We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Pillar & Post”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Pillar & Post”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was our 9th stay here...as usual the staff and hotel were wonderful. We come for the Shaw Festival and even though this hotel is a few blocks from the main street of NOTL where the shops and theaters are located. it is easily walkable and worth the walk. The hotel also offers reliable and prompt shuttle service to and from the theaters, if necessary. Can't wait for stay #10!.

Room Tip: The premium rooms are worth it...lots of space and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plmetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    445
    186
    75
    39
See reviews for
309
1,162
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and myself stayed here over the July long weekend. Check in was easy, the room was very nice with a nice high ceiling. Once we arrived in our room there was bottle of wind and chocolates waiting beside the TV. The grounds were nicely kept and the pool area was very nice but also busy as the weather was warm when we were there. We swam mostly in the indoor pool as it was more relaxing and there was very few people using it and that was what we were look for on this weekend. We ate dinner on the main street but did have breakfast here, it was good, buffet with an omelet station. We took our bikes and biked on the path that runs beside the river, made it to the whirlpool and then came back, about 36km total. It's a great path with nice views of the river. We stopped for some wine tasting on the way back. The cost per night is not cheap here but it step above the rest

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suntanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your favorable review. It is great to see that our efforts to provide our guests with a wonderful guest experience have been achieved. We appreciate all feedback and it is always nice to see a guest has enjoyed their time with us and in Niagara. We do hope to see you again in the future. If you do return to the area please be sure to advise that you are a repeat guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our room was comfortable and clean. Triple sheets. The doors had poorly installed knobs for hanging the do not disturb signs on (I guess, some did that). The door didn't have one of those partial open locks on it.

The hot springs tub was nice, but I never did manage to find out if is real or stuff added to the water. The entrance is cluttered, not maintained and no warning that the bottom two steps cannot be see, so people kept tripping. People don't notice the stairs and the signs, and go in over the edge. Fun, though!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thumbelinasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I went for a spa getaway and was pleasantly surprised. Front desk and hotel staff were extremely accommodating with every request and went out of there way to make me feel safe and comfortable as a single traveller. Hotel isn't too big so you don't feel lost in the hustle/bustle but it has all the special little touches. Fresh flowers everywhere and plush robes to relax in. Room was clean and well decorated with a view of the beautiful garden and outdoor pool. The spa is quiet and relaxing with the added sanctuary of the outdoor waterfall/hot springs tucked away in back - don't miss it. Dinner at the Cannery Restaurant was excellent ( try the appetizer sampler ) and service attentive. Really enjoyed lounging by the pool (but similar to previous comments by others I would agree they need to improve the level of service to poolside guests). Overall it was a wonderful relaxing experience with excellent customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cngthwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Pillar and Post for two nights. On the positive side, the Inn is vintage NOTL and the property beautiful. The outdoor pool and patio area were delightful. Spa area great as well. Our dinner at the Cannery restaurant was exquisite and the service superb during a busy Saturday night. Staff were friendly and helpful. A minus was our accommodation; the Deluxe rate landed us in a dark and quite frankly drab green colour ground floor corner room, across from a broken ice machine, looking onto the parking lot from both sides (and conversely people looking in). No upgrades were available so we made the best of it; but at $420 for the first night, not worth the billing. As well, this property charges a resort fee. The expectation than on the part of the guest is that staffing is up to par. Having only two people tend the bar and run ragged on Sunday afternoon to serve a full pool and patio area resulted in long wait times. On balance though, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel amazed from arrival, lovely surrounding, Niagara on the lake is a stunning place and the local bars and pubs are also lovely, rooms are stunning, luxurious and comfortable, spa facilities second to non, and the staff are lovely, recommend to anyone

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your wonderful experience and for taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post Inn and Spa. Our goal is to always provide you with exceptional quality and service to ensure your stay is memorable. Again, thank you very much for your lovely compliments, we will be sure to share this with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Took my wife to this hotel for an overnight stay on Thursday night of last week. Just as a romantic getaway. Booked the stay based on a friend's recommendation. Although a very expensive booking for a single night, we are glad we went here. It was a beautiful hotel and amazing landscaping and beautiful pools, spas, etc. We will surely check out the other 2 hotels as part of the Vintage Hotel Collection, sometime in the future. Below I've just quickly put together a small list of the good and the bad from what we personally experienced during our stay.

The Good:
--------------

Huuuuuuge room, in fact probably the biggest we've ever seen. Definitely get upgrade to Premium room with king size bed and jetted tub. We stayed in from #251 and it was gorgeous.

Beautiful gardens everywhere. Be sure to take a walk outside all around the hotel and check out the gorgeous gardens and fresh flowers everywhere.

Friendly employees. I don't believe we had a single employee pass by us once in the hallway without a nod or a smile. Its much appreciated when the employees make a guest feel welcome in their hotel. Furthermore at one point I passed by an employee who even acknowledged me by my first name. For someone I've never met before to be trained on knowing the guests names; gets huge brownie points with me.

Hot springs was very beautiful and relaxing. Definitely be sure to check this out down on the Spa area just past the lounge. Luckily we were the only 2 in it for one point in time, which makes it even more romantic and relaxing. Just check back every now and again to see if in use.

Lots of parking. Was very happy to see the parking available right up by the front door. Parking wrapped all around the building.

Buffet breakfast was amazing, fresh to order omelettes and waffles. This was a $17.00 upgrade for each of us and another well worth upgrade. Our waiter (asian) was amazing. I asked for a chocolate milk, and he didn't believe they had any. He wanted to look anyways and came back with 2. Along with my orange juice. He was willing to to go above and beyond to make sure we were content.

The spa was very good. My wife made repeat bookings to go back for treatments, so she was a huge fan. I believe I read it was rated one of the top 5 spas in all of Ontario.

The Bad:
------------

No light in the stand up shower, so it was difficult to see. Was quite surprised. We have a similar shower in our home and have a pot light in the ceiling for necessary light. Wife found it dark and gloomy in the shower.

Over one hour to bring out dinner once ordered. We ate at the Cannery restaurant in the hotel. From the time we ordered our entrees until it was delivered to us was well over an hour. For just 2 dishes! We were almost late for our massage appointments due to this mishap. And we had given ourselves 2 hours of time between the 2 bookings.

Burnt out light bulb in bathroom upon arrival, called maintenance to replace. Not a huge deal I suppose but something they should inspect between guests checking out.

Dinner menu was limited, if not a fan of seafood. This was at the Cannery restaurant. My wife and I are neither fans of seafood. So either steak or there was one noodle meal were your only alternatives.

Bit of an older crowd, most of the guests have retired back to their rooms by 9pm at night - bar area was like a ghost town.

Not a good window view. The ONLY real downside to our room was a view of a asphalt roof top out our window. Don't expect to look out and see much.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premium room is well worth it. These rooms are the size of a small house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank white_rice76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing