We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Christmas Party!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
ST CATHARINES
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful Christmas Party!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I recently attended a Christmas Party at White Oaks Resort, and it was a great time! The event space was decorated beautifully with Christmas trees galore.
It was a large party 500+ people, but the food and space was plenty. Our meal was buffet style with carving stations, and all of the options were great. One of the best parts was the fresh fruit and chocolate fondue fountain! After a great meal we dance the night away! The DJ was great and kept the dance floor moving.
I'm already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camp304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,822
    1,222
    391
    85
    54
See reviews for
858
1,889
122
815
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed for two nights for a work conference. Arrived with only 20 minutes to register for my conference and just wanted to get to my first presentation. Greeted at the door by a hotel employee who asked if I was with (my professional association) and when I asked where the conference rooms were, he told me I "had to check in to the hotel first" - immediately. I asked "I HAVE to?" and he repeated that I "HAD to". This conversation went around in circles for at least a minute - I could not believe that a hotel employee was ORDERING a guest to check in at their convenience - there was a line up of "guests" waiting to check in with only three employees at the desk. When someone behind me questioned why people were not being taken in order, this same "gentleman" insisted that we were yet three women sauntered in, loitered a moment and then taken up to check in - as time ticked away such that we were late for our conference.
White Oaks provided inadequate amounts of food for the number of people - and horrid: minestrone soup that tasted like chili, dried up egg salad pinwheels with dill pickles, main courses that violated food allergy and religious rules. To be fair, there were signs indicating that one could request an alternative - but such a request could not be accommodated immediately - you'd be eating after everyone else. The food is very average - certainly not better quality than a typical family restaurant. I wasn't impressed. You can dress up the food with firecrackers but it still won't be delicious.
As for the room, it was dated, dirty and dark: insufficient lighting, no electrical outlet to allow laptop use, stains on dark coloured chairs (how dirty do they have to be to look dirty?!), dated (and hair in the) tub, dirt at the baseboards, sticky and incomplete guest binder, stained or very dirty carpeting, flat bed pillows (just 3 for a queen bed), rough robes, weird tables hobbled together at a recycling yard (?), and so on. I felt that I had to (and I did) wash my hands every time I touched anything. The heating is outdated - you could choose high/low, warm/cold, fan/off. If you didn't turn the heat on, you'd freeze in a couple of hours; if you did turn it on, the room would get so hot and dry you could hardly breathe!
Overall, the hotel is not horrible - not great and only just okay - but not horrible. I didn't get decent sleep on the uncomfortable bed (though it was quiet) and I never felt clean but it's not the worst place I've ever stayed. The customer service (greeting) WAS horrible due to staff who didn't know basic etiquette or how to make guests feel welcome. The only bright light in service was the real effort made by the young gentleman who checked me in; it was a little annoying hearing my name over and over just to prove he remembered it for two minutes - but that's probably policy and he was very polite and efficient. I've rated as I have because though I shouldn't complain when someone else is footing the bill, I wouldn't want anyone to think that I'd pay to stay there. I wouldn't.

Room Tip: There are nice hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinainToronto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec-DirectorWO, Manager at White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We are very sorry to read that you had such a negative experience during your stay at White Oaks. Your experience certainly does not sound up to the standards we like to uphold and are known for. After following up and a review of all that was outlined I would like to take this opportunity to provide our own feedback on the matter.
We first like to apologize for the misunderstanding at check in. Due to the size of your group in order to streamline the check in process our doormen were asked to direct attendees to check in with the Front Desk prior to the conference. It was not mandatory and under no circumstances would one of our team members order someone to do this, so we do apologize if it came across in that tone. White Oaks was prepared for the arrival of this group and fully staffed at the Front Desk with 5 agents making the check in as quickly and efficiently as possible.
We have had many conversations with the head organizers of this event and they have provided us with glowing feedback of our service, team, guestrooms and conference amenities as well as rave reviews of the food provided. There was an abundance of food to accommodate a group of this size and we had been made aware in advance and accommodated over 100 dietary restrictions. We received positive feedback from these guests and accommodated additional last minute requests as quickly as possible.
It is unfortunate to hear of your comments of the guestroom. Just to let you know they were updated within the last 2 years and as a conference hotel knowing our guests are often working in the rooms we certainly have desks equipped with outlets and lighting to properly provide an efficient work station. White Oaks is dedicated to environmental issues and have implemented highly efficient lighting in our rooms which do take time to warm up and become brighter. Perhaps this delay provided insufficient light and we do apologize for that. Had we been made aware we would have certainly brought additional lamps to the room if needed. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms also come as a great shock to us. Our housekeeping team takes great pride in the work they do and we have never been told that our rooms lack the cleanliness you have described. It is unfortunate that we were not informed of your discomfort so that our housekeeping supervisor could come to the room to investigate and rectify any issues immediately.
The comments regarding our team are also very disappointing and unlike any other feedback we have received. As mentioned above there clearly was a miscommunication on directing guests for check in but to say a member of our team was horrible or lacked etiquette seems quite unfair. It is unfortunate that any interaction with them could be described so negatively. At White Oaks our main focus is always customer service and providing our guests with the highest level of service from the moment they walk in to the moment they drive away. We want to engage our guests in conversation so we can accurately meet their needs during their entire stay. Even during our briefest of encounter s we ask our team to respectively communicate with our guests and make an effort to use their names to ensure they are not mechanically going through a process. We want them to take the time to know who they are speaking with and we will never expect anything less from them. Though it was perceived as a negative and annoying occurrence in this instance most of our guests appreciate the effort our team members put forth to get to know their name as they say it makes them feel important and acknowledged.
Though most of this feedback has come as quite a surprise to us and contradicts the positive feedback we have received from other members of conference we do thank you for providing it. We are always looking to improve on our service and product and always take our guest’s comments seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

my husband and I went to The Spa at White Oaks and had a great experience.
the staff was wonderful and friendly, the Spa was relaxing and comfortable. my massage was done by Mike and i will continue to go back and ask for him. very friendly, and my massage was very relaxing. just what i needed for my aching back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had the pleasure of hosting our annual franchise reunion at White Oaks this year and everyone who attended is still buzzing about the event. The service we received from start to finish was exceptional. All staff members were ready and eager to help in every way possible. The accommodations, event space and food quality were all outstanding. A special thank you to our conference planner who went above and beyond our expectations and in the spirit of our conference "Owned It!"

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mycakeandeatingittoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
434 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

White Oaks is one of this "go-to" places that we return to when we are visiting the Shaw Festival at Niagara-on-the -Lake. Whether you stay in the tower or the main building makes no difference as the beds are great, rooms are well appointed, clean, spacious and welcoming. The bathroom is large with lots of spots for your toiletries: they've thought of everything. The restaurant Liv is also exceptional with incredibly fresh and delicious food. i keep promising myself that i will book a chocolate or grape body wrap, but never think about it until we're actually there. The swimming pool also looks very inviting.The location is right off the highway and one would never think that such a wonderful spot is so accessible. Their breakfast especially will start you on your way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefield, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was recently at the White Oaks for a conference.... the staff is incredible and accommodating! anything you need.... no problem! Helpful, happy staff eager to make your experience perfect. The hotel bathrooms (in the public areas) are impeccably clean, the hallways are spotless... the food should have a review of its own!! WOW!! have enjoyed the food, so fantastic! flavor, variety and presentation are second to none! Our suite was great too... beds turned down at night, chocolates on the pillow... everything tidy and clean, just perfect! This location is amazing, and attention to detail is never missed. I am looking forward to returning next year especially because they seem have great staff retention, and the staff remember us when we come back and are glad to see you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great hotel, very professional and welcoming staff. You must try the Liv Restaurant, the food was wonderful and the service impeccable. Clean, well appointed rooms. Gorgeous view from our garden suite.
A special two day stay.

Room Tip: If you can get a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,281 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
8.5 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,638 reviews
8.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,182 reviews
8.4 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa

Property: White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
Address: 253 Taylor Rd, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to White Oaks Conference Resort and Spa, a destination unto itself that puts you at the centre of Niagara area attractions in the finest accommodations in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Niagara Wine Country, Casino Niagara, Niagara Falls and more are all within easy reach. But you won't have to leave our 13-acre resort to enjoy a first-class experience. Modern and stylish, White Oaks delivers luxury hotel service and truly outstanding amenities. From a deluxe Spa and our acclaimed 4-Diamond LIV restaurant (featuring award-winning Niagara Wines) to state-of-the-art fitness centre, The Club at White Oaks, we're dedicated to every aspect of your comfort and success. Turn your next event into an unforgettable experience. Greet, meet and motivate your colleagues, clients and guests in the luxurious, unique surroundings of Ontario's finest meeting venue. Choose White Oaks Conference Resort and Spa and discover why we are the only resort in Canada accredited by the International Association of Conference Centres (IACC). Be inspired by the extraordinary. Come to White Oaks and enjoy the best of Niagara on the Lake hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oaks Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
White Oaks Conference Resort And Spa
White Oaks Conference Hotel
White Oaks Resort
White Oaks Spa
Niagara On The Lake White Oaks
White Oak Resort Anbd Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing