We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some positives, marred by several disappointments”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some positives, marred by several disappointments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in April as part of a romantic escape package. We paid an extra fee for an upgrade to a Deluxe room as the Classic rooms (included in our package) were fully booked. I had read excellent reviews about this hotel, and was looking forward to a spending a special weekend there. Although certain aspects of the hotel were excellent, our overall experience was marred by some negative issues.

Pros to the hotel:
-excellent location in Niagara On the Lake - close to wineries, Shaw club, shops, etc.
-overall lay out of the room was nice, if not a bit small considering we had paid for an upgrade.
-personal touches were appreciated, including personalized stationery (although they mispelled our name).
-very comfortable bed
-we had lunch at Zee's - food and service were both excellent. The restaurant had a heated patio that overlooked the Shaw club which was a nice touch.

Cons to the hotel:
-Unfortunately we had a room very close to the reception, and soundproofing does not exist. At 6am, we were woken up by the sound of high heels - we guess it was the reception staff, as well as their conversations and the phone ringing. This disturbance continued until we got up - very frustrated. Needless to say, it ruined what was intended to be a relaxing morning of sleeping in.

-We had dinner reservations at a restaurant in St. Catharines, and called more than an hour ahead at reception for a cab to be ordered. We were told then by the staff at reception that it would be no problem. When we arrived at the agreed meeting time for our cab, it was not there. We waited over 20 minutes, to be told by (a different) receptionist that a cab may not have been called in the first place. Thus our reservations were much delayed... an unfortunate nuisance.

Conclusion - Overall nice hotel in a location with good onset restaurant and service. Reception staff is a hit-or-miss. If you want a good night's sleep without being woken up at 6am, request a room far from the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenaMZam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    179
    32
    14
    16
See reviews for
59
656
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was a second stay (3 nights) and we were just as impressed as we were on our first visit. Although our room wasn't large it had all the amenities with special little touches - like the customized note paper, the invitation to take a nap on the turned down bed, the glass wine glasses. Our friends' room had a fireplace. The bathroom is gorgeous - I loved the rain head shower and the tv in the mirror in the bathroom. Zee's has an interesting and tasty menu and it is so enjoyable to sit on the porch. My eggs benedict at breakfast was the best I have ever had. But what really stands out are the staff. They are exceptional and make you feel so welcome. I can't wait to go back. The spa staff are wonderful as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geegeeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
342 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had a Travelzoo package to stay overnight at the Shaw Club, so the price was excellent. The package included a $50.00 food voucher for dinner, a complimentary continental breakfast, 2 x $25.00 spa certificates, and 2 wine tastings with Peller winery. The room is small, but very clean with a wonderfully comfortable king bed and a great bathroom including a 8" tv built into the mirror. The room has lots of little amenities, well thought out. The food at Zess restaurant onsite was excellent. The risotto was heavenly. There is also a guest lounge with a tasimo hot beverage maker. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Very nice stay. Staff is great. The rooms are well appointed...they were small but had everything we could need with little touches like the brownie in the room and the cute amenities. We had a patio which I likely wouldn't pay extra for again, as it was very small. Have stayed at other hotels in the area and been somewhat disappointed.... By far this hotel met my expectations. The best thing is that is , while it is a higher end hotel, there is no pretentiousness here. Loved it!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cashmra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a one night stay at the Shaw Club. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The main hotel had a nice little lounge area to have a coffee, read the paper and a laptop. The hotel had internet which was included in the price. The room itself was clean and quiet. I must say the furniture was from Ikea which isn't what one would expect in this type of hotel. In general the room was outdated (greenish dated spa tub and because it was in the building in the back it lacked the same atmosphere in the main building. We had a comfortable night and a very nice continental breakfast. I would recommend it if you get a good price.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main building especially if you have trouble with stairs as there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninihix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We choose the Shaw Club Hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor, and we are glad we did. When we checked in we got a quick tour of the property including the lovely sitting area off the lobby. The hotel room was great with a small patio facing the Festival theater. The bathroom had a large shower and a terrific jetted soaking tub with corner television. We loved having the continental breakfast out on the porch each morning. We also had dinner at Zees and the food was terrific. Our last day we spent the morning at the spa and we would recommend that as well. The staff was friendly and attentive at the hotel, restaurant and the spa. GREAT stay, we can hardly wait to go back.

Room Tip: You night want to ask for a room facing the festival theater, other side had rooms that appeared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is the place to stay if you want a perfect romantic getaway at Niagara-On-The-Lake. Somehow I got a "King Annex" room for only $115 US per night! The room was top notch quality, huge, and even had a big spa jacuzzi in the living room area. Decent sized flat screen in the room and there was even a beta fish in the room waiting for us when we arrived (although not to keep). The employees of the hotel couldn't be nicer and the free breakfast was unreal. Definitely coming back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms at the hotel are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGoCubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Property: Shaw Club Hotel
Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing