We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for 80th birthday celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We (myself and 3 siblings with our spouses) took my mother to Oban Inn to celebrate her 80th birthday. Celia and staff did everything possible to make it a special 24 hours. They help me arrange transportation to and from our wine tasting, they suggested a quiet spot in the inn that the 10 of us could use for toasts and other craziness to mark this occasion. They set up our table in an alcove so we could enjoy ourselves, without bothering their other guests. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Dad11,

It was wonderful to have been a part of your mom’s 80th birthday celebration with us at The Oban Inn in October 2011. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon for many more celebrations.

All the best!

Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had the pleasure of visiting the Oban Inn again at the end of summer and were not disappointed in any way. This is the kind of place where they welcome you back like you are coming home! Don't listen to the other reviews about breakfast...people complain about the continental breakfast that is included in their stay, but if they prefer they could go down the street to other hotels that cost way more and include nothing. The breakfast we had was more than enough for any eater, pastries, fruit, cereal, toast, juice, yogurt.... continental is not meant to be more than that people!! Like I said - if you want a hot breakfast, go to the other hotels and pay $350 for your room, and add on another $50 for your hot breakfast. No thanks!

This time we were not able to use the spa or dining room, however the room was clean, as always, and the staff - completely wonderful. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meebjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Meebjt,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again this year at The Oban Inn!

We sincerely appreciate your enjoyment and positive comments regarding our continental breakfast offering. Maintaining our high standards of quality in product and service is important to us. We continue to make improvements and welcome any additional feedback.

Be assured that our team is truly committed to ensuring each guests a memorable, enjoyable and affordable stay!

Can’t wait to welcome you back again in 2012!
Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Beautiful room, very nice facilities, great location, friendly, helpful staff all helped to more than meet our expectations. We had a suite (the Oban Suite) in the adjacent building which was quite spacious, especially the very modern and stylish bathroom with the beautiful tub for two placed in the middle like a porcelain sculpture. While the living area decor was traditional, it didn't go over the edge into "granny's lace doilie" territory.

The garden area is very nice and secluded, with a large hot tub and a small pool. Although the pool didn't seem to be heated (it was probably low 70's) I was really pleased that it was still open and enjoyed numersous refreshing swims in it, alternating with the hot tub. The tub is quite large and deep and could fit 8 or so comfortably, but wasn't really very hot, more like bath water temperature. In spite of this, we really enjoyed it and enhanced the experience with a bottle of prosecco in an wine bucket that the staff brought to our room with ice.

We had dinner in the restaurant - good food, reasonably attentive service. The continental breakfast is adequate, perhaps not as elaborate as one might expect given the room prices. A Holiday Inn could do better!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Small hotel in a great location very close to the lake Ontario and the main street. Generally comfortable. Good menu for dinner in a cosy dining room but let down by both main courses being cold on arrival at the table. Breakfast was good quality but selection could be extended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Ernest M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Oban Inn during your visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

We are sorry to hear your dinner with us did not meet your expectations and hope that our team was able to correct this oversight during your stay with us.

Please be assured our team values your feedback and will ensure we continue to improve to maintain our high standards.

Our complimentary continental breakfast offering has been upgraded since beginning of October 2011 and we continue to seek additional feedback from our guests.

Thank you again and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Lovely hotel, fantastic room! The location was great and the spa was fantastic. I cannot comment on the food because we did not eat there. It had a pool which was a nice touch. A bit disappointed with the continental breakfast it was very very bare bones.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goingplaces11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear GoingPlaces11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us in August 2011. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your guestroom, spa and on-site facilities.

Since your stay with us, we are pleased to made improvements to our complimentary continental breakfast offering to includes items such as plain/vanilla yoghurt, additional variety of pastries, selection of cold cuts and cheeses and more variety of whole fruit. Thank you for your valuable contribution.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the new year!
Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed at the Oban Inn as part of a group, and were very pleased with the friendly, helpful staff. (Robert deserves special mention here). We had a corner King Room with a fireplace, which was lovely and quiet. I am not going to tell you which one, as I want it to be available when we return! The other queen rooms were very comfortable but a bit on the small side. The only meal we ate at the hotel was the breakfast, as being part of group activities we were on the go all day. My only comment about the buffet would be the same as previous reviewers have noted... it lacks variety. Although it is much more breakfast than we would normally eat at home, we would have appreciated more fresh fruit, less pastries and breads, and perhaps some cold meats and cheeses as a protein alternative.
We enjoyed the pool area, lovely gardens and tranquil setting. The location is excellent for Niagara On The Lake.. a mere stroll to the lakefront and the main street.
Special thanks for the use of the "Board Room" for late night drinks and for making our group experience so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The king size room at the Oban Inn was quite nicely appointed and exceeded our expectations.
The service and front desk were all very nice and helpful. The location was perfect. Walking distance to all the shops and restaurants downtown. Two negatives were the low quality continental breakfast they offered, I have had better at a Holiday Inn Express, and the condition of the sitting area at the front of their entrance, it was covered in spider webs and in need of care. Other than that a wonderful Inn. Also had a nice backyard and pool/spa area that we did not use.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
945 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Address: 160 Front Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#10 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#10 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £101 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled serenely in the heart of wine country and historic Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, minutes to theatres and attractions, The Oban Inn overlooks Lake Ontario and the Canada’s oldest golf course. With 26 tranquil, luxurious guest rooms and elegant dining surrounded by delightful ponds and lush English gardens and the creation of the beautiful new OSpa, The Oban Inn has become a celebrated wellness retreat. State-of-the-art exercise room, outdoor hot spring and infinity lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Inn, Spa And Restaurant Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Oban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing