We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”
Review of Hotel Dallavalle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dallavalle
Willowick, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at the Gatehouse for a weekend in April. Great location. Close to shopping, resteraunts and shows. We parked our car on Friday and did not use it the entire weekend.
Service at hotel was effecient. Requested more towels and delivered quickly. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Front desk service was great. Suggested places to eat and excellent resource on activities, events, and wineries.
I would defenitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cc1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    11
    11
    17
See reviews for
11
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I visited the Gate House in the summer of 2011. I have never dealt with such rude people in my life. I was quoted a price over the phone, booked it and when we arrived they said the was not the price they quoted me. It was only a matter of $30 but that was not the point. I was being yelled at by an arrogant, rude staff member who seemed to be on a power trip. I strongly recommend not staying here. Try the moffatt Inn in the same area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Had a read the previous reviews, I would have steered clear of the Gate House. I booked this for myself and my parents, who were over from the UK for thanksgiving. I chose it randomly after walking around Niagara on the lake. It was a mistake.

The rooms, as others have said, are nothing special. Sparce decoration, narrow and no better than a basic motel. The quality of staff service was variable depending on who you were dealing with. The breakfast was fine. The location good.

Our problem was the noise coming from some sort of machinery in the building. Immediately after check-in I went to the front desk and asked for a room change because of the loud vibrating hum (loud as in very loud and intrusive). I was assured it would go off around 9-10pm...probably the time that the guy on the front desk went off duty and wouldn't need to deal with the problem, as it never did go away and we all had a terrible nights sleep. My wife can normally sleep through anything, but not this.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who likes sleeping in a quiet environment, and regret choosing it as it tarnished what was otherwise a perfect thanksgiving weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hove_Windsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Friends took my husband and I to dinner in the restaurant while we were visiting NOTL.
It was recommended to them and is in a great location - walking distance from the downtown. The experience was very nice. Staff were professional, efficient and pleasant. The osso buco was a hit with the guys. And the fish plate was very tasty. The wine selection was extensive, with both local wines and an international offering. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fayeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I took my mom, my girlfriend and my sister today to this restaurant for my mom's birthday. In my mom's pasta plate she found at the bottom of the food a dead fly. We called the waiter and pointed this issue and sent back the food politely. He came back apoligized and we asked for the bill hoping that this plate will be taken out of the bill. It wasn't taken out and we were fully charged for all meals we ate. I called the manager and manager came to our table directly argue. He said that the fly is a natural thing and it is not coming from his kitchen, it must be coming somewhere else. We not only found a disguasting dead fly in our food but also we were accused to put the fly into our food so we can get some discounts. WE HAVE BEEN SERVED WITH A FFOD WITH A DEAD FLY IN IT, WE HAVE BEEN ACCUSED THAT WE PUT IT IN THERE TO GET A DISCOUNT, WE HAVE BEEN YELLED AT BY THE MANAGER / OWNER/ COOK, MY MOM'S BIRTHDAY AND EVERBODY'S DAY HAVE BEEN DISTROYED. AT THE END WE HAD TO PAY $110 FOR THIS EXPERIENCE.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank enginkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Arrived to the Inn about 2pm
We where greater by staff who where friendly at the beginning. Got to the room and found it dated but nice. Bathroom had hair left in the tub and old shampoo bottles left behind. The bathtub tap was dripping into the tub drain with a loud plop plop sound every second that could be heard with the bathroom door closed. Place a face clothe in the tub to stop the sound then later all we heard was a splash ing sound
Took the time to go to the front desk and asked for a new room. They where sold out. We asked for to be repaired and they stated they would have to shut off the water for the whole hotel to repair it. We complained twice over the weekend and could not get any satisfaction. It must have been leaking for sometime. In the middle of the night when all is quite and that's all you hear you just can't sleep

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Porky113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Very central hotel. No need to hire a car if you are visiting Niagara on the Lake and staying here.
If you are planning on using the hotel for purely sleeping & showering - then this is perfect for you. But if you are planning on spending time in your room or using hotel facilities - best you do not stay here.
The rooms are clean but dated & the restaurant is the same.
My partner & I used the room for sleeping - then used the Shaw hotel for spa treatments & dined at restaurants out which are all lovely and walking distance. We chose also to have after dinner drinks in other hotels then take the short walk back to ours.
Not a bad hotel but Niagara on the Lake is meant to be a romantic place so do not book if you are on a 'special' break away.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njroles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dallavalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dallavalle

Property: Hotel Dallavalle
Address: 142 Queen Street | P.O. Box 1364, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly The Gate House)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dallavalle 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dallavalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate House Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
The Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing