We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not come back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dallavalle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dallavalle
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would not come back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Arrived to the Inn about 2pm
We where greater by staff who where friendly at the beginning. Got to the room and found it dated but nice. Bathroom had hair left in the tub and old shampoo bottles left behind. The bathtub tap was dripping into the tub drain with a loud plop plop sound every second that could be heard with the bathroom door closed. Place a face clothe in the tub to stop the sound then later all we heard was a splash ing sound
Took the time to go to the front desk and asked for a new room. They where sold out. We asked for to be repaired and they stated they would have to shut off the water for the whole hotel to repair it. We complained twice over the weekend and could not get any satisfaction. It must have been leaking for sometime. In the middle of the night when all is quite and that's all you hear you just can't sleep

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Porky113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    24
    11
    11
    17
See reviews for
11
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Very central hotel. No need to hire a car if you are visiting Niagara on the Lake and staying here.
If you are planning on using the hotel for purely sleeping & showering - then this is perfect for you. But if you are planning on spending time in your room or using hotel facilities - best you do not stay here.
The rooms are clean but dated & the restaurant is the same.
My partner & I used the room for sleeping - then used the Shaw hotel for spa treatments & dined at restaurants out which are all lovely and walking distance. We chose also to have after dinner drinks in other hotels then take the short walk back to ours.
Not a bad hotel but Niagara on the Lake is meant to be a romantic place so do not book if you are on a 'special' break away.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njroles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
310 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

I think some of the commentators on the Gate House must have visited prior to rennovations. We were impressed by the rooms - spacious and well equipped though trying a little too hard to be boutiquey. Clean, large bathrooms. Staff could have been a bit friendlier but I think our receptionist had just started. Excellent location right in the middle of the shops and restaurants of NOTL and at the beginning of the equisite Parkway. So much nicer staying here that then tackiness of Niagara itself. The Ristorante Giordana served first rate Italian food and the breakfast, though modest was all you really needed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

I'll just cut to the point.

Positives - location, location, location
The Gate House definitely succeeds in being in the heart of it all on NOTL but that's about it.

Negatives:
1) Poor greeting - when we checked it we felt as though we were bothering them.

2) First Impression - the look of the building from the outside seems very nice and once we were in the foyer checking in, at first you think that it's very modern, but then you get the feeling that no effort was put into it and everything just seems to look cheap. I saw stained glass that was a nice touch near the bar area and then in passing I noticed that there was a broken pane that hadn't been fixed. I guess an omen of what was to come.

3) Stairs to the room - there are ONLY stairs and they do NOT offer to carry your luggage so you're paying $300 per night to carry your own luggage up a stuffy worn out and dated staircase.

4) There are only 10 rooms in this building so you expect it to be somewhat quaint but again, there are tacky pictures on each door which encompasses your room number and the hallway carpeting is awful, that combined with the cheap pictures just makes it look...well...cheap

5) We enter our room...there is red carpet throughout the room and the room is very sparse which we expected however we did not expect such a dated look. They have the whole 'Italian' theme completely wrong and they obviously had someone who did not know how to decorate create this 'environment'. I have several Italian friends and they do not shop at Ikea nor do they have heavy, stuffy carpeting throughout their homes - it's marble and hardwood (okay and a touch of plastic over the chairs which still would have been an improvement here).

6) Bathroom - did I mention marble? Yes, you'll find it in many Italian homes but NOT here. Cheap fixtures in desperate need of replacement and kind of scary over all.

7) We also noticed a sign saying to turn the temperature to 24 degrees 'because electrical costs have gone up' - is our use not covered in the $300 per night we are paying?? Again, giving a huge impression of 'cheap, cheap, cheap' and the feeling that they couldn't even have bothered.

8) Maid service left an envelope with hearts on it, her name and a 'thank you' on the desk in the room. I'm sorry but that's just a little forward and should not happen in a place charging $300 per night. I'm all for the tent card noting who cleans your room (and then you can choose to leave a tip under it - which we always do unless there is just cause not to) but to actually put an envelope in expectation of a tip? That's just tacky.

9) Don't lose the key (yes your KEY - no room CARDS here) you'll be chared $150

10) Parking - upon checking in with them, I asked if they wanted our license plate number and they said 'no' and I replied so we can just leave our car in the back? And they said 'yes'. SO they don't have reserved parking for guests. If you come back in the evening and the restaurant is full and so is the parking lot - you end up without a spot? NICE. It also gave the impression yet again that you were not cared about, I didn't feel secure leaving our Mercedes there.

11) When we came back to the hotel after our evening out we decided we couldn't stay there and checked out. The person at reception laughed, didn't ask why we were checking out and we were very happy to leave even though it cost us $300 to know that we will NEVER go back there again, not even to eat in their 4 diamond restaurant.

It was a very unpleasant experience.

TIP for the Gate House Management:

Either make it a nicer place or rename your establishment 'Motel 8'. This would at least give an honest impression, guests will know what they're getting into and won't be disappointed. For a Motel 8 - this wouldn't be bad but for a hotel in your price range - horrible.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ImogenDharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels

sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

Our room was modern and clean with very comfortable bed and fresh linen. Breakfast included and was delicous. Located in the heart of the beautiful village of Niagara on the Lake.

  • Liked — Its location and charm
  • Disliked — Needed to climb stairs to room but front desk staff happy to carry your bags.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

The location and grounds are great. Nice gardens. Nice restaurant - European style. Rooms were horrible. Fixtures were dated and peeling. The furniture was ultra cheap and the paint chipped etc. At night - some mechanical facility droned and vibrated - very hard to miss it. I called the front desk who said they would have someone investigate - never heard from them again. In the morning - they did not ask about our stay - service for breakfast was almost non-existent. Food was nice fresh fruit - small comfort after no sleep. This was way overpriced and I would never stay here again unless a major reno was complete.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norcanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2007

Having been to Niagara-on-the-lake in the past and discovered lovely, historic, and quaint inns, we had expected a similar experience at the Gate House noting the hotels description as "sophisticated simplicity" and the similar price. From the outside, the hotel looks fine with nice gardens and good location. However, we were appalled when we entered our room to find a stark white, bland, tired and lifeless space with outdated fixtures. The room certainly not been refurbished since the 1980's and was done on the cheap then. I cannot imagine a space more in contrast to the beauty and romantic style of NOTL.

Service was friendly but ineffectual as our request for towels and soap (there was none in the room) yielded just the minimum number of bath towels, no washcloths, hand towels, or soap and no apology.

The owners have certainly not been investing the profits back in the business and I expect most guests feel that they have been duped once they arrive (but by then they have paid their deposit and there are rarely any last minute vacancies in this small town).

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roseintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.0 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dallavalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dallavalle

Property: Hotel Dallavalle
Address: 142 Queen Street | P.O. Box 1364, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly The Gate House)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dallavalle 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dallavalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate House Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
The Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing