We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Dallavalle

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dallavalle
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed one night at the Gate House as part of a Shaw Festival theatre package we won at a silent auction. The Gate House is a 2-7 minute walk from any of the Shaw Festival theatres, and is a very conveniently located just off the main (Queen) street, with its own parking, perfect for strolling and shopping. There are many restaurants and cafes within a 5 minute walk. The house is historic, but the inside is very nicely updated to stylish contemporary decor. The owner met us at the front desk and made us feel welcome with a glass of nice Italian red wine at their bar. The weather was miserably rainy and windy, so we relaxed and read books before dinner in their comfortable lounge area close to the bar. The room was nicely decorated, the bathroom was spacious and the beds comfortable. It was quiet at night, and we slept well. The included continental breakfast was a nice fresh berry mix, yoghurt, croissant/toast, and coffee/juice, served in their restaurant. They also have a lovely outside terrace, which we did not have an opportunity to enjoy because of the weather. NOL is an expensive little town, but the Gate House was good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    24
    11
    11
    17
See reviews for
11
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Oct 6, 2012
My wife and I paid a two day visit to Niagara on the Lake for the afternoon wine tour we very much enjoyed. After a long day we decided to try this "Italian" restaurant at the lovely Niagara on the Lake town but we ended up with very BAD restaurant choice. Food wad not tasty at all and service was very poor. My stomach was upset after we finished eating and the restaurant food was to blame. Restaurant looked decent and clean but we waited for our food forever even there were only a couple of tables occupied. I will NEVER eat here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels

Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Outstanding hotel, well located at the quiet end of Queen St. Another plus is the restaurant. It is one of the best, if not the best in NOTL and is not over-the-top-expensive. Lunch, especially on the terrace in nice weather, is always excellent, often prepared with local foods. Lunch is very reasonably priced. Excellent wine selection. We always enjoy the Gate House when we visit NOTL.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I really wish I had read the comments on Trip Advisor before i booked a room at this hotel. After our stay on July 21st, I immediately wrote an email directly to the manager of the Hotel Mr. Rob Egan who obviously doesn't care at all about customer satisfaction because now I see that in october 2011, the problem with room #2 (pounding vibrating sounds coming throught the bathroom) was already existing. We also were told that the noise would stop around 9pm which of course it didn't, and changing room was not an option as they were fully booked.

After a week and no response I sent the email again to Mr. Egan and a week later to the web site... still no answer from anyone as of yet.... I'm not even going to bother calling now.... They're only in the business of overcharging for rooms because of the location and customers can sleep or NOT sleep.... I'm sorry, but a friendly staff does not help you sleep at night and when you rent a room, your main goal is usually to sleep well. I have never paid so much money for a room that I couldn't sleep in.

Very frustrated,

Lise

Room Tip: Do not accept room #2 as an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I can't believe the indignity we suffered at the hands of this hotel!!! On our drive there they cancelled our reservation.. The manager said they were overbooked, 3 hours prior to check in they booked us at a different hotel 20 kilometres away. The hotel was very dirty and I felt very unsafe and scared the whole time I was there. To make it up to us they offered us a complimentary meal at their restaurant. To add insult to injury the waitress and waitor ignored us the whole time we were there. I asked for seconds on water and never even received it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The location is fantastic but if you're looking for a charming B&B, this is not it. the room was like any mid-level $60/night hotel. The carpet was absolutely filthy. the manager cleaned a spot and gave me a bottle of wine which was very nice but there were so many other stains all over the room. Walls were all marked up. Carpet in hallways need to be replaced. The wait-staff for breakfast was god-awful. They had no idea what they were doing. It was sad.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel and great location. We found the staff to be very friendly. As with another reviewer we noted the vary loud noise (avoid room 2) but were quickly moved to a different room (8) which was great.

The breakfast was great and beautifully presented. However, it came very slowly.

We had a favorable prepaid room rate making the stay quite reasonable.

Room Tip: avoid 2, 8 was fine but needs a reading lamp if you plant to sit in the comfortable sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,480 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
928 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,980 reviews
0.0 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Dallavalle

Property: Hotel Dallavalle
Address: 142 Queen Street | P.O. Box 1364, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly The Gate House)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dallavalle 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dallavalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate House Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
The Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing