We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake.”
Review of Merlot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merlot House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The Merlot House provided the ideal escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Mike and Shirley have have created a beautiful and elegant home with plenty of character. Their travels around the world have allowed them to fill each and every room with unique and beautiful pieces of furniture - many dating back hundreds of years. This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast and it couldn't have been more perfect.

Quite simply, the beds were comfortable, there is a bathroom and fireplace in every room, the breakfasts are divine and it is clear that the hosts, Mike and Shirley, go out of there way to ensure that every Guest leaves happy. We will definitely be making another trip back this Spring!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong - saw them all and all were well decorated, had bathrooms, fireplaces and cozy ro...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Merlot House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I recently celebrated our 5 year anniversary in Niagara-on-the-Lake. I was overwhelmed at the number of B&Bs in NOTL, but I found it fairly easy to narrow it down to a select few. I was torn where to book a room, but I kept going back to the Merlot House and I am oh so glad I did!

The house is just beautiful, from the common areas to the guest rooms (and yes, we got to see them all!). Mike and Shirley were gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Merlot Suite, which was gorgeous. The linens were high quality and the bed was very comfortable. Some extra special touches were the robes, gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub and chocolates. And the breakfast....oh my, it was simply divine! My husband wouldn't stop raving about the ginger scones and I think we both would've been satisfied with those alone. However, they were accompanied by a large serving of fresh fruit and followed with some mouth watering orange-infused french toast and bacon.

I would highly recommend this B&B to friends and I really hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank like_to_travel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Merlot House, hosted by Mike and Shirley, was the highlight of our trip to Niagara on the Lake. We were welcomed by a sign in the lobby displaying congratulations on our wedding anniversary. In our room, there were beautiful red roses and a chocolate dessert with the message, "Happy 7th anniversary." These were just some of the wonderful touches. The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, two plus robes, and a jaccuzzi tub, to mention a few things. The hospitality provided by Mike and Shirley was wonderful -- they were our guides to a perfect weekend and recommended places to visit, dining, etc. Shirley gave us winery coupons and even made dinner reservations for us at a restaurant that she recommended. The breakfasts were wonderful -- we still talk about Mike's famous oatmeal blueberry pancakes. Also, I loved the gourmet chocolates that they had! Everything was perfect. This was our first trip to the area, but we loved it so much that we are making it our new annual get away. I am looking at dates in 2012 to go back and will book here for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Shaw room. The professional pictures make the room and beds look "really big". The room could best accommodate a single double bed. The beds are uncomfortable if you are anything above 5 foot. The small room is further cluttered with cheap made in China "old" looking bits and pieces. Highly overpriced for what it offers!! Breakfast does not start before 9 am. B&B owners partied with their friends downstairs until the early hours. Guess who didn't sleep? The paying customers!!

Traveler beware, do not ask Mike (Owner) where you can eat. He will try to have you stay in the Niagara on the Lake area (Supporting the local economy) and suggest that you try the "Keg" in Niagara should you decide not to stay, describing his positive experience with the food, drink and magnificent views. Except that his wife describes the experience as cold food, bad drink and no views. The only reason for a 2 star review are the "ginger scones" she bakes. Poor value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We are very sorry our B&B did not live up to your expectations. Most of our guests are very satisfied as our other reviews indicate. Please return and we will try to do better.
Mike and Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My mother-in-law and I stayed at the Merlot House for two nights in Oct (the Shaw room--2 twin beds). I wasn't sure I'd feel comfortable in a bed and breakfast, but this was great. We had our own big bathroom, the beds were really comfortable, and the breakfasts, served at 9:00, were delicious and sustaining (we didn't need lunch). The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and accommodated our late arrival. They really thought of everything in the room--there is a TV, wine glasses, cork screw, books, hair dryer. I particularly liked the cold water cooler right outside the room. They have a sitting room downstairs, too, with coffee, tea, and snacks, and a computer and newspapers, so you're not confined to your bedroom. I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baltimorefilmfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The Merlot House is a wonderful well appointed bed and breakfast. The house is beautiful, the bed is comfortable and cozy, and we had our own ensuite bathroom. The owners, Michael and Shirley, are friendly, helpful and extremely good cooks. Breakfast was delicious! We would definitely stay here again! Laura & Bryan L

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in September. Hosts Mike and Shirley are gracious, very accomodating and made certain we had an enjoyable stay. Breakfasts were excellent and they had no problem accomodating any dietary requirements. The house is immaculate. They remembered to provide the little things to make your visit enjoyable, even providing a laptop to check your email at home. We have no reservations about recommending Merlot House to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.0 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#33 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Panache Bed and Breakfast
Panache Bed and Breakfast
#37 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlot House

Address: 619 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: -£1 - -£1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Mike and Shirley McBride invite you to experience Merlot House, an up scale bed and breakfast located in historic Old Town, a short walk to Queen Street shops, restaurants, and theatres. Numerous wineries are a bike ride or short drive away. Our Georgian-style brick home offers gracious accommodation in a casually elegant atmosphere. Merlot House has all of the comforts of home, including an inviting dining room decorated with an eclectic array of antiques acquired from around the world. Guests will enjoy the romantic country atmosphere enhanced by a warm fireplace, fresh flowers, and a delicious, homemade breakfast.Adjoining the dining room is a comfortable reading room and lounge where guests can read, play games, watch TV, or just relax with friends. The attached butler’s pantry offers 24-hour self-serve coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks. Each of our three guest suites features a fireplace, cable TV, wireless Internet and private en-suite bathrooms with whirlpool tubs. After a restful night, join us for a hearty country breakfast, which includes fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade baked goods, local preserves, egg dishes, pancakes, and waffles. With advance notice, we can accommodate any personal dietary requests. Merlot House welcomes room reservations for children over 16 years of age. The house and property are smoke-free; and sorry, we cannot accommodate pets. Merlot House is Service Excellence Certified by the Ontario Ministry of Tourism and by the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing