We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Welcoming and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Butler B&B is a pretty white house on Mary Street, parts of which go back to the 1700's It has 3 beautifully designed bedrooms. We had the Blue Room on the main floor. I would be equally happy with the Green Room or the Black and White room on the upper floor. We intend to try them all! Every comfort has been anticipated, lovely toiletries, luxurious bedding and towels and colour everywhere. The house reopened in May having been completely renovated and restored.
The Living room with beamed ceiling, red sofas and brick fireplace is truly lovely. I just wanted to pour a glass of wine and settle down with a good book. Our hosts Stephen and John are collectors of period furniture, interesting prints and artifacts and their eclectic flare has created a wonderful ambiance.
The Breakfasts are spectacular! Three courses of the most delicious food imaginable and different every morning. It begins early with homemade muffins and coffee. At 9am breakfast is served in the delightful dining room. Stephen's table settings with fresh flowers, beautiful china and linens are the setting for John's culinary surprises. One course after another arrives fresh made from the brand new kitchen. We felt so special, not just as guests but as friends. I can't describe it all here. Go and see for yourself. We can hardly wait to return!
Carol and John - Toronto

Room Tip: The Blue room on the main floor may be a good choice for a guest who prefers no stairs but all 3 roo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We look forward to seeing you both again soon and often at The Butler House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a grand discovery for us this year! We were lucky enough to book two nights at the Butler House in May, and have found our dream place, where we will certainly return. A favourite B&B we used to go some years ago had closed its doors, and we had been quite at sea, staying in only “so-so” places for the last couple of years – until now. Hosts John and Stephen have performed miracles with the design and artistry of their renovation of this beautiful & historic house. Their magic touch extends to the bountiful & elegant 3-course gourmet breakfasts we enjoyed each morning -- superb! The warmth and graciousness of our hosts made us feel absolutely at home. Homemade muffins and coffee for early birds, fresh roses on the breakfast table, helpful advice about good dining spots in town, thoughtful attention to every detail, including immaculate rooms stylishly decorated – what more could anyone ask?

I have already recommended the Butler House to several friends, and we will be back next year with bells on. This is a gem of a place, and a perfect counterpoint for the great plays we saw at the Shaw this year. We are so happy to have found an excellent B&B that we can rely upon. Looking forward to the 2015 Shaw season & Butler House!

Carolyn & Bob B., Ottawa

Room Tip: The three bedrooms are each exquisite. Our room (king bed), done in black & white, was gorgeous...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolyn_bullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thanks so much Carolyn and Bob for your very kind review. It was such a pleasure meeting you, and are looking forward to your return visits!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A perfect evening spent with friends in what can only be described as one of the best B&B's I have ever been in! B&B's are my preferred choice. From the USA (Finger Lakes have some great places), Vienna, Tokyo, London, Paris I have had the privilege of using this site and finding some real treasures. Now it is my turn to give back. I live just over an hour from this place and if you are visiting Niagara Falls, don't stay there....drive to the best part of our region, Niagara on the Lake, and STAY HERE! The town itself has has great theatre, art, food, shops and fantastic waterfront hiking or biking trails all the way to the Falls.

Now to this newly opened B&B. It is true I called a highly recommended area B&B from this site. They were full but spoke highly of The Butler House and suggested I give them a call......and I am beyond thrilled that they did. The owners are true gentle men. The decor is breathtaking. The food gourmet. The dinner suggestion impeccable. The attention to that fine line between honouring but amazingly updating historical detail makes me, also a owner of not as historical but still a historical home, envious of the talent. Did I mention the freshly squeezed juice, the mimosas on offer for a special occasion, the amazing homemade yogurt with fresh mint served in a homemade edible granola bowl, the welcoming cookies fresh from the oven????..,.oh heck just go!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank j4lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Your kind words mean a lot to us, Janice. We really enjoyed hosting your celebration weekend. Thank you so much, and we hope to see you all soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This B & B will not disappoint. Stephen and John go over and above to make the stay welcoming and delightful. From the exquisite decor, sumptuous three course breakfast and personal, friendly service, these two make it a memorable weekend in the Niagara area. Their attention to detail is truly delightful. I look forward to visiting again.

Linda P., Newmarket, Ontario

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the kind words, Linda. We enjoyed meeting you and your friends, and helping in your celebrations. We do hope to see you all again soon at The Butler House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just spent two fabulous nights at The Butler House in Niagara-on-the-Lake. The house has been completely renovated but the owners have managed to keep all the charm of a traditional NOTL home. The Butler House is absolutely beautifully decorated with attention to every charming detail. Our bedroom was very spacious and comfortable. While the décor was spectacular it did not overshadow the service and the breakfasts, which were both first class. John and Stephen went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and special. The day began with coffee and freshly baked muffins at 7 followed later by a three course breakfast on a wonderfully set table. The breakfasts were amazing and delicious. We wanted to stay forever! We will return. Kiki -Toronto

Room Tip: They are all gorgeous and spacious.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, Kiki. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I just got back from a delightful stay at THE BUTLER HOUSE [formerly Skyehaven] and WOW is the only word to describe the experience from start to finish.
The home is gorgeous...quintessentially English decor with attention to every detail. The room was beautiful...well decorated with a great bed, lovely sheets, fresh flowers, great bath products. Everything that you could possibly need /want. Even prestamped postcards to send home! Who does that? Well Stephen and John, the hosts do!!!

Then there were the breakfasts! different each day [including the table settings with fresh roses]
There were fresh home made muffins early before the main event.

Breakfast itself was a 3 course feast. REALLY !!! 3 course sumptuous breakfast . I could not eat lunch either day !

This is a real find not to be missed!!!!

Mary G Toronto

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-notl, Owner at The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you and Bill to stay, and we hope to see you both again very soon at The Butler House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stéphane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly SkyeHaven B&B)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £166 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway, visit The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast. Welcome to THE BUTLER HOUSE HISTORIC BED & BREAKFAST! English Country charm in the heart of Historic Old Town. This charming historic (circa 1787) Niagara-On-The-Lake bed and breakfast has been newly renovated and redecorated to offer our guests a relaxing, romantic, comfortable and memorable visit to "the prettiest town in Canada." We are a short stroll to the Shaw Festival Theatres and the quaint downtown shops, and offer quick access to the hiking trails, bicycle trails, and wineries. A lovely 3 course breakfast is served at 9 each day, with fresh home-baked goods, coffee and tea available from 7:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing