We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great comfortable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel. it was very very nice.. at first when we arrived i thought the outside looked dated and average. but the interior is very nice and modern., from transparent bathroom stall doors that turn opaque to the little tv in the bathroom mirror it really is a pleasant hotel. Staff were great.. food at Zee's was amazing (try the Lobster Poutine!), we had a single King Size bed with a nice Panasonic Plasma TV. power shade on the windows. real glass cups. a nice "rainfall" shower head.. great area.. wonderful shops, biking trails. are awesome..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamfilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    178
    32
    14
    16
See reviews for
59
652
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Arbour, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

The best thing about the Shaw is the staff! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. And,It is in a great location right across the street from the Shaw Festival Hall and a couple blocks from the other two Shaw Festival theaters.

My room was comfortable, but small and awkwardly designed. There is a coffee maker in the room and the Toronto newsparper is delivered to the door by 6 AM. The bed was a little too hard for me even though it had a Pillow Top mattress.

A nice lounge off the lobby had coffee/tea and free internet.

But, there were a few irritating things.

This one is trivial, but none the least it bothered me... Every morning the housekeeper left the following note on my bed,"We have turned your bed down early should you have the opportunity for a relaxing nap....." I don't really care if I have a turn down service, but if you aren't going to offer it, then fine, but don't pretend that you do.

The buffet continental breakfast included in the room price was another thing. There is no buffet, the wait staff will bring you yogurt with fruit and granola, a cinnamon bun and toast instead. If you don't want it you can order something off the four item menu for $7.50. That menu never varied for my entire stay.

I had one lunch and dinner in the restaurant and then went elsewhere. My poached calamari/shrimp salad was not good at all. The panfried lake perch was acceptable, but not great.

All and all, this hotel has great potential, but for the price just doesn't do it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryGo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We loved our stay at the Shaw Club Hotel. Our room was very clean and modern, although a bit on the small side (or should I say cozy?). There was a pretty big HDTV in our room, free DVD rentals, as well as a TV embedded within the bathroom mirror. Very cool!

The staff was extremely friendly and we had a delicious dinner at the adjoining restaurant (Zee's Grill), where we had their deliciously infamous lobster poutine!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quicklunarcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

The hotel was spectacular. My mum and I went to Niagara-on-the-Lake for a one night get-away and this was the perfect place. The hotel is located right across the street from the Shaw Festival theatre, there is a great restaurant on location, and is within walking distance to the quaint 'old' town. We were in a conversion room, the King was separated into two twins, the bedding and mattress were spectacular. The little touches also made the room that much better: personalized stationary, a complimentary welcome brownie, and a welcome card from the hotel management! The room also boasted a dvd player (with a good selection of dvds to choose from in the hotel common area), a mini bar fridge, a rain shower head and regular shower head, a mini tv in the bathroom mirror, and a chaise lounge chair near the window. Our room was on the ground floor facing the shaw theatre and we had a small patio leading off of the room with two chairs. Parking was complimentary and the hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, though it's not the most economical, it's great for a weekend splurge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anget09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We loved our weekend getaway to the Shaw Club Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the lobster poutine and salads at the restaurant, the massages and our beautiful room. It was very relaxing and the hospitality which included brownies in our room) was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon after spending the day driving from Portland Maine. We were tired and half-tempted to just drive the last hour home, but we were so glad we stayed. The room was far beyond our expectations, the bed was wonderful, the bathroom super luxurious, plus a great location. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizbethminv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed at the Shaw Club Hotel for 2 nights right before the start of tourist season, mid-spring. Needless to say, it rained throughout most of our stay... which means we spent a fair amount of our time near/ in the hotel.

ROOMS: We stayed in a "Classic King" room (the most economical room available on their website). The room has ample storage space for a couple and a small couch for lounging. Decor is modern and comfortable, not trendy. The king-sized feather-top bed provided a restful sleep. The bathroom was immaculately clean and had double shower heads (hand held and rainfall) with room for a couple to share a shower. The room also had a 42 inch plasma TV, cordless phone, CD player and DVD player. I also liked that there is a journal in which you are invited to write your impressions of the hotel.

AMENITIES: The Shaw Club hotel offers some wonderful amenities (which we enjoyed as a result of the rainy weather). In the common lounge area, there is a wide variety of classic and recently released DVDs that can be borrowed and enjoyed in your room. As well, there is a Keurig coffee/ tea maker, board games, newspapers and a computer with Internet and a printer. There is a gym in the basement; the room is large but there are only a couple of cardio machines and weights (nothing too fancy). The hotel is conveniently located next to the Shaw Theatre without being immediately located in the heart of the tourist strip (Queen Street).

ZEE's RESTAURANT: There seem to be mixed reviews about the on-site restaurant, Zee's. We felt that the continental breakfast (yogurt with fresh seasonal fruit and granola, brie cheese, croissant/ cinnamon bun and house-made fruit compote) exceeded the typical breakfast you would have at any other hotel. Although their menu isn't extensive, we felt that the selections were well-made, tasty and reflected a true appreciation of Canadian/ regional ingredients. Our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable and very helpful with our wine selection (best Pinot noir in the region!) A must-try was the lobster "poutine" - truly amazing!

CONCIERGE & SERVICE: Upon arrival, we were welcomed and approached re: any questions about the region and our stay/ plans. We were given passes/ free tastings to the Peller Estates and Reif wineries which was a pleasant surprise (ASIDE: In the end, we only paid for tastings at the Stratus winery- everywhere else we visited gave us complimentary tastings!). Greg also showed us on a map his personal favorites (wineries) and where to eat. When we went out to dinner at the Old Winery Restaurant, the hotel offered to shuttle us there and back. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: The Shaw Club Hotel isn't your typical chain/ mass production hotel. It offers friendly, helpful service and inviting comfortable rooms in Niagara on the Lake. We would stay here again to relax and enjoy Ontario's wine country.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kricket_and_Puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Property: Shaw Club Hotel
Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing