We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I got married at the Pillar & Post and we and several of our guests stayed overnight. What an AMAZING venue for a wedding. The food was incredible, the coordinator was amazing and the hotel is stunning. The rooms are small but well maintained and we loved the historic atmosphere. It's within walking distance to down town but far enough removed from the hustle and bustle to be nice and quiet. We also used the spa and while the services are pricey, the ambiance (and the hot springs) are totally worth it. A fabulous place. My husband and I will come back next year to celebrate our one-year anniversary :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated all of our little added touches for your wedding. We are very thankful to have such wonderful staff that truly cares about our guests and their needs. Congratulations and we look forward to seeing you back at the Pillar and Post for your first year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    433
    181
    72
    39
See reviews for
297
1,123
23
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently spent two nights at this fine resort destination. The staff were exceptional with their great service and smiles. I really can't say enough about how good they were and their attention to detail. It was my wife's birthday and they treated us like King and Queen. The dinner we had was excellent and the breakfast each morning was amazing. The outdoor pool and hot springs were great. The room was large and comfortable. The King Size bed was a little uncomfortable but I rarely find a bed away from home as comfortable as our own. Highly recommend the experience if you have never been there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know about your wonderful experience with us at the Pillar and Post. We were happy to be a part of your wife's special birthday celebration get-away. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level Contributor
99 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Pillar and Post for three nights at the end of May, beginning of June.

My initial impression with the reservation department was not very reassuring, I had a group rate for the conference I was attending but the reservation department confirmed the conference but could not confirm the rate that I would be charged for the room until check out. I found this to be a little disconcerting especially once I had received the confirmation e-mail which had a rate much higher than the group rate... In the end everything worked out but I would have felt much more comfortable if things were transparent.

The hotel itself is pretty nice, I had asked for a quiet room but in the end I got a room that was relatively noisy, facing on to the pool area. The room itself was very reminiscent of a motel room than the deluxe room it was called. Two queen beds and a corner fireplace were nice, but the connecting door, the brick walls, and the under window air conditioning didn't imply luxury. I could easily here conversations in the adjoining room. That said the beds were comfortable and I was able to get a good nights sleep.

The in room internet was excellent, and included in the room rate.

The conference facilities were excellent as well.

The food was ok, although the service in the restaurant we found to be a bit abrupt at times.

Given the reputation of this hotel, I have to say I came in with high expectations and left somewhat disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayawayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Niagara-on-the-Lake is the charming slice of heaven on the south shore of Lake Ontario, and mere miles from the tacky, touristy hell known as Niagara Falls, NY and ONT. If you're into history, this town has plenty from which to partake. The Pillar and Post was our selected stay while on business in nearby St. Catharines. This property is delightful....intimate, through spacious, with amenities galore.....spa, indoor and outdoor pools, beautiful grounds, delightful restaurant and bar. The staff are exceptional, from front desk to bar, to housekeeping (be sure to chat with Margaret), the comforts are top shelf, and the everything is tidy and home-like. We'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was spacious enough for two, and rooms facing into the garden areas are the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicxtian63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Was at the P&P on May 25-26th. Hotel is nice, clean and very relaxing get away. Must enjoy the indoor pool by the spa - which is a bit expensive. Tried the Canary restaurant for Sat dinner, and unfortunately, the place was not at it's best due to city wide power outage. A/c needs some fine tuning to bring down the noice level at night time. The room was nice with a pre-lit fire place.

Hotel is within good walking distance to the downtown main steet, and many vinyards, whic are within driving distance.

Would go back and try different places in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlueRiver007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Pillar and Post is second to none! We held our wedding here in April 2014. The staff were incredibly attentive and demonstrated a willingness to attend to the needs of us and our wedding guests. All of the guest suites were well maintained and extremely clean. The food for the wedding, rehearsal, and for dinners in the pub and through room service was incredible! We had some services done at the spa as well. Again, the staff were extremely pleasant and the facilities were remarkable. It is clear that the staff and management throughout the hotel have a passion for providing exceptional service and ensuring that every guest is taken care of. Sandra White was particularly attentive and helpful through our wedding planning process. She was always available to answer our questions and made sure that all of the details of our perfect day was taken care of. We highly recommend the Pillar and Post for all of the services they provide, and we can't wait until we have the opportunity to visit again. Paige & Brian Vitola

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated all of our little added touches for your wedding. We are very thankful to have such wonderful staff that truly cares about our guests and their needs and we do pride ourselves on the service that we provide. Congratulations to you both and we hope to see you back at the Pillar and Post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

What can I possibly say about the Pillar and Post? Our room (115) overlooked a lovely rose garden, and was peaceful and quiet. The bar was very relaxing, and the pool area was warm and inviting. It's also a short walk to the charming downtown. Today is my first night home, and I'm wishing I was still there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A2redhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are very flattered by your compliments and your recommendation! We are so pleased that you love the Pillar and Post and that you enjoyed some time away from the everyday, we look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, #1 spa in North America (Spas of America 2007-8), Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing