We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, Canada
1 review
“We loved it and we'll be back!”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I recently booked a Vintage hotel in Niagara on the Lake to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. Upon arrival we realized that some of the services we would require were not available at that particular hotel. The hotel provided a chaffeur driven vehicle to take us to the restaurant of our choice at another one of their hotels. When they realized that this hotel was more suitable for our needs, not only were they delighted to immediately change our reservation to that hotel but they also upgraded our room to a suite with fireplace and whirlpool tub. The quality of service was exceptional. When we entered our suite their was a birthday greeting awaiting my daughter and to her delight, a delicious chocolate treat. They provided us with an extended departure time as well as access to all of the hotels facilities both before and after we went to the Shaw Festival. Their chaffeur drove us to the theatre and picked us up once the play was finished to return us to the hotel. Well done! The staff at the 'Pillar and Post' made our stay one to remember. We loved it and we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesterdaysgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPILLAR, General Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It is great to hear that your daughter enjoyed her 21st birthday! Your woderful comments will certainly be shared with the rest of the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    457
    192
    79
    39
See reviews for
327
1,188
24
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We literally just got back today after a 2 night stay (6/26-6/28/11) for our 10th wedding anniversary. We really enjoyed our stay. My husband booked the package that included a traditional room with a bottle of wine upon arrival and a pass for a complimentary 2 glasses of wine and a cheese platter at the Reif Winery. I'm not sure why he chose this because we are not big cheese eaters but it was enjoyable none the less.

Upon arrival, we were pleasantly greeted and check-in was fast. The lobby was very attractive. We got to our room which was pretty, clean and standard. To be honest, the first thing I did was pull up the sheets to check for signs of bed bugs as I am very paranoid lately with the increase in bed bugs around the world. There were no signs!!! I was glad to see a refrigerator because we brought some perishables on our trip up. The bathroom was clean but not the best workmanship as the caulk was not neatly applied (but no mold), plaster on walls was not smooth and just painted over, and the window sill on the window in the bathroom was dirty. I know it is an older building so I wasn't looking for perfection and it didn't really bother me--just an observation. One thing I was happy to see were windows you could open to get fresh air!!! We are not big fans of AC and the room in general had a stuffy feeling so it was nice to be able to air it out.

Oh, again, I'm not that picky but there was a cupcake and empty cupcake wrapper still left in the fridge from the guest before us. It's probably easy to miss since it is in the cabinet under the TV...No big deal, I just threw it away. A little detail that was very bothersome was the light on the alarm/clock radio was so bright during the night!! I finally had to cover it up with a towel since it was on my side but it still shone through!!! I could have unplugged it I guess. The bed, while having a thick mattress topper, was very uncomfortable :( Did not have a good night's sleep because it felt like big cotton balls were stuffed in there randomly. I simply said to my husband the next morning that the bed was not very comfortable and he thought the same thing adding the cotton ball, lumpy effect. Again, we're really not that hard to please. The room was very quiet though!

The location to the main strip was wonderful (10-12 minute walk). We like to walk so it was a good distance but others may think it is too far away. We chose not to use hotel transportation to the wineries (not sure if there is any) we just rode our bikes along the bike trail, and off the trail for some (but back roads were not busy at all). All the wineries were excellent and had pleasant and knowledgeable staff.

We relaxed at the outdoor pool which was very warm (which I like!). The indoor pool was beautiful and the hot tub was clean. It was never busy at all during our Sunday-Tuesday stay. The 'hot springs' was a little disappointing. It was basically a big outdoor hot tub with the illusion of the water being fed in from the ground but in fact it was from a pipe. Whatever, it was fine but it did seem a little dirty. We just left.

When we got back to our room each night, it was nicely turned down with a rose on the pillow and soft music playing. Anything that was used was replaced, like the coffee k-pak, water bottle, etc. We chose not to eat at the Cannery restaurant at the hotel.

I didn't know what my husband paid since it was a surprise for our anniversary and only saw the price at checkout when they gave the final statement. A base of $284 CAD plus close to $50 in taxes/per night made me gasp. We are from the USA so it will be more due to exchange rate, but geez, I thought that was a lot of money for a traditional room and the 2 glasses of wine and cheese platter at the Reif Winery!!! Well, we did at least get 2 bottles of wine during our stay which was nice. But, I have stayed in equally nice places that were suites and brand new for $169. Also, you have to pay for internet which is a big bummer!!!!!

Will I go there again? I would love to but would have to do further research on price.

Anyway, thank you for an overall positive experience!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRZ623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesInn, Guest Relations Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing to stay at the Pillar and Post to celebrate this special occasion! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and that you were able to enjoy the ‘Temptations in Wine Country’ package and spend time relaxing by our newly updated pool. We thank you for taking the time to write this candid review. Your comments regarding our rooms, various amenities and pricing are very important to us and will be taken seriously as we continually strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. We do look forward to welcoming you back for a restful weekend in the future!

Sincerely,

Erin Enns and the Team at the Pillar and Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This place is amazing! The rooms are very cottage like and very clean and they have a turn down service as well. It's a beautiful place with a lot of character and the town of Niagara on the lake is so quaint. The spa is nice but overpriced for what I had done.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesInn, Guest Relations Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pillar and Post and for taking the time to share such a wonderful summary of your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to take advantage of our award winning spa. Your feedback regarding the pricing is appreciated as your opinion is a valuable resource for us.
Thank you again and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Pillar and Post in the near future.
Sincerely,
Erin Enns and the Team at the Pillar and Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

It was on Anniversary and midweek. Pillar & Post is a historical place but with the most modern amenities. We loved our stay; we loved the service and attention to detail. And to top it all off, close to Niagara's wineries. We had a great package which included a beautifully appointed king size bed room, 3 course dinner at The Cannery and access to wine tasting at two of the local wineries. We swam inthe salt water pool, relaxed inthe hot tube and walked the historical streets surrounding the Pillar & Post. Although not on the "main drag" of Niagara onthe lake, within walking distance (5-10 min) and so very peaceful! Brilliant! If you want to, you could wander over to the Casino in Niagara Falls, if you want too; not sure if they had shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesInn, Guest Relations Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Pillar and Post on your special occasion and for taking the time to write such a positive review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us. Our team takes great pride in ensuring that each of our guests receive personalized service and in turn has a memorable stay. We do have a shuttle service that is available for local attractions and we would be happy to arrange transportation for anyone heading to see the sights in Niagara Falls.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pillar and Post!

Sincerely,

Erin Enns and the Team at the Pillar and Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This customer feedback will have the tale of two stories.

We attended the Pillar and Post to celebrate my girlfriends 30th birthday. A milestone that would not be forgotten regardless of the celebration but this one is guaranteed to stick with us.

We stayed at the Pillar and Post and had a wonderful evening. The room was great, the staff were exceptional and the 100 Fountain Spa was exactly what we needed. A little bit of peace and relaxation. Definitely on the list of recommendations.

And now on to story number two, the ugly child if you will.

We celebrated the birthday by going to the restaurant Escobeche at Pince of Wales, and this is where the serious let downs began.

The food was quite good and cooked to our liking but it was not good enough to overlook the awful customer service that unfortunately will linger in our minds.

We were seated at a table that was dripping water from the ceiling. After being splashed a couple of times, we were able to gain the attention of the sommelier. The sommelier then saw it fit to turn our table putting us in the middle of an aisle offering no apology or a pleasant message of any. We were putting him out by not wanting to sit indoors in nice clothing under a plaster filled water fall. He left leaving us with a table wet from ceiling water and the water he spilled from our glasses when he turned the table.

We eventually were able to gain the attention of the person whom I assume was in charge thinking , ok, this will be solved, not a huge problem, I was wrong. It was like we asked for the moon. After putting up a convincing argument of why we needed to be moved, (the restaurant was quite empty), we were shuffled over to a table that was on the seam of two separate rooms.

The table was like a see-saw rocking back and forth. The waitress who was quite lovely, noticed this and did her best to push it back and forth trying to find a flat spot. After giving up and once again leaving our dinner table soaking wet with spilt water from overfilled glass, we decided to ride out the storm and eat on our fingertips. Eating the steak was an absolute disaster.

The final straw that has caused this to be a memorable for the wrong reasons birthday meal, was the ruined atmosphere.

An overly obnoxious and intoxicated group of 6, who were still being served alcohol, decided the best was to communicate was to yell back and forth and the same table. For approximately 30min, they even had a guest at their table via a cell phone speaker phone, whom was able to talk to all of them as they yelled across the table into a phone. It was quite apparent to everyone in the restaurant, including the staff that this was truly unbelievable. There were multiple looks passed between the staff, however absolutely nothing was done.

It is truly unfortunate that after a great weekend at the Pillar and Post and the spa, it was ruined by this horrible dinner experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesInn, Guest Relations Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Pillar and Post. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your girlfriend’s 30th birthday with us and that you were able to take advantage of our spa facilities.

In response to your dinner celebration at the Escabeche Restaurant, please accept our sincere apologies for the service experience your encountered. Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and our service team at Escabeche has since been coached on the areas that you have mentioned as well as our Vintage Hotels’ service standards.

Thank you again for your comments, as they are essential in assisting us to ensure that we consistently meet and exceed the expectations of all of our guests. I truly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to both the Pillar and Post and the Prince of Wales in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We were undecided as to where to celebrate our 25 anniversary and decided on Pillar and Post. Are we ever glad we did ! We booked the suite for Friday and Saturday evening and had decided upon dinner package for Saturday night. The front desk personnel at check in were very friendly and explained everything to us as this was our first time at The Pillar and Post. The Inn as well as our room were spotlessly clean. The rose in the room each evening was a great touch. We found the room to be impeccable. We decided to have breakfast both days in The Cannery and the Eggs Benedict were incredible. On Saturday evening before supper we had a drink in the Vintages Wine bar and the service and atmosphere were great. Our dinner package allowed us to choose anything off the menu and again the food and service were superb. On Sunday we had the buffet and again were amazed at the quality of food and service. For anyone deciding where to stay in NIagara On The Lake we would highly recommend The Pillar and Post. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE GOING BACK !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This was an exceptional experience from the moment we checked in. We were up-graded to a better room as soon as we told the desk clerk we were celebrating our anniversary. Our supper meal was exraordinary. Our server" Kelli" went out of her way to explain the items on the menu and suggest an excellent local wine.
Our room was fantastic. While we were having supper someone came into our room and left a rose for my wife, and turned on some delightful music. The sleep experience was superb. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Our server "Pat" made sure we had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFradkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara-on-the-Lake
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,203 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
577 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing