We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite Niagara on the Lake Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My fiancé and I have stayed at the Pillar and Post twice in the last year- both times in a deluxe room. We LOVE this hotel. It is the perfect spot for a romantic escape and a perfect spot for day tripping and a fun night out in Niagara on the Lake.
Booking process is always smooth and check in a breeze. We both love the old world charm, comfortable beds, cozy fireplaces, and high ceilings. Cozy robes, lovely washrooms and the little details make it just perfect. I also love waking up to a newspaper at my door. Both times we spent the day on wine tours (highly recommend the one offered by the pillar and post- the trolley and touring with a group is a blast!) The outdoor hot springs is very romantic and picturesque- don't miss it, it feels like a little hidden space!

On our last trip my boyfriend had requested the cheese platter and chocolate covered strawberries in the room for my Birthday. Customer Service is impeccable- in addition to his request I was also welcomed by flowers, chilled champagne and chocolates. It truly added to my day- even more so since he chose this evening to propose! Pillar and Post will always be part of our story and will forever hold the best memory!

Do not hesitate to stay here! I know this will be an annual spot for us, if not more. This would also be a great spot for a girls weekend.

And if you happen to be in town- head to to the Old Angel in for great live tunes and drinks. My favourite pub ever!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We appreciate all your wonderful compliments about our guest rooms and the service that you had received from our staff during your stay. It is always our goal to exceed all expectations so to hear that we did means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,456 - 1,462 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I went for a three night stay at the Pillar and Post to celebrate my birthday. The hotel was converted many years ago from a canning factory and it is a large sprawling complex which includes spa facilities. Walking to the sunlit foyer to check in I was immediately impressed with the warm and rich atmosphere. It's a luxurious hotel of the sort that likely can't be built today. March is clearly an off season and the hotel was pretty quiet and it would seem to me that the visitors to this hotel are there to relax so the vibe is respectful, but not stuffy.

Our room was large and well appointed with a king size four poster bed. I've been in newer hotel rooms and fancier hotel rooms but this one had a patina of class. We ate in the dining room twice, once for breakfast and once for supper. The food was very good and the servers were well spoken and attentive. These were special occasion meals but normally we wouldn't be able to justify the prices. Our bill for breakfast was approximately$75.00 before tip and a bottle of wine we buy at the LCBO for $19.00 was $65.00.

We spent time in the outdoor hot tub and we lounged by the pool. We wandered around Niagara on the Lake and we took the slow route to Niagara Falls. Basically we did a whole lot of relaxing and I'd go again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Bottom Line: Not five-star. Service was great, but the rooms are tired. Didn't meet my high expectations.
I had heard rave reviews of the this hotel, so I was excited when they offered a package through Travelzoo that included dinner as well. Our room was located at the rear of the property, with outside access only. We traveled in March so the outdoor walk wasn't too bad, but be prepared if you are in these rooms in winter.
The lobby is nice - certainly suitable for the Pillar and Post theme. I was really surprised with the size of the restaurant - it is huge. There are fireplaces throughout the restaurant which was great since my wife is typically cold. The prime rib was excellent, although I have never experienced this process where your waiter asks you to rearrange your plate for table-side baked potato service (just unusual). My wife's dinner was overdone and the waiter was very apologetic and arranged for free breakfast the following day, so I'd have to say that the service was top-notch.
The room had a cabin by the lake feel to it, a little musty and worn. It was clean and pleasant, but didn't compare to any five-star property I've ever stayed in. We could hear talking from the adjacent room and a dog barking through the night.
From vintage-hotels.com "Ontario's only five-star country inn.* It's not difficult to see why." I'd beg to differ.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with inside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khurley6ds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay; guest feedback is an invaluable tool for us in our quest to provide the ideal guest experience. As for the decor, the Pillar and Post is known for its charm however, we are currently working on the appearance of the hotel and making several changes to be more appealing and better functioning for all of our guests, this will take place in the quieter months when we have fewer guests to inconvenience. I am however, very pleased to hear that the service was "top notch" we pride ourselves on having all guests leave happy and feeling relaxed after some time away from the every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights and it was the most relaxing time ever.
Wonderful hotel, staff and dinner.
The perfect room. 140, fireplace, jetted tub, and your own little private patio area.
Dinner both nights were very good.
service was exceptional

Room Tip: Room 140 was perfect. The only draw back is that it is close to the delivery truck area. It had Fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We are very flattered by your compliments and your recommendation! We are so pleased that you love the Pillar and Post, for a relaxing time away!! We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Where to start with such a wonderful experience!

My Sister and I decided to take my Mother on a Spa getaway for her 60th birthday. After looking at many different locations we decided on the Pillar and Post. What a great decision! The Spa was amazing, the staff are out of this World! We had such a great time with them. They go over and above to ensure an exceptional time there. Heather, Yvonne, ALL of you girls, THANK YOU so much for making our time at the Fountain Spa an exceptional one.

The room was very well kept, clean, and comfortable. Only minimal complaint is that there is no fan in the washroom so it can get stuffy quickly after a nice hot shower, no big deal.

The Cannery, WOW. The food there is unreal. We ate both dinner and the breakfast buffet there. The wait staff were so helpful with recommendations, we tried the bacon wrapped filets, prime rib, and the Cornish Hen. No complaints on any, and the price with the spa package for a 3 course dinner is a steal for the quality!

Overall, way to go P&P! We had an exceptional stay here. Thank you SO very much!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ACP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know about your wonderful experience with us at the Pillar and Post. We were happy to be a part of your special birthday celebration for your mother and enjoy a nice and well deserved get-away. Thank you so much for all of your compliments, we will be sure to share them with our staff! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We took advantage of a March Getaway Package rate to spend a weekend at Pillar and Post with our two daughters ages 11 and 13. The staff were so flexible and helpful from the beginning, making the package fit our family. We got an interior room with two double beds close to the pool and we changed one of our two free dinners to a free breakfast buffet since that suited our needs better. The food at Pillar and Post is all well prepared and the menus is thoughtfully put together. We all enjoyed the omelette bar at breakfast and our girls liked the made to order waffles.

Our girls loved, loved, loved the salt water pool (which was gentler than the chlorine they were used to). We spent hours both days in the pool. My husband and I appreciated the hot tub, and I checked out the dry sauna. During the day we walked around Niagara on the Lake and toured the little shops. The girls' favorites were Cows' Ice Cream and the Fudge Factory, but we also bought a few birthday gifts elsewhere.

A good family diner nearby is the Little Red Rooster; it has outstanding pies. It is on Mary St. about 6 blocks from Pillar and Post. We also went to the Mandarin Buffet in nearby Niagara Falls Ontario one night; our girls love this all you can Asian chain restaurant. The food there is much better than most Asian buffets and worth the price.

This was a much-needed spring getaway after a brutal winter. The girls were very sad to leave, and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room if you are using the pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your lovely experience and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post Inn and Spa. Our goal is to always provide you with exceptional quality and service to ensure your stay is memorable. Again, thank you very much for your lovely compliments, we will be sure to share this with our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

If you want a hotel that will meet all your needs, spa treatments that are so deserved, and some relaxation.... Pillar and Post!! Hotel staff are wonderful, rooms are very clean and comfy, spa treatments are exceptional, and the hot springs is a must!!! Great place for a girls' time away. If you are looking for R&R... it's a must; if something wild and crazy, better look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We appreciate all your wonderful compliments about our hotel and that you were able to enjoy the hot springs and take advantage of some time away from the everyday. It is our goal to exceed all expectations, so to know that we were able to do that for you, means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,610 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £142 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing