing staff was also incredible accommodating. Peter, at the front desk, took care of every trifling whim of all our guests, being kind enough to rearrange rooms, hand out welcoming gift bags, and setting up shuttle service, just to name a few things. And when a family Bible was accidentally misplaced, Peter hunted it down and returned it within ten minutes.

The guests enjoyed the water aerobics classes, billards, and most of all, the Bacchus lounge (the gorgeous hotel bar). With oversized chairs, stained glass, and fire roaring away, it was the perfect retreat for our guests, and the food was amazing. My now husband and I enjoyed a plush king sized bed, fireplace, and jetted tub in our room that over looked the harbor. We were so happy with our wedding weekend and I highly recommend it, whether you are looking for a romantic getaway for two or wedding celebration.

Room Tip: Corner suites have windows on both sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corybant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear valued bride - I wanted to take the time to thank you for your wonderful post here on TripAdvisor after your recent wedding. We are thrilled that you were so impressed with our hotel and the services that you received. Lisa and Peter are two very valued members of our management team and their dedication to providing exceptional service is complimented time and time again. I will be sure to share your praise with them.

Thank you also for commenting on all the amenities that you and your guests had the opportunity to use and enjoy. It is important that our wedding guests feel at home and even entertained during their stay.

We are so honored to have earned the title of your post "Best Service in Niagara."

Congratulations to you and your new husband!

Sincerely,

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed here March 25-26 on the March Escape package.($199 for one night with dinner) After reading some strange reviews about this hotel, I was not sure what to expect. What I found was a wonderful room with great view and comfortable bed. The turndown service was a nice added touch. The dinner at the Tiara dining room was an experience in itself. We were fortunate to have Jill as our server. What a treat! She was outstanding! It was like a comfortable time at home and the preparation of the food and the presentation was first class! I would highly recommend this hotel and the dining room but ONLY if you ask for Jill. She was so friendly and accomodating. We ended our time at the dining room on a first name basis and this made the experience something special. We look forward to a return engagement.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CANADIAN_IN_CUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear valued guest - thank you for sharing your recent experience here at Queen's Landing on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your guestroom with a view of the Niagara River! Jill in our Tiara Restaurant makes it her mission to make guests feel at home. We are thankful for the recommendation from you!

Please do come and visit us again soon - Jill will be waiting to take care of you!

Yours in hospitality,

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We recently held our daughter’s destination wedding at the Queens Landing. We found it to be a fabulous venue for such a special day. Everyone on the hotel staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. Lisa, the event manager, guided us skillfully through the entire process and handled every detail with poise and perfection. She was very sincere and personally committed to making our event absolutely perfect. The ceremony and cocktail reception in the Atrium were beautiful and accompanied by an excellent pianist on the grand piano. A delicious wedding dinner in the elegant and magical Grand Georgian Ballroom was followed by a great dance band. The banquet servers were excellent, serving hot food and attending to beverages without the guests having to wait or want for a single thing. Our wedding guests staying at the hotel had nothing but kind words for their accommodations. Housekeeping was perfect. The wedding suite was luxurious with beautiful views, fireplace, champagne, jetted tub, etc. We ourselves found our room and bed to be very comforting and the bathrooms updated with modern fixtures, counters, lighting, etc. We especially liked the full length mirrors, closet space and other room amenities. Peter, the reassuring front desk manager, was there daily to take care of all our questions and smallest details. The Bacchus lounge and Tiara dining room also had excellent service and delicious food. Guests not only enjoyed the pool and fitness center, but also the nearby 100 Fountain Spa and local wine tours. It was a wonderful experience and I cannot think of one single thing that I would change. I look forward happy memories and someday returning to the Queens Landing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LInda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hello Linda - first of all, congratulations on your daughter's recent wedding here at Queen's Landing. We are so pleased that your family and guests were able to experience one of our fairytale weddings here in Niagara on the Lake. We have been told that our weddings are magic and it seems like you were able to experience that firsthand.

Thank you also for the compliments on our team, including Lisa and Peter as well as the banqueting staff who executed the wedding. Our service professionals truly enjoy being a part of special occasions here at the hotel.

Thank you again Linda!

Sincerely,

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I usually stay at Harbour house in this area but I was given a free stay here by relatives so here I am. There is nothing really wrong with this hotel but it is definitely not worth the price and is very "standard" in every way. Bathrooms are old and boring, the bed is comfortable enough but generally old and starting to sag. I can hear doors closing and people talking in the hallway from my room. Service was good - no complaints, but that should be easy enough. The air conditioning unit is also louder than it should be for this level of accomodation. It was essentially typical of a business hotel but I think the expectations here are for a more romantic and quiet retreat. Did i get a good sleep - yes. Did i have major issues - no. Is there a lot better out there for the same relative price - definately. I've reviewed the resto, Tiara, separately, as it does stand out as very good. I'm sticking to Harbour house as the best getaway out this way.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank thegucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear valued guest - thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here at Queen's Landing following your recent stay. How thoughtful that your relatives treated you to a night away. We are however disappointed that you felt something was lacking with your stay. We take all guest feedback seriously and hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back.

Should you stay with us again, please email me personally at l.kszan@vintage-hotels.com so we can ensure that you receive VIP treatment.

Yours in hospitality,

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed at the Queen' Landing during a weekend in wine country. While the hotel does have good service and a good location it left me unimpressed. For a hotel of this class, that commands these kinds of rates there are some items that were disappointing.

Common areas of the hotel are a little drab - lighting and carpeting need to be replaced. Stippled ceilings showed some cracking and staining. We stayed in a deluxe guestroom with a fireplace. Rooms had new beddings and pictures - recently updated. Mechanical unit under the window was extremely loud and along with the very soft mattress and pillow prevented me from having a restful sleep. Washrooms were covered in a dated ceramic tile, fixtures were old - the washrooms had not been updated in the redesign of the rooms.

Service was good at the front desk - the waiter, Gerry, at breakfast was excellent. At breakfast the hotel offers a buffet or a la carte. Neither option are particularly enticing. Food arrived cold and favourless - bright spots were the beautiful room/view of the harbor and the service.

Hotel seems to be resting on the laurels of its past successes not striving to maintain them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0r0nt0nianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear valued guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Queen's Landing. As part of our continued rimprovements here at the hotel, we are replacing carpet in different areas of the hotel due to the high traffic that we receive throughout the year. Our guestroom bathrooms are also recieving some updates in terms of decor and fixtures as we are always looking for ways to enhance guest stays.

We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future,

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Highly overrated. Seemed like a slightly higher end 'Best Western'...but significantly more expensive. Poor service (we had to wait over an hour to be served dinner), and despite the pretentious menu the meal was mediocre at best. Breakfast at Prince of Whales (a sister hotel) was even worse, ($50 for gross pancakes, rancid butter, and a server who seemed like they wanted to be anywhere else). Despite the spectacular front facade, the hotel had a general feeling of 'nothing special' bordering on blah (definitely not the elegance you expect considering the hype and cost). At the end of a disappointing stay, don't forget there will be hidden fees upon check out (for services you don't use, and for parking...despite there being a huge parking lot surrounded by open space).

Next time we'll opt for a much more quaint, friendly, and reasonably priced B&B in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bailey2010-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear valued guest - I was most disappointed to read your review here on TripAdvisor. Everything that you experienced both here and at our sister property The Prince of Wales is completely not in line with our high levels of service in beautiful surroundings.

Should you want to connect with me directly about your stay, please call me at 1.888.669.5566..

Sincerely,

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Queen's Landing as a 2-night getaway. We booked the "Great March Escape" package which included dinner for the night - an excellent value! We hope they keep this deal around. The hotel was beautiful, however when we checked into our room there was an empty Perrier bottle on the floor that must've been overlooked by the cleaning staff. (Could've been worse). Also the top
of one of our sink taps was missing the cap...not a big deal, just looked a bit unkept. Other than that the room was very clean, the staff was courteous and we loved the turndown at sunset. That was a nice little surprise! We did ask for something to be brought up to the room one night and it was nearly a half hour before we called and asked again. After that they brought it right away. The location is nice because it's tucked away from the main street but it's still in walking distance (depending on the weather). And some rooms offer a great view of the harbor. We look forward to returning to the Queen's Landing. It makes for a very romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Hello Christine - I wanted to take the time to thank you for your post here on TripAdvisor following your recent stay. Our getaway packages certainly do have great value and guests often comment on how much they enjoy booking a room when a dinner for 2 is included in the price.

We are sorry to hear about the housekeeping isssue that you experienced in your room. I have passed your comments along to our Executive Housekeeper so the tap can be repaired.

Thank you for saying that our hotel is fit for a Queen! What a great compliment!

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,770 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Landing

Address: 155 Byron Street | P.O. Box 1180, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £142 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Georgian-style mansion overlooking the scenic Niagara River and Lake Ontario. #1 hotel in Ontario on Conde Nast Gold List 2010 and CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award for dining and accommodations. Conveniently located just a short walk from the town's main street and Shaw Festival. 140 elegant guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Landing Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Queens Landing Niagara Lake
Queens Landing Hotel
Hotel Queens Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing