We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel; overbooked trolley tour and poor TV reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel; overbooked trolley tour and poor TV reception”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a very nice hotel - we had a Deluxe room with a fireplace - also very nice. The reception on the TV was terrible ... and our stay included the country trolley tour which was overbooked meaning we had to stand for sections of it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeoffD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is certainly not our intent to give such a poor impression of our hotel and we are so sorry that you were made to feel this way. I can assure you that it is on a very rare occasion that the trolley tour is overbooked, we sincerely apologize for this, at the particular time of the year we had the trolley tour included into a package and therefore it booked up rather quickly. Our goal is to make every guest feel valued and welcome and we will use your experience as part of our ongoing training to provide the best service possible to each of our guests. We hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in town so we might show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    451
    188
    78
    39
See reviews for
317
1,179
23
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We just stayed at the Pillar. Concierge suggested a wine tour with Niagara Classic - think they are now Community Transport or something. Anyway, hotel was amazing...staff friendly, food delicious at the Cannery and the wine was super fabulous. Wine tour on November 16th in Niagara on the Lake with the tour company was like nothing else - even got a complimentary bottle of wine. Totally suggest the Pillar and Post. Johnny D.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was my 1st time at the Pillar and Post after hearing about it for years.
Location - conveniently a short walk to the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake, near restaurants, quaint shops and the Shaw theatre.
Hotel - tired-looking but I guess it's going for a rustic feel?
Room - the bed was really too soft! Perhaps time to change the mattress? And the bathroom was very small with little room to put my toiletries. At least there's a flat screen TV. Room was clean.
Amenities - enjoyed the indoor pool (nice temperature) and hot tub. The outdoor pool looked enticing (even in November) but I didn't venture out. The gym was decent. I didn't get to frequent the spa.
Food - My husband and I were there with a group for a conference. We had breakfst and lunch there which were both buffet-style. Decent fare. Some hits (omelette, waffles, sausages) and misses (pork chops. fruit gone bad). Service was okay.
Front Desk - friendly and helpful.
Value - As we had a group rate, it was worth it but I definitely wouldn't pay $300!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Pillar and Post. We will keep your suggestions for common area and amenity improvements in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. It is certainly not our intention to give such a poor impression of our hotel and we are so sorry that you were made to feel this way. As for the decor, the Pillar and Post is known for its charm however, we are currently working on the appearance of the hotel and making several changes to be more appealing and better functioning for all of our guests. We very much appreciate all of your comments, we hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in town so we might show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent last weekend at the Pillar and Post in Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONT. We had not been there in several years but this trip reminded us of how much we love this place. The Pillar and Post is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are wonderful (we highly recommend a room with a fireplace). The staff is exceptionally helpful and go out of their way to ensure a high quality experience. We had brunch on Sunday morning and the buffet was amazing with a mind boggling set of choices. You will really want to leave room for dessert though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are very flattered by your recommendation and your compliments. Thank you for your repeat patronage, the loyalty of our returning guests means a great deal to us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Pillar and Post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had an outside room with a king bed and fireplace. Upon arrival, the room was very cold, the bathroom tap leaked all over the counter, and the heater in the bathroom didn't work. The phone also was not working properly ( you had to put it on speaker phone to use it).
We called the desk ( with our cell) and complained and they offered us a free breakfast and chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine.
With a toasty room and the strawberries and wine, we felt a little better.
The dinner at the cannery , with Derek as our server was excellent. Thank you Derek.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very pleased you have taken the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post. As we are always striving for ways to improve and enhance the experience of our guests, we will be looking into the room you stayed in and checking the room temperature, the tap leaking and also will repair or replace the phone. We truly apologize for your experience, but are so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the customer service you deserve. We hope you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, wine and chocolate covered strawberries and we hope to welcome you back to the Pillar and Post in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My daughter and I spent a couple of days at the Pillar and Post last month, we had a wonderful time. We had breakfast on the first morning at the hotel the eggs Benedict were amazing as well as the service. We had a fireplace room which was wonderful during the chilly fall nights. Every evening housekeeping knocked at our door with a fresh rose, coffee k-cups for our coffee maker and an inquiry if we needed our towels replenished. The best part was that we were able to bring our bichon-poodle with us for a small charge and they gave us a room with an enclosed patio so she could run outside while we sat out and enjoyed our coffee. The highlight of our trip was the ghost walk we took on the second night. Did you know that Niagara-on -the-Lake is the most haunted place in Canada with 80% of the residential homes claiming to be haunted as well? Perfect for pre-Halloween. Also don't miss checking out the Haunted Shop where the tickets are sold definitely interesting! We took an afternoon trip to Niagara Falls that only reinforced what a great choice we made by staying where we were. They have a beautiful pool to relax in as well as the hot tub and the hotel was decorated nicely for the fall, definitely was a great choice

Room Tip: Ask to bring your little dog and they will be happy they came especially went they're laying by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are so pleased that you and your daughter were able to have a relaxing getaway to Niagara and that you picked the Pillar and Post for your stay! Thank you so much for your favorable review and we hope to see you, your daughter and your little furry friend back at the Pillar and Post in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Happy anniversary to me. My husband treated me to a hot stone massage at the Pillar and Post spa. It was amazing!! My masseuse was Rosa and she was awesome.The experience was wonderful from start to finish. When you arrive you check in at the desk and are given the key to a locker in which you will find a robe and slippers. Then it is off to wait in the lounge which is a quiet, serene room with teas and coffee.
Rosa picked me up at the lounge and we went to the treatment room. I have never had a hot stone massage and it was real treat. I highly recommend this treatment to anyone. Make sure that you ask for Rosa.
The only sad thing about my spa day was that I did not know they had out door hot spring so I did not come prepared. Oh well, I definitely will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your lovely experience and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post Inn and Spa. We will be sure to pass on your recommendation and compliments to our spa staff and we wish you both a very happy anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
468 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing