We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Oban Inn for our 10 year anniversary and it was very nice. We were greeted by Gordon who said "happy anniversary". We had no problems at check in. We had forgot to print and reserve tickets for an outing we were going to and the staff was very helpful with getting those done for us. The breakfast was very nice and included in the stay. The beds were comfortable and they leave a little note with the weather for the next day at turn down service. We had a nice view of the lake from our room. The only negative was that the door to the patio had a cracked window and could have been replaced. Other than that we had a very nice stay.
We stayed at two other hotels during our trip and this one had the best staff by far!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 283Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Excellent Location. Beautiful gardens. Comfortable bed. Very small bathroom. Only clock in the room is on the Bose machine which is bolted to the credenza. The Bose was not facing the bed so unable to see the time from the bed because we couldn't angle the Bose. Looked everywhere for the coffee machine and found the Keurig under the bathroom sink on an open shelf just a few inches from the floor!! In the bathroom-no thanks that's disgusting. The room had a little patio of its own facing the interior gardens which was nice. Breakfast was a generous continental style. Overall good but overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morag988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a very handsome inn with outstanding gardens. Our checkin was smooth and easy, our room was very handsome and well appointed. In fact, it had a small patio, which was very nice. The rooms are very cozy, some might say a bit small, but I am a very large man, and found our room perfectly satisfactory in terms of size.

The breakfast that came with the room was wonderful, and a great deal of fun. Instead of the usual buffet, the wait staff brought a three-tiered tray to the table ladened with goodies of all sorts [e.g., sweet rolls' salmon, bagels, cream cheese etc.; fruit; hard-boiled eggs; yogurt and a few things I have forgotten. Each little tray in this trio of trays was replenished when necessary.

The entire lodge is quite beautiful, especially if you like dark wood paneling and woodwork. I would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back [west side] with a balcony. If you arrive early because you are going to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for 24 hours. Excellent location on a quiet tree-lined street, less than 5 minutes to the shops, restaurants and a stones throw from the lake. Room was immaculate and bed super comfortable. We had a wonderful sleep. We sadly didn't use the spa due to time restraints. Pool was closed which was disappointing. Exercise room was clean and well equipped.
Our only gripe is that the staff could've been friendlier and more welcoming. We ate lunch here (food was decent) but the service lacked the friendliness that we've become accustomed to in many places (e.g. no explanation of the menu which had lots of 'daily' foods on, no apology for keeping us waiting 5 minutes for a table when the place was almost empty - etc). The continental breakfast was OK, seemed a little bit limited but my husband was happy with it.
At check out the staff didn't seem to care if we'd had a good stay or not. They seemed glad for us to pay the bill and disappear. Overall, I felt that for the price of the room our stay would have been a little more special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlabamaWurley580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I read reviews before making a reservation and was somewhat concerned regarding breakfast and potential noise issues. We have no complaints on either front. Breakfast was plentiful and so were the choices. No lack of nourishment or protein to start the day, with eggs, turkey and smoked salmon. Several cheese offerings also. Staff also offered us yogurts, toasts, granola, juices etc...in addition to what was already brought to table. I can understand that after a few days the same offerings can get tiresome, but really there's nothing more needed for a good start to the day. As for the noise, room 303 was quiet, as there was no unit above us even though it was a ground floor unit with a separate entrance. We had a patio and pond outside our door, a welcomed feature.

We both had massages and had wonderful experiences. The steam room was small but perfect amount of steam and temperature. I believe anyone at hotel could use it even without a spa treatment.

Staff were friendly and attentive. Dinner at restaurant was first-rate. I went with the evening specials for apps and entree and was not disappointed.

All around great Inn with a terrific location. The lake is at your doorstep and town is a 5 min walk, 2 blocks up the street. If you want a quick round of golf, 9-hole course is about 10 steps away, just can't get any more convenient then that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bingler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the Oban Inn for 3 nights. Our room was spacious and very clean, the beds were quite comfortable; with the bathrooms nicely appointed. During our stay, all of the staff were friendly and very helpful. On our first night, due to some delays, we checked into the hotel 15 minutes after the restaurant had closed for the evening service. After a long day of traveling and being very hungry, the lady at the front desk called the chef. After explaining, the chef said, that he and a server would stay and prepare any meal we would like. They went on to say, "please do not rush in eating your meal" as well. A class act. Overall, the food and service in the hotel restaurant was excellent.
The Hotel is within a few hundreds yards of the lake and across the street from the golf course. It is perhaps a kilometer or so from the historic town center (lots of interesting restaurants, shops, etc). We have recommended this hotel to three other sets of friends (all are seasoned world travelers) that have since visited this establishment. Some have attended the Shaw festival, and Canada's largest wine region, and other festivals in the area. All of them had a great stay and enjoyed the facility.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We always request a quiet room in any hotel we stay. When departing. be sure and ask the concierge...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obiwan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is charming. Room was beautiful, furnished with good taste (looked like the photos on the website). The breakfast is the only thing that needs improvement, the bakery was very limited and tasted bad (1 tiny croissant for me and my husband), and the fact that it is strictly continental is disappointing, it would be much better to have some hot plates (even at extra charge) or even options within the continental breakfast itself that make it more enjoyable that that.
The food in the small cafes and restaurants around the hotel is very good, so if they won't work on the breakfast, then better make it optional instead of included in the room rate.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Address: 160 Front Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#10 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#10 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £101 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled serenely in the heart of wine country and historic Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, minutes to theatres and attractions, The Oban Inn overlooks Lake Ontario and the Canada’s oldest golf course. With 26 tranquil, luxurious guest rooms and elegant dining surrounded by delightful ponds and lush English gardens and the creation of the beautiful new OSpa, The Oban Inn has become a celebrated wellness retreat. State-of-the-art exercise room, outdoor hot spring and infinity lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Inn, Spa And Restaurant Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Oban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing