We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly lovely and peaceful”
Review of Merlot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merlot House
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredibly lovely and peaceful”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Mike and Shirley are extraordinary hosts! They went out of their way to make us feel at home and were very helpful in suggesting and booking dinner reservations, giving advice and coupons for wineries and answering endless questions we had about the area. The breakfasts were phenomenal!!! Shirley's homemade scones and Mike's blueberry and peach clafouti were to die for! Their home is lovely, warm and inviting and the Shaw room, was comfortable and beautifully decorated. Our room had everything we needed including beautiful fresh flowers from their garden, delicious chocolates and comfy soft robes. The bathroom was beautifully appointed with luxurious towels, a soaker tub and yummy smelling soaps and shampoos. There was also a very comfortable family room with tv, computer, lots of reading material and coffee/tea available to enjoy at our leisure. Shirley went above and beyond by researching information for us and even giving a small birthday gift. We would highly recommend Merlot House to anyone travelling in the Niagara area!

Kim and Jaime

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOgirl136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for your great review and your wonderful comments. Hope you have a chance to visit us again in the not too distant future.
Your hosts
Michael and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
135
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The Merlot room was as good as it has been in the past--comfortable king size bed, nice sitting area and good size bathroom.

We came from the Philadelphia, PA area for the Shaw plays, wine, a little touring and also dining. We love the area; it was our 8th trip and we will continue to return to NOTL and stay at the Merlot House.

The new owners are very friendly without being intrusive and very accomodating. The breakfasts were as good as we have ever had at a Niagara on the Lake B&B. We stayed four nights and needed breakfast early one day and they served us an hour earlier (and still served the other guests at 9AM). On our departure day we wanted an early start and they gave us fresh fruit yogurt and mini donuts for the ride!

We talked to another couple at breakfast who had stayed there a number of times in the past and they were as happy as us with the new owners.

We highly recommend the Merlot House.

Room Tip: The Merlot room has a king size bed and the other rooms have two twin beds and a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfmcg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Salem, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I knew nothing about Merlot House when I booked our stay. What a treat was in store for us. Elegant, immaculate, comfortable and, most of all, welcoming! Merlot House is a lovely brick home in a quiet residential area, minutes from downtown and the theaters. Each room is appointed with an eclectic and sophisticaed mix of antiques and memorabilia from the owners life and travels - quite charming. Beds are comfy, bathes are spacious, and breakfasts are incredible. (Plan on a little weight gain!) Our hosts guided us to one of the best restaurants. We never would have found it on our own. Charming home, delightful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

What a great place to stay! We were on a side trip from a visit from England to our daughter in Montreal. She had recently visited Niagara on the Lake and recommended the area to us. Having driven from our previous night's stay in Toronto via Niagara Falls, the welcome from Shirley and Mike was greatly appreciated and a good "English" cup of tea in the garden was enjoyed by my husband. The standard of the room we had was excellent and the guests' sitting room in the library and the small kitchen in the butler's pantry were a lovely addition. A highlight of the stay was the fantastic 5-star breakfasts. My husband has Ceoliac Disease and Mike went out of his way to source gluten free ingredients for his signature oatmeal pancakes.

As one of the other reviews has mentioned, this B&B is a little further out from the centre of Niagara on the Lake but this gives it the advantage of being in a quiet location with the busy main street, Lake shore and historic sites only a 15-20 minute walk or short drive away. The two nights we stayed here were a peaceful respite on our whistle stop tour out of Montreal. Thank you Mike and Shirley for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Mike and Shirley have out done themselves. Pretty quiet garden and a perfect place for and afternoon glass of wine. What a beautiful home. Immediately felt at ease. Short distance to downtown. Great restaurants in town, good golf and yes there are the wineries... Such fun!

We hope to make it back in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank con628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate it and hope to see you again in the near future.
Your hosts
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Merlot House. From the moment we arrived at this picturesque B&B we felt extremely welcomed. Shirley and Michael are warm, knowledgeable and kind. They could not do enough to make us feel at ease. They provided us with suggestions and coupons for local attractions. They gave us restaurant recommendations, and clear, simple directions for whereever we needed to go. Their breakfasts were second to none. The food was delicious, fresh. and impeacably presented. Overall we highly recommend the Merlot House B&B for your next getaway to Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn155021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Lovely house, great breakfast and charming hosts. Located on a quiet street, a pleasant 10 to 15 minute walk to the theatre and shopping area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPallJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
#77 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kellar House Accommodations
Kellar House Accommodations
#66 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#53 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlot House

Property: Merlot House
Address: 619 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Mike and Shirley McBride invite you to experience Merlot House, an up scale bed and breakfast located in historic Old Town, a short walk to Queen Street shops, restaurants, and theatres. Numerous wineries are a bike ride or short drive away. Our Georgian-style brick home offers gracious accommodation in a casually elegant atmosphere. Merlot House has all of the comforts of home, including an inviting dining room decorated with an eclectic array of antiques acquired from around the world. Guests will enjoy the romantic country atmosphere enhanced by a warm fireplace, fresh flowers, and a delicious, homemade breakfast.Adjoining the dining room is a comfortable reading room and lounge where guests can read, play games, watch TV, or just relax with friends. The attached butler’s pantry offers 24-hour self-serve coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks. Each of our three guest suites features a fireplace, cable TV, wireless Internet and private en-suite bathrooms with whirlpool tubs. After a restful night, join us for a hearty country breakfast, which includes fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade baked goods, local preserves, egg dishes, pancakes, and waffles. With advance notice, we can accommodate any personal dietary requests. Merlot House welcomes room reservations for children over 16 years of age. The house and property are smoke-free; and sorry, we cannot accommodate pets. Merlot House is Service Excellence Certified by the Ontario Ministry of Tourism and by the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing