We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Your Competition Suggests You, You Must be Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If Your Competition Suggests You, You Must be Amazing”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A perfect evening spent with friends in what can only be described as one of the best B&B's I have ever been in! B&B's are my preferred choice. From the USA (Finger Lakes have some great places), Vienna, Tokyo, London, Paris I have had the privilege of using this site and finding some real treasures. Now it is my turn to give back. I live just over an hour from this place and if you are visiting Niagara Falls, don't stay there....drive to the best part of our region, Niagara on the Lake, and STAY HERE! The town itself has has great theatre, art, food, shops and fantastic waterfront hiking or biking trails all the way to the Falls.

Now to this newly opened B&B. It is true I called a highly recommended area B&B from this site. They were full but spoke highly of The Butler House and suggested I give them a call......and I am beyond thrilled that they did. The owners are true gentle men. The decor is breathtaking. The food gourmet. The dinner suggestion impeccable. The attention to that fine line between honouring but amazingly updating historical detail makes me, also a owner of not as historical but still a historical home, envious of the talent. Did I mention the freshly squeezed juice, the mimosas on offer for a special occasion, the amazing homemade yogurt with fresh mint served in a homemade edible granola bowl, the welcoming cookies fresh from the oven????..,.oh heck just go!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank j4lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Your kind words mean a lot to us, Janice. We really enjoyed hosting your celebration weekend. Thank you so much, and we hope to see you all soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
163
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This B & B will not disappoint. Stephen and John go over and above to make the stay welcoming and delightful. From the exquisite decor, sumptuous three course breakfast and personal, friendly service, these two make it a memorable weekend in the Niagara area. Their attention to detail is truly delightful. I look forward to visiting again.

Linda P., Newmarket, Ontario

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for the kind words, Linda. We enjoyed meeting you and your friends, and helping in your celebrations. We do hope to see you all again soon at The Butler House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just spent two fabulous nights at The Butler House in Niagara-on-the-Lake. The house has been completely renovated but the owners have managed to keep all the charm of a traditional NOTL home. The Butler House is absolutely beautifully decorated with attention to every charming detail. Our bedroom was very spacious and comfortable. While the décor was spectacular it did not overshadow the service and the breakfasts, which were both first class. John and Stephen went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and special. The day began with coffee and freshly baked muffins at 7 followed later by a three course breakfast on a wonderfully set table. The breakfasts were amazing and delicious. We wanted to stay forever! We will return. Kiki -Toronto

Room Tip: They are all gorgeous and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, Kiki. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I just got back from a delightful stay at THE BUTLER HOUSE [formerly Skyehaven] and WOW is the only word to describe the experience from start to finish.
The home is gorgeous...quintessentially English decor with attention to every detail. The room was beautiful...well decorated with a great bed, lovely sheets, fresh flowers, great bath products. Everything that you could possibly need /want. Even prestamped postcards to send home! Who does that? Well Stephen and John, the hosts do!!!

Then there were the breakfasts! different each day [including the table settings with fresh roses]
There were fresh home made muffins early before the main event.

Breakfast itself was a 3 course feast. REALLY !!! 3 course sumptuous breakfast . I could not eat lunch either day !

This is a real find not to be missed!!!!

Mary G Toronto

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wjgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you and Bill to stay, and we hope to see you both again very soon at The Butler House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,909 reviews
0.4 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
Address: 67 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly SkyeHaven B&B)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway, visit The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast. Welcome to THE BUTLER HOUSE HISTORIC BED & BREAKFAST! English Country charm in the heart of Historic Old Town. This charming historic (circa 1787) Niagara-On-The-Lake bed and breakfast has been newly renovated and redecorated to offer our guests a relaxing, romantic, comfortable and memorable visit to "the prettiest town in Canada". We are a short stroll to the Shaw Festival Theatres and the quaint downtown shops, and offer quick access to the hiking trails, bicycle trails, and wineries. A lovely 3 course breakfast is served at 9 each day, with fresh home-baked goods, coffee and tea available from 7:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing