We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel,great wine tour on a trolley bus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel,great wine tour on a trolley bus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Arrived on Oct 11 and found this delightful hotel all decked out for fall!
Staff were friendly and approachable. Cheese & wine before dinner were a welcome surprise!
Lots of parking spaces available across the road if you can't find one near your room.

The room had a nice cosy fireplace. Bathroom is a little bit small but that didn't bother us.
Timely room service delivery for breakfast.

The highlight of our stay was the wine tour trolley! Our guide, Margaret, was a real gem!
It's a pity we didn't stay long enough to sample everything this hotel had to offer. Hope to visit again!

Room Tip: Request for a ground floor room if stairs are a challenge for you. Lift access is available, but may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scytong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We appreciate all your wonderful compliments about our hotel and we are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the wine trolley tour and take advantage of some time away from the everyday. It is our goal to exceed all expectations, so to know that we were able to do that for you, means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    433
    181
    72
    39
See reviews for
297
1,123
23
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

A spontaneous lunch at their restaurant. The service was great and the atmosphere very relaxing. The food was delicious. Even though we weren’t staying at their hotel, the concierge helped us with dinner reservations at a nearby restaurant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntPeggy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Arrived early and planned to check our bags and come back later. Pleasantly surprised to have them offer a room available immediately.
After booking our spa package we headed to enjoy the outdoor and indoor facilities. Both lunch and dinner were fantastic. Staff extremely friendly. Our room was fabulous and right in the area of the spa.
Entire overnight stay was enjoyable and all staff treated us like royalty.

Room Tip: If planning on using the spa facilities I would recommend asking for a room in that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We appreciate all your wonderful compliments about our guest rooms, the food and the service that you had received from our staff during your stay. It is always our goal to exceed all expectations so to hear that we did means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pillar and Post. Lovely accommodations, very comfy and luxurious bed and a cosy fireplace. Very close into town, and a shuttle at our disposal of we needed it, and a winery tour as well, on a trolley bus. Altogether an enjoyable time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We like to get away for our birthdays every year and have gone to the Pillar and Post on a couple of occasions. All the staff is very courteous, helpful and friendly. Having the shuttle at our convenience is the greatest thing, especially when we went to the theatre and he was waiting oustide for us to take us back. We love the outdoor hot springs and even got to sit by the outdoor pool and enjoy the sun in October. We appreciated that they allowed us to have a later check out time so we could enjoy the facilities before we left. I would recommend this hotel to anyome and we are planning on attending again. Thank you to the Pillar and Post for a fantastic getaway.

Room Tip: We love the traditional rooms across from the oustide pool on the way to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are very flattered by your compliments and your recommendation! We are so pleased that you love the Pillar and Post for your birthday getaways!! We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at a number of beautiful Hotels and Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake but I decided to try a different one for our tenth wedding anniversary along with a nice dinner and tickets to a play at The Festival Theatre.

After reading many reviews I chose The Pillar and Post. I explained the occasion to the reservation clerk and told her I wanted to book a luxury suite. She booked us room #240 and told me it was a huge room with a gorgeous fireplace. She was not wrong on those two points but I guess everyone's idea of luxury is different.

The room is large with a King size four poster bed and a really nice gas fireplace and a partially renovated bathroom. Unfortunately that is where the positives end.

The view is of a brick wall, the ceiling had a broken lamp shade and cobwebs, there were a number of flies buzzing around, and the overall impression was dingy. The decor was that of somebody's rec room from the 80's with plaid carpeting, microfiber covered furniture and wooden trim that was badly in need of a refinishing.

All of this for $499.00 a night!

When I went to the front desk and asked for another room the clerk told me they were fully booked. I asked to speak with the manager because there was no way that room was worth what they were charging. On speaking to the manager I asked if they could move us to one of their sister properties since they had no other available rooms. She said she would look into it and get back to me in a few minutes.

True to her word, she called the room a few minutes later and told me that she did have another suite she could show us, (hmmm?) and that there was a smaller room available at Queen's Landing if we preferred.

The other suite she showed us was smaller and slightly cozier but still decorated in that horrible non-style of a rec room so we decided to go to the other hotel instead. Hats off to them at that point because they handled the transfer flawlessly and did not try to make us feel bad because we didn't like their hotel.

The manager described their style as rustic elegance and the rustic part is easy to see but the elegance part is definitely lacking in our opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit to the Pillar and Post. We appreciate your comments. Above all, we are very sorry that we didn't have the opportunity to have you stay with us and I can assure you that if we had the opportunity we would have lived up to your expectations of services. However, all four Vintage Hotel properties in NOTL are unique and diverse as are our guests tastes. We are simply happy that we were able to find you an option of rooms that met your needs and that is truly the most important thing to us. We very much appreciate all of your comments. We also hope you consider staying with us again at either of our properties the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a weekend wedding event at the Pillar and Post for approximately 60 guests. Every detail was perfect (thank you Sandra!) and the hotel was wonderful in meeting all our needs. The atmosphere, rooms and food were all excellent. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help all ages (from the 12 year old to 92 year old). At the last minute, some guests decided to stay an extra day and the front desk was very helpful in accommodating them. The Pillar and Post offers a unique setting that we have never found before and would highly recommend for a weekend away or wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, #1 spa in North America (Spas of America 2007-8), Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing