We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Fairport, New York
1 review
“November Getaway”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent last weekend at the Pillar and Post in Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONT. We had not been there in several years but this trip reminded us of how much we love this place. The Pillar and Post is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are wonderful (we highly recommend a room with a fireplace). The staff is exceptionally helpful and go out of their way to ensure a high quality experience. We had brunch on Sunday morning and the buffet was amazing with a mind boggling set of choices. You will really want to leave room for dessert though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are very flattered by your recommendation and your compliments. Thank you for your repeat patronage, the loyalty of our returning guests means a great deal to us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Pillar and Post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    445
    186
    75
    39
See reviews for
309
1,162
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had an outside room with a king bed and fireplace. Upon arrival, the room was very cold, the bathroom tap leaked all over the counter, and the heater in the bathroom didn't work. The phone also was not working properly ( you had to put it on speaker phone to use it).
We called the desk ( with our cell) and complained and they offered us a free breakfast and chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine.
With a toasty room and the strawberries and wine, we felt a little better.
The dinner at the cannery , with Derek as our server was excellent. Thank you Derek.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very pleased you have taken the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post. As we are always striving for ways to improve and enhance the experience of our guests, we will be looking into the room you stayed in and checking the room temperature, the tap leaking and also will repair or replace the phone. We truly apologize for your experience, but are so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the customer service you deserve. We hope you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, wine and chocolate covered strawberries and we hope to welcome you back to the Pillar and Post in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My daughter and I spent a couple of days at the Pillar and Post last month, we had a wonderful time. We had breakfast on the first morning at the hotel the eggs Benedict were amazing as well as the service. We had a fireplace room which was wonderful during the chilly fall nights. Every evening housekeeping knocked at our door with a fresh rose, coffee k-cups for our coffee maker and an inquiry if we needed our towels replenished. The best part was that we were able to bring our bichon-poodle with us for a small charge and they gave us a room with an enclosed patio so she could run outside while we sat out and enjoyed our coffee. The highlight of our trip was the ghost walk we took on the second night. Did you know that Niagara-on -the-Lake is the most haunted place in Canada with 80% of the residential homes claiming to be haunted as well? Perfect for pre-Halloween. Also don't miss checking out the Haunted Shop where the tickets are sold definitely interesting! We took an afternoon trip to Niagara Falls that only reinforced what a great choice we made by staying where we were. They have a beautiful pool to relax in as well as the hot tub and the hotel was decorated nicely for the fall, definitely was a great choice

Room Tip: Ask to bring your little dog and they will be happy they came especially went they're laying by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are so pleased that you and your daughter were able to have a relaxing getaway to Niagara and that you picked the Pillar and Post for your stay! Thank you so much for your favorable review and we hope to see you, your daughter and your little furry friend back at the Pillar and Post in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Happy anniversary to me. My husband treated me to a hot stone massage at the Pillar and Post spa. It was amazing!! My masseuse was Rosa and she was awesome.The experience was wonderful from start to finish. When you arrive you check in at the desk and are given the key to a locker in which you will find a robe and slippers. Then it is off to wait in the lounge which is a quiet, serene room with teas and coffee.
Rosa picked me up at the lounge and we went to the treatment room. I have never had a hot stone massage and it was real treat. I highly recommend this treatment to anyone. Make sure that you ask for Rosa.
The only sad thing about my spa day was that I did not know they had out door hot spring so I did not come prepared. Oh well, I definitely will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your lovely experience and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post Inn and Spa. We will be sure to pass on your recommendation and compliments to our spa staff and we wish you both a very happy anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed at the Pillar and Post atleast 10 times and just realized when reading one of their emails that I could review it on tripadvisor.ca. This has always been our go to for girls wknd spa retreats. It is quaint, beautiful and luxurious for a fair price. The salt water pool is fabulous as well as the outdoor hot springs, relaxing in any season. The spa offers a large variety of options and while I always get a massage my girl friends have gotten a wide array of treatments from body wraps to facials and are always satisfied with the service. The food in the dining room is wonderful especially paired with some great local wines. You are close to the must see's of NOTL, but yet its still quiet and peaceful. I have stayed at other Vintage Inn's and this has always been my favourite, less "stuffy" than some of the other hotels. I always look forward to my next stay at this wonderful hotel and would highly recommend it for a girls wknd or romantic getaway.

Room Tip: request an indoor entry room in cold weather, although outside may be cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are very flattered by your compliments and your recommendation! We are so pleased that you love the Pillar and Post and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We just came back from a stay at the Pillar and Post. It's beautiful, romantic, quaint (tho a sizeable inn...still had a small inn feel) cozy, and friendly.
Highlights:
- Customer Service: everyone was friendly, remembered our names even if we mentioned it once and saw them the next day, helpful, always smiling and greeted us. They clearly focus on customer care! We arrived at 11am (check in is at 3pm), I had requested early checkin and room was ready. They even provided a birthday card and a box of chocolate for my boyfriend because it was his birthday.
- Ambiance: charming and beautiful finishes. Fresh roses in lobby area.
- Rooms: although I did not particular like the decor of the room (we had a deluxe room with a fireplace), it was too traditional for my taste and had a masculine feel - my boyfriend liked it though. However it was very clean, bed was super comfortable, and spacious. Turn down service included a fresh rose :)
- Spa: this was the highlight! Staff, amenities, atmosphere, what was provided (robes, slippers, water, fruit, tea) - was all worth the price. At some other spas that have similar rating (like La Scandinave) all the above cost extra. The pools, steam rooms, out door hot spring were clean and allowed for complete rejuvenation!
- Food: we did not have dinner there, we ate at the Prince of Wales (amazing food and very romantic) but had lunch at spa and it was very delicious.

I would absolutely go back and would highly recommend staying here. Only draw back is the price / although its worth it if you are celebrating something special. Thanks for a lovely memorable stay!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shivon_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and appreciation! We are thankful to have such a great team working with us who understand the importance of the little details for our loyal guests! It is our goal to exceed all expectations, so to know that we were able to do that for you, means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I returned to Pillar and Post for her birthday and our annual Shaw Festival visit. Our two night stay was perfect, from the welcoming staff to the marvelous meals and the very comfortable deluxe room. It had been a couple of years since our stay but this trip reminded us why the P&P is still a great choice for a special get-away!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your favorable review. It is great to see that our efforts to provide our guests with a wonderful guest experience have been achieved. We appreciate all feedback and it is always nice to hear a guest has enjoyed their time with us and that you were reminded of positive past times at the Pillar and Post. We do hope to see you again in the future. If you do return to the area please be sure to let us know that you are a repeat guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
918 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
460 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing