We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Curious mix of styles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Birimngham UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Curious mix of styles”
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We stayed five nights at the Pillar and Post and I can reccomend it as a good place to stay. There were a number of conferneces, weddings and parties so it is not the best spot for seclusion and relaxation. The Hotel is 10 mins walk from the small town centre of Niagara on The Lake. The whole experience was very good with nice, clean rooms, plenty of parking, indoor and outdoor pools and a good gym.
Our room had recently been moderised and was a mix of minimalist and heavy dark wood furniture. If only the safe had been fixed to something.
The restaurant was fine for breakfast and the bar meals were good value.

  • Liked — Clean and well presented
  • Disliked — The walk to Niagara on the lake was a bit far
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamBirimnghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    455
    191
    78
    39
See reviews for
323
1,186
24
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

I just returned from one night at the pillar and post, had a good weekend but kind of expensive for what you get. Our room was my only major complaint, spend close to $400 for one night for a room that I would have expected to pay $200. The room was dated and had nothing "extra" to offer, also found the walls to be paper thin....was woken up at 2:45am by our neighbors having a conversation.
Found the spa to be quite nice and had some lovely treatments.
Dinner was also quite nice and had great service.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

We had stayed at the Pillar and Post before and were quite happy with the whole experience. The restaurant offered an excellent dinner and brunch and the staff were excellent. This past weekend, however, we found to our dismay that this hotel is barely a shadow of its former self. While the room we booked still cost us over $300, we had to wait an hour to get a cot for my daughter, the bathroom could only fit one of us at a time and the turn down service was a knock at the door with a staff member shoving a flower at us. The dinner was even worse that the 'standard' hotel room we got. Both my dinner and my spouse's dinner had obviously been left to warm in the oven for too long. The service was surly and disinterested. Brunch was no different with very long line ups and inefficient staffing - even though it cost us $70 for what would normally cost less than half in any other nice restaurant. We have travelled extensively and have to say that we paid much less for much better accomodations, service and food in such world class cities as Paris, Rome, Lisbon etc. The Pillar and Post is not worth a visit - unless you want to pay through the roof for a very mediocre experience. You are better off staying at the local Holiday Inn - at least there you will get what you paid for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RestlessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2008

While my wife & I live in Niagara Falls, having some time to ourselves 20 minutes from home in Niagara on the Lake was a treat. My wife & I were greeted by the front desk staff who knew our first names and reviewed all of the activities for our stay with us. The room was clean and spacious. I think I heard that there are 150 rooms on the property but you would never know it because everything is spaced apart and we weren't running into people at every turn. My wife enjoyed the spa, especially the Hair & Scalp treatment and we both liked the hot springs pool! Dinner in the restaurant was exceptional. The service was personal and the main course was delicious.
Paul MacIntyre, General Manager made a point of speaking to us prior to leaving the next day. I told him his staff really enjoy working at the Pillar & Post and it is reflected in their efforts for the guests.
Thanks!

  • Liked — hot springs pool
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolanNiagaraFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2008

We laughed and laughed.....
A stunning room, the magnificent hot springs, fantastic food, unbelievable service and to top it off.......a pedicure in the awesome spa.
Food in the restaurant was delicious.
We requested extra towels and bath robes for our extra guests and they were at our door almost before we hung up the phone.
Wait staff at the restaurant were quick, accurate and friendly. We were even visited at our table by the General Manager to check on how our meal was!
Room was large and comfortable. Nice bathroom, clean.
Spa and hot springs are to die for!
This is a must stay!
Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kringler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2008

This was the second time I had the chance to enjoy the facilities at the Piller and Post for a "Girl's night out"! Once again it was a treat! We enjoyed the spa, hot springs, and restaurant and it couldn't have been a better experience. The staff was fantastic everywhere we went and made the weekend absolutely perfect. I can't wait for the next time!

  • Liked — very comfortable beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2008

Just wanted to write about what a wonderful night we recently had at the Pillar & Post. The staff were all amazing and so welcoming. Our premium room was cozy, incredibly clean, and seemed virtually sound-proof (other than for a few hall noises that were really not very noticaeble...a rare treat for me since I travel a TON and am used to staying in hotels that seem to have forgotten about noise-dampening when they built the places). The four-poster king size bed and linens felt like heaven and it was lovely to go to bed after nightcaps in front of our gas fireplace.

We were lucky enough to spend some time at the outdoor 'hot springs' jacuzzi -- so private and beautifully landscaped! It was like a little oasis and with the winter night sky above us we could see the stars just beyond the rising steam and twinkle lights around the springs. The 'waterfall' in the springs was great for massaging shoulders and backs.

Also enjoyed a relaxing dip in the salt water indoor pool and then going from the connected jacuzzi and nearby sauna then back to the pool. A great way to relax before dinner.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy the spa or restaurant, but I will be back very soon and include those in my plans. There is a special room that looks like they use it for couples' massages (I think it had a fireplace). That one will definitely be on our agenda!

Thanks to everyone there for a wonderful little break. We are new fans and will be back very soon!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara-on-the-Lake
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,201 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
573 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing