We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy little cottage”
Front of The Town Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of The Town Cottage
Spacious Living Room Renovated Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Front of The Town Cottage
Spacious Living Room
Renovated Bathroom
Modern, fully equipped, open concept Kitchen
House in the Fall
Bedroom #1 of 3
Bedroom #2 of 3
Bright, fully equipped Kitchen
Secluded stone patio and outdoor eating area
Sunny front porch
Cosy fireplace in the Living Room
Niagara River - just a block from the cottage
Queens Royal park -close to cottage
Soldiers at nearby Fort George- free admittance in 2017
Town in Spring - 1 block away
Historic Niagara Apothocary
Historic Reenactments in Town go right past the front of the house.
Town Center - just a block away
Beautiful Queen Street in the Fall
The cottage in winter - enjoy the fireplace!
The Town Cottage in winter.
Fort Niagara - the view from Queens Royal Park only a block away
Niagara on the Lake Sailing Club - just a short walk
Nearby Queens Royal Park in the winter
Niagara Falls - Beautiful in the winter !
Horse and carriage rides pass the front of the cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J'on P
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfy little cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

From the moment we reached out to the owner, it's been nothing but a professional and pleasant experience.

After a brief tour of the place, my family and I quickly settled into this quaint and charming little cottage just steps away from the Queen Street shoppes, boutiques and restaurants.

There have only been a handful of rentals we've been in that felt like home as soon as we dropped our bags onto the floor - and this is one of them.

With it situated on a very quiet street and only the occasional sound of horse-shoes on asphalt breaking the silence, it was a very relaxing time indeed.

The cottage itself, while not as big as some of the other properties in the neighborhood was intimate and comfortable enough for my wife, young children and I. In fact, my 5yr old son absolutely adored his bed.

Would definitely make the trip out here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rooms
Liked least: Basement was a bit chilly
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review of thetowncottage.ca
My wife and I look forward to seeing you back. Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamalamab
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Home away from Home!”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My second stay at The Town Cottage was just as perfect as my first! Ideal space to share with friends or family when exploring all that the beautiful town of Niagara on the Lake has to offer! The Town Cottage offers every amenity you could want or need at a very affordable rate! Far preferable to hotel stays, you have all the luxuries of a home while being walking distance to stores, restaurants and entertainment. Tony, the owner, is extremely welcoming and informative and a pleasure to deal with. I highly recommend this cozy little cottage in town to everyone I meet with an interest in the area. So far both my visits have been "girlfriend get-always", but I look forward to enjoying future stays with my husband and children. Extremely clean, well kept, and well stocked this house has everything you need for a most comfortable vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWE_13
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“everything catered for in perfect spot”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the personal welcome to the provision of the little things, everything had been thought of in this charming bungalow, to make the stay utterly stress free. The attention to detail is impressive, with information on local events and things to do. The bungalow itself was lovely and couldn't be in a better location.
A leisurely stroll along the leafy lane each morning, past the historic houses, to Balzac's, the local coffee shop, was the perfect start to the day.
A private patio to wile away a few hours with a good book in the sunshine before enjoying the local restaurants was an ideal way to end each day. A real gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the personal touch of the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thanks for the wonderful review and so happy you enjoyed your stay. Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt2604
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Darling house and wonderful stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two daughters stayed at the Town Cottage for three nights in the beginning of September. We LOVED our stay. Tony is warm and welcoming and very nice to deal with. The house is clean and beautifully decorated. It has everything you need. It was nice to have the air conditioning. The neighbourhood is lovely and situated close to the main street. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful home in a perfect location”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Five of us stayed at the Town Cottage for a week in the summer and it couldn't have been more perfect. From the location to the cottage's amenities to Tony's excellent recommendations, everything was wonderful.

The cottage is extremely clean and has everything you would need for a short or long stay. Everything in the home was very comfortable and we spent time there preparing and eating meals and lounging both indoors and out. While it was tempting to just stay at the house the entire trip, everything Niagara on the Lake has to offer was so close we were able to explore easily, most days without a car. We walked to several excellent restaurants in town, all based on recommendations in a comprehensive book created by Tony. We also walked to several parks, the waterfront, Fort George, and Peller Estates and Two Sisters vineyards. We couldn't have asked for a more central, perfect location.

On the few days we did use the car, we went to Niagara Falls and some wineries and fruit/vegetable markets, all a short distance away. These could also be reached via bicycle if you were so inclined.

We can't say enough good things about the Town Cottage and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Niagara on the Lake!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louanne L
1 review
“Perfectly located home away from home”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have been coming to Niagara-on-the-Lake for many years, initially staying at pet-tolerant hotels, then other vrbo rentals before finding the Town Cottage. It proved to be perfect for our needs and we have returned for each of the last four years. Tony is always very welcoming, emailing info and links on the town's attractions before we arrive and meeting us on arrival to point out any updates at the house. He is also close at hand if we have any questions or needs during our stay. The Town Cottage is clean, fully equipped, beautifully furnished, and perfectly located in a quiet neighbourhood a block from the town's main street in one direction and a block from the lake and a beautiful public park in the other. It's also an easy walk to the various theatres…we enjoyed Cabaret at the Festival Theatre last year and Peter and the Starcatcher at the Royal George this year. We always do a combination of eat-in and dine-out. We love the patio for our morning coffee & breakfast and for our afternoon tastings of some of our purchases from the local vineyards. There are also lots of restaurants to choose from and Tony's updates & recommendations as well as the guides & menus available at the house help us to make our selections. This year, we especially loved our meals at the new Oliv at the Strewn vineyard and Kitchen 76 at the Two Sisters. We've developed a real attachment to NOTL and for the last four years the Town Cottage has been our home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, clean, fully equipped, well decorated, pet-friendly
Liked least: No complaints at all!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOCTERE10...
London, Canada
1 review
“A very special place!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Excellent location, close to all that Niagara on the lake has to offer. Very clean and tidy, and the attention to detail was amazing! Truly great value and a charming place to stay, we will absolutely stay at the Town Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, neatness, size, and detail
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing