We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B, everything is perfect!”

1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B, everything is perfect!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lois & Frans are the most gracious, warm and knowledgeable hosts! The accommodations are perfect, great attention to every detail and need. The two bicycles are great for touring the wineries. The breakfast was delicious and healthy. This has been my second time here and not my last, even if they move.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levant_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Rising Sun this past weekend (Sept 13-15). The accommodations were excellant and the hosts were pleasant engaging people that were happy to assist with any questions about the area attractions. The breakfast was also excellant. We will definetely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

very welcoming couple
with great advice re: restaurants etc.
The breakfast is continental--but is much more--delicious!
Our only Place to stay in NOTL.---John and Elaine.
(We will definitely join Lois and Frans when they move to a larger establishment even if we have to book all three rooms! J and E.)

Room Tip: One suite---so it's all Yours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macthedogBrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We just came back from a two night stay at the B&B, and could not be more pleased. We had a complete suite, with two bathrooms. The art on the walls by Lois is just beautiful and sets the tone of the place. Bright and cheery. Everything was just perfect; the beds, the breakfast, and the hospitality. Very helpful and caring hosts. We hope to go back some time soon.

Room Tip: There is only one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I have spent the Victoria Day weekend at this B & B for the last 4 years. We now don't even consider another location. We attend several plays at the Shaw Festival on this weekend and the location is perfect. The room is very private and very clean. Breakfast is a work of art for Lois, and Frans is very good at serving it with a smile. A great way to start the day. If you need to know something about Niagara on the Lake just ask and they likely will know the answer. Great hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Two days notice to spend a long weekend in NOTL... sounds like the beginning of a comedy of misadventures, right? My stay at the 1818 Rising Sun B&B was fraught with superior service from delightful hosts, a spacious suite of rooms with their own private entrance, and even some surprise shopping. If you're looking for a comedy of errors, you won't find it here. Instead, you'll find a gregarious gentleman and his beautiful bride anticipating your every need, right down to having the coffee pot ready to go so all you have to do is click a button in the morning. Breakfast is delivered to your dining table in your private sitting room, which doubles as a gallery for the paintings of your very talented hostess and the source of a perfect gift for my sis-in-law. Although covered in snow when I visited, the back garden was lovely and inviting (as seen through the bedroom window), and will be part of my next visit. I'll be bringing my bed-hog hubby, but we'll have tons of room in the oh-so-very-comfy king-size bed to rest from our wanderings through the picturesque village and eclectic shops. My only complaint? I hadn't planned to stay longer during my first visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rising Sun. The accommodations, ideally located close to the center of town, were ideal for a single couple and included a suite of rooms- a bedroom, separate sitting room and two bathrooms with beautiful paintings spread throughout the suite. The host and hostess were wonderful, friendly and available to help with any questions or other issues. We had a group of 4 couples, three of whom stayed across the street at Abacot Hall(also extremely nice) and ourselves who stayed in Rising Sun. It really worked well with the host and hostess of both B&B's working together to make all of our visits enjoyable and comfortable. We would definitely return to Rising Sun upon our next visit to Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.9 mi away
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
#21 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Gables Bed and Breakfast
Cedar Gables Bed and Breakfast
#87 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Wing Bed and Breakfast
Eagle's Wing Bed and Breakfast
#109 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kellar House Accommodations
Kellar House Accommodations
#67 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Promenade Bed & Breakfast
The Promenade Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
Address: 519 Mississagua Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home (circa 1818) in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake,Ontario. Private separate quarters within resident artist's home & gallery. Kingsize bed, a/c, ceiling fan, mini-fridge, TV, ironing board, hairdryer, free wireless internet. Tastefully decorated. Main floor entry. Patio for guest's use available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing