We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Bruce Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bruce Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our 1st stay at a B&B and it was a fabulous experience. Communication with Sanath is excellent. Their home is lovely, we stayed in the Cherry room with is so spaciou & clean. The king bed is a pocket coil -the one on the commercial with the bowling ball...lol...we learned this as we discovered that I did NOT wake my husband thru the night with all my tossing and turning......definitely gona look for a new mattress now at home! Bedding and towels were lovely. I liked the small fridge in the room. My only to suggestions for the room would be a bit of a bigger TV and perhaps a mirror above the writing desk as some women may do their make up and final touches there--especially if their partner is in the washroom. We let Sanath know that we would be coming in later and therefore enjoying the luxury of a "sleep in with no kids" and he was kind enough to delay breakfast for us - keep in mind on this stay (off season) we were the only couple staying over. Breakfast was wonderful and we had more than enough to start our day - my favorite part was the wonderful conversation with Sanath, his wife and beautiful daughters. Sanath is in the RIGHT field of business - the right personality to engage with people and make their stay enjoyable. He offered tips of local shops, places to go etc.
We look fwd to returning again for another visit. best wishes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaJohnston2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I spent an enjoyable weekend in Niagara-on-the-lake. Our hosts were delightful and attentive. Spacious rooms and private, but could use an update on decor. Good value though. Breakfast was good and filling, although I would suggest not using pre-cooked bacon and the toast should be served warm. I would recommend Bruce Manor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cherry room which is very spacious. Unfortunately we could not see the electric fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed there one night while seeing two plays at NOTL, Shaw Festival. The downtown is within walking distance. It is right beside the Bruce Trail, and close to the Bike Trails. They were welcoming, and shared information about the area's restaurants, and other sights. I appreciated the email before the trip reminding me of the stay.nroom was clean and well-appointed.
A choice at breakfast would have been nice. Otherwise, excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent an enjoyable weekend in early October at Bruce Manor. Sanath is a very gracious host, and an excellent cook. Our room was comfortable, quiet and clean. We slept very well. And our multi-course breakfast each morning was wonderful. Bruce Manor is pleasant and easy walk, through a park, to the theaters, restaurants and shops. Next time, we hope to have time to also explore the trail near Bruce Manor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We enjoyed our two nights at Bruce Manor. It's on a quiet street close to walking trails. We stayed in the Rattan room which offered a great view of woods and flowers. The bed was quite comfortable with easy and safe access to the bathroom during the night. The breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were outstanding, served very cheerfully by host Sanath. A bonus were the delightful table companions from Toronto with whom we enjoyed conversation. We recommend Bruce Manor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked this B & B following a personal recommendation and were delighted. The host Saranth could not have been more welcoming. We had a spacious bedroom cum sitting room with bathroom on the first floor, overlooking the garden and swimming pool. Parking was easy as was the short drive into Niagara on the Lake for dinner. Breakfast was lovely and included home made banana bread. We were only in the area for one night, to visit the Falls, but we would love to go back and spend more time there, exploring the area by bike.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Sadly we only had one night in Niagara on the Lake but happily we spent it at Bruce Manor.
A charming little place with swimming pool (albeit a bit cold in late September). Handy for town centre and excellent breakfast

Room Tip: Gets booked up early in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
#21 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Wing Bed and Breakfast
Eagle's Wing Bed and Breakfast
#107 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kellar House Accommodations
Kellar House Accommodations
#64 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blairpen House Country Inn
Blairpen House Country Inn
#56 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Brea...
#67 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Manor

Property: Bruce Manor
Address: 602 Charlotte Street | P.O. Box 303, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy bed & breakfast, backing on to the famous Bruce Trail, offers a serene setting within walking distance to theatres and historic sights in Niagara on the Lake. A quiet retreat with grand suites each with its own sitting area, TV, mini fridge, coffee and tea service, ensuite bath and balcony. Two rooms have their own private entrance with direct access to the pool and garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing