We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Satisfying B&B”
Review of Merlot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merlot House
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and Satisfying B&B”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Merlot house. It was clean and interestingly decorated with Japanese and American furniture. I REALLY appreciated the decor as I can't stand the prissy faux country look often associated with B&Bs.

They had a self-serve coffee and tea station which I enjoyed. I also found the bed to be comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and the entire experience was relaxing and casual. The couple who run the place also suggest a great restaurant that we would never have found on our own. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IKEA_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
134
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Beautiful place, we stayed in the Chardonnay room, inviting and comfy with a great bathroom all the comforts of home. Breakfast was a sit down affair with all the guests served at the table with a gormet dining experience, refreshing and different. Internet and morning paper available.

The location of the B&B was in a quiet neighborhood relatively close to downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake, easily walkable. Lovely garden and deck.

The super friendly hospitality really made the place stand out in our minds, shame we only were there for one evening.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, only 4 there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155004Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I agree completely with all of the other reviews thus far. My partner took me here for a birthday present and we had a wonderful weekend! As mentioned by others, the B & B was very clean, comfortable, and pretty, and the hosts were extremely kind and helpful. Everything that you could have needed was provided - bottled water, games, computer with internet, snacks, 24/7 access to tea/coffee/soft drinks, parking, etc. Shirley was very helpful with restaurant recommendations, and Mike was a terrific cook! For breakfast, we had delicious oatmeal blueberry pancakes served with an edible flower, rice pudding with fresh mint and fruit, and freshly squeezed orange juice. We also really appreciated the coupons and information about the nearby wineries. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Merlot House this past weekend and it was wonderful. We booked the King Suite which had a fireplace and double jacuzzi tub. The house and room were extremely clean and quiet. We had a great nights sleep and a fabulous breakfast. The house is in a quaint neighborhood off the beaten track but a walk away from town. We brought our bikes and cycled the niagara trails it was awesome. We also managed to get in some cross border shopping. The owners, Michael and Shirley are lovely and very accomodating we will be sure to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMZolper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Mike and Shirley McBride, the new owners, have made a wonderful B & B even better. The rooms are tastefully, imaginatively and comfortably furnished.
The breakfast is healthy and delicious.
There are thoughtful touches everywhere- internet access, coffee and tea always available,and friendly but unobtrusive hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb_livingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Sadly, our schedule only allowed us one night at Merlot house. We're already planning on returning for a longer stay. Our hosts were delightful, the room ideal for our needs and beautifully appointed and the breakfast a perfect preparation for hitting wine country afterwards. We had access to the internet and a comfortable downstairs sitting room for scrounging drinks and snacks after returning from the theater. Our hosts were able to assist us in choosing wineries to visit and gave us discount cards making the tastings less expensive. We attended a play at the Shaw festival the night we arrived - although we had already made reservations for dinner, our hosts would have done that for us as well. All in all, a very welcoming place and a most reasonable price - even considering the currency difference between the US and Canada.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clevelandmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This was our first time at this B&B, we wanted to stay close to the Shaw Festival. The location is close to town in a very pretty and quiet area. We were in the very spacious MERLOT room, with a sitting area with fireplace, and a nice jacuzzi tub in the ensuite bathroom. A large kingsize 4-poster bed and 10' ceilings. The hosts are wonderful, warm, and very welcoming. We were close to loads of wineries and the hosts provided coupons for free tastings at many of the local wineries, and helped with dinner reservations. We slept great and had wonderful breakfasts.

Room Tip: All great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Darlington House Bed and Breakfa...
#26 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
#78 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kellar House Accommodations
Kellar House Accommodations
#65 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlot House

Property: Merlot House
Address: 619 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Mike and Shirley McBride invite you to experience Merlot House, an up scale bed and breakfast located in historic Old Town, a short walk to Queen Street shops, restaurants, and theatres. Numerous wineries are a bike ride or short drive away. Our Georgian-style brick home offers gracious accommodation in a casually elegant atmosphere. Merlot House has all of the comforts of home, including an inviting dining room decorated with an eclectic array of antiques acquired from around the world. Guests will enjoy the romantic country atmosphere enhanced by a warm fireplace, fresh flowers, and a delicious, homemade breakfast.Adjoining the dining room is a comfortable reading room and lounge where guests can read, play games, watch TV, or just relax with friends. The attached butler’s pantry offers 24-hour self-serve coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks. Each of our three guest suites features a fireplace, cable TV, wireless Internet and private en-suite bathrooms with whirlpool tubs. After a restful night, join us for a hearty country breakfast, which includes fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade baked goods, local preserves, egg dishes, pancakes, and waffles. With advance notice, we can accommodate any personal dietary requests. Merlot House welcomes room reservations for children over 16 years of age. The house and property are smoke-free; and sorry, we cannot accommodate pets. Merlot House is Service Excellence Certified by the Ontario Ministry of Tourism and by the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing