We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it......” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste - CLOSED

Taste
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Description: Newly opened this summer
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't do it......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

- expensive, fairly poor quality food
- it was nice to have the option of 'build your own salad', but it was wilted, old lettuce with squishy, old cherry tomatoes and very dry chicken
- there are many other better options in the area.....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BA31pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    16
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“mediocre food, terrible waste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The food was alright, but the thing that really got us was that everything was served on disposables. They asked if we were staying, so we were expecting real plates. But no - all plastic - cups, plates, cutlery, everything. We were shocked.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't go: Awful food and expensive!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We were desperate for a late lunch (3pm) on a day of cold pouring rain but this was a spectacularly bad choice. Salads were dead on arrival with dry chicken, seemingly bought packaged dressing and old greens. Our son didn't eat his grilled cheese sandwich as it tasted odd and our coffees were served in plastic cups. Staff were completely disinterested and despite having no one else to serve directed us to the plastic cutlery stand when we were served minus cutlery. This is worse than a bad motor service area!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kvgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

A very casual atmosphere with lunch that you will enjoy and be satisfied with. My husband and I could barely finish our lunch of super delicious soup and sandwich. I will go back for sure!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for take out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

not much atmosphere, we had a chicken pesto wrap (tasty but dry) and egg & cheese on a croissant (good) nicely packaged for take out, nothing to rave about, but good for what it is.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SwampyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Virgil, Niagara-on-the-Lake
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing