We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
Harbour House Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moffat Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shaw Club Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$364
US$317
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$157
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Landing Inn(Queenston)(Great Value!)
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (2,214)
Filter reviews
2,214 results
Traveller rating
1,391
491
202
89
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,391
491
202
89
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springscannery restaurantoutdoor poolprime ribget awaymy husband and iwine barshuttle servicevintage hotelsturn down servicecouples massagesteam roomdeluxe roomromantic getawaywedding anniversaryprince of walesgas fireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,017 - 2,022 of 2,214 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Pillar and Post in the fall of 2011. From the minute we contacted Pillar and Post to hear more about their facility, we received nothing but excellent service and care. Savanna, our wedding coordinator, helped us with every detail along the way. She was never too busy to respond to an email or phone call. She made it a priority to ensure that our special day was perfect. Savanna and the staff at Pillar and Post took care of every detail the day of the wedding. It was the best wedding gift we could ask for! Even though there were multiple weddings happening the same night as ours, Savanna checked on us frequently to ensure everything was going smoothly. The servers also checked with us after serving each course to ensure we were satisfied. We were always satisfied! The food was served at the proper temperature, it tasted incredible and the presentation was beautiful. It was a perfect evening and we would not have changed a thing.

Our wonderful evening continued with a complimentary stay in a Premium Guestroom which included a fireplace and jetted bathtub. They staff ensured that our stay was exceptional and even surprised us with a bottle of champagne and a thank you card.

We would highly recommend the Pillar and Post as a wedding venue. The staff will ensure that your celebration is stress free and unforgettable!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_201115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPILLAR, General Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Congratulations on your special day! We are so happy for your positive feedback on your special day. I will enjoy sharing this with our team. Thank you for choosing the Pillar & Post and we certainly hope to see you back again in the near future. Thank you for your kind words as well.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have to react to a couple of negative reviews about our favourite dining spot in Niagara on the Lake.
We dine at Pillar and Post at least twice a year on special occasions or with friends who are visiting the old town.
The service and food, especially the steaks at Pillar and Post are among the best I've ever had in my 60 years on planet earth.
The food has been consistantly great since the Inn opened many years ago when my brother-in-law was just a teenager dressed in a frilly period costume busing tables.
Recently; out of town guests stayed overnight at the hotel and their room was spotless and more than comfortable.
The housekeeping staff seems to be totally on the ball when it comes to cleanliness!
Don't know what some of the reviewers have been smoking; but our friends were blown away!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franklinda_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

First, Niagara-on-the-Lake is a great, beautiful and quiet destination to begin with. Adding the fall foilage into the mix made the Pillar and Post stay quite unique.

The staff is helpful and very courteous. The food at the restaurant was delicious and we especially liked the breakfasts. The room was ok but needed some maintenance work. We loved the gas fireplace.

The gym is very well equipped and spacious.

Good for business as well as for leisure.

A repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenwood143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at Pillar and Post for four nights to celebrate our 25th anniversary and had a marvelous time. The rates were very high, and though we got the best price we could on a website such as Expedia, the hotel tacked on a "resort fee." The restaurant was very good, but the prices there were sky high. We picked this hotel partly because it had a pool -- we went in the summer -- but the pool was usually packed. Apparently the hotel sells "memberships" to locals to use the facilities. The free shuttle was well worth it and they kept taking us wherever we wanted to go, to and from the theater and shops. We would return but keep these things in mind.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueberrypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for a romantic getaway in Niagara on the Lake, what a huge disappointment.

ROOM
We stayed in a King Room with a 4 poster bed but it went downhill from there. My biggest complaint on this place is how dirty the room was. We travel a lot for business and leisure and this is one of the grimiest rooms I've encountered, and certainly the worst in this price range. There was dust and grime in the bathroom, behind the bed, on the doors, you name it, everywhere you looked. When I mentioned it to the front desk, they said, "oh sorry about that", full stop...seriously? This is a 3* Inn at the most, charging 5* prices.

FOOD
We ate at The Cannery Restaurant on site for breakfast and dinner. The food was average at best, overpriced and tasteless at worst. More dust and grime in the restaurant. Oh, and let's not forget to mention the $10 bottle of Water we ordered. Not even downtown Toronto restaurants charge these prices for 1 bottle of water!

SPA
The spa is supposed to be great, according to my friends anyway. I did take advantage of the "Hot Springs" but although I am a regular spa goer and not afraid to splurge, I found the prices blatantly excessive so passed on the spa and headed to the Shaw Festival instead.

Bottom line, never again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GypsyGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPILLAR, General Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear valued guest. Thankyou so much for your candid feedback. Please be assured that we hold the highest level of standards for room and public area cleanliness and we will review your response thoroughly with the team as well as training relative to cleaning of your your room during your stay. Please be assured that all your feedback will be considered and addressed. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews