We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in NOTL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merlot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merlot House
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend in NOTL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband & I recently enjoyed a 2-night stay at Merlot House, in the capable hands of its owners & hosts, in their beautifully appointed B&B. They are very easy to get to know and we immediately fell into conversation whenever our paths crossed throughout the stay. Michael & Shirley are very friendly, sociable people.
The home has many features we were very happy about: easy access parking, each room has an ensuite bathroom with tub & shower. Everything was immaculate; the bedding & towels were fresh & white. We especially loved the breakfasts which were very creative & delicious.
We would definitely recommend the Merlot House. Your stay will be a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18rainy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Lorraine and Michael
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words and comments are appreciated and we look forward to your return. We hope Michael's back has improved.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
127
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first stay at the Merlot House and I am so glad my husband and I choose to stay here. What a fabulous B&B! Our hosts were gracious, friendly, and professional. The home looks like it's been professionally decorated with a blend of antiques and a nod to New England. And that is just the start! Our room was beautiful and quiet with a most bed comfortable - and that's sometimes hard to come by when traveling. One of the standards I always use to judge places we stay are the towels - do they smell fresh and are they big and fluffy?...you bet! The breakfasts are to die for, with our host Mike cooking the most fabulous dishes each morning. Everything tastes farm fresh and fit for any foodie. Mike also easily accommodated my husband's "gluten-free" needs. There is a lovely garden and deck in the backyard for morning coffee if you choose. Lastly, we walked to the town center for shopping one day and it only took us about 20 minutes. So, I will be booking again later this summer or early fall for a mother-daughter weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maori24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Geoff and Karen
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review. We appreciate your kind comments. You were great guests and we look forward to your return. Hope the Peace Bridge was not too busy.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Shirley and Mike have created a place that attracts like-minded people. We may have been extra-lucky, but we were delighted to share the breakfast table with theatre- and wine-afficianados from Cleveland and Rochester. That meant the conversation was lively and intelligent (and extended to late night, post-theatre get-togethers!).

Breakfast on both days was just terrific - delicious and filling. We can't recommend Merlot House highly enough, and our only regret in doing so is that it will make booking a room more difficult when we try to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Andrew
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of Merlot House. You and Paul were great guests and we look forward to your return. Hopefully we will have other guests you enjoy sharing breakfast together.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I spend memorial weekend at Merlot House and highly recommend it. The owners are kind and hospitable. The rooms are lovely and each have their own en suite. I am a vegan and they were able to adjust my breakfast accordingly. The hosts were also extremely helpful with wineries and restaurant ideas. They really know the area. This bed and breakfast only has three rooms which is nice because it never gets crowded. The location is very near downtown but also not far from wineries. If you are thinking about this place, just book it. You won't regret it

Room Tip: The merlot room is the best. It's extremely spacious and the bathroom has the large jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLORADO SPRINGS
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Traveled with a friend to NOTL and stayed at Merlot House as they have twin beds. The ambiance in this B&B is wonderful. Great decor, comfortable beds and beautiful grounds! The only down side is - it is a very good walk from the downtown area and taxis are not at all reliable (ours never did show up). Shirley was a wonderful hostess and breakfast was delicious - way too much! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Diane
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review and your kind comments. Sorry about the problems with the taxi service which needs to improve in NOTL.
Hope to see you again when you visit this area again.
Your hosts
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hensall, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just had the pleasure of meeting Shirley and Mike at the Merlot House and had a fantastic experience . Shirley made a lovely breakfast with fresh fruit and banana loaf to accompany the asparagus with eggs and bacon . Our room was spotless and fresh . Couldn't have wanted more . recommended to anyone staying in Niagara on the lake..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Paul and Gillian
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review of Merlot House. Hope you had a good trip back to Hensall and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Cheers
Your hosts
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Mike and Shirley's service was amazing. They were very accommodating! The rooms are priced just right, the breakfast was simply amazing - they even used heart shaped bowls for the fruits! :) Needless to say, this is definitely a good B&B for couples. However, they also have rooms with twin beds - so if you're traveling with a friend or friends, this could work as well.

The location is also spot on. It was very close to Old NOTL and the bike shop where we rented the bikes. Parking is also not a problem - they can hold 3 cars (they only have 3 rooms so rest assured that you'll have a spot).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natiloublanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review on Trip Advisor for Merlot House.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Cheers
Your hosts
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#38 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlot House

Property: Merlot House
Address: 619 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Mike and Shirley McBride invite you to experience Merlot House, an up scale bed and breakfast located in historic Old Town, a short walk to Queen Street shops, restaurants, and theatres. Numerous wineries are a bike ride or short drive away. Our Georgian-style brick home offers gracious accommodation in a casually elegant atmosphere. Merlot House has all of the comforts of home, including an inviting dining room decorated with an eclectic array of antiques acquired from around the world. Guests will enjoy the romantic country atmosphere enhanced by a warm fireplace, fresh flowers, and a delicious, homemade breakfast.Adjoining the dining room is a comfortable reading room and lounge where guests can read, play games, watch TV, or just relax with friends. The attached butler’s pantry offers 24-hour self-serve coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks. Each of our three guest suites features a fireplace, cable TV, wireless Internet and private en-suite bathrooms with whirlpool tubs. After a restful night, join us for a hearty country breakfast, which includes fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade baked goods, local preserves, egg dishes, pancakes, and waffles. With advance notice, we can accommodate any personal dietary requests. Merlot House welcomes room reservations for children over 16 years of age. The house and property are smoke-free; and sorry, we cannot accommodate pets. Merlot House is Service Excellence Certified by the Ontario Ministry of Tourism and by the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing