We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great room, great service”
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We've been staying in NOTL for many years, usually at a favourite B&B. We were hesitant to try something new, but the Shaw is now a new favourite place! Thanks very much for a wonderful stay.

This place really hit all the right notes. We had booked fairly last minute for one night, unfortunately all we could handle schedule-wise. I had booked a standard room, but when we arrived, we were given #208, which is a "King with Balcony", and a truly lovely room. There's a large and separate living room/bar area with walkout to balcony. The living room has a lovely couch, large screen TV and lounging chair. The bedroom has the stunning ensuite bathroom with very luxurious tub and shower (and TV). There's a large TV in the bedroom as well. Both TVs have DVD players and there's a large DVD library in the lobby lounge. The lobby lounge also has a Keurig coffee machine for guests to brew their own single cups, and copies of the National Post. To summarize, the rooms are high end, beautifully furnished and very clean.

The location is perfect for NOTL - on the southern end of the main strip on Queen Street, across from the Festival theatre, walking distance to everything. Free parking is available. The hotel restaurant, Zees Grill, is really great for all meals. The breakfast in particular, was a nice surprise. We had the mushroom and truffle omelet, and yogurt with fruit and granola. Both were exceptionally delicious and service was excellent.

We felt welcomed at all times by all staff. They knew who we were, knew we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and were helpful in every way. At one point, I had to call the front desk to get some assistance with the A/C. The lady from the front desk was up in the room literally within 60 seconds to help us sort it out - I had to scramble to get decent!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room facing the street (south) with a balcony (#208) and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scruff2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

I’m glad you enjoyed our king suite, it is my absolute favorite out of all the rooms here at Shaw Club. I’m thrilled to hear all of the amenities we have to offer truly made your stay. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team and I look forward to saying hello during your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Shaw Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

For years, our family has stayed at the Shaw Club during our annual visit to the Shaw festival. Our recent three-night stay didn't disappoint. In fact, it surprised, due to some delightful new staff members.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by charming new concierge Cooper Smith, who offered a chilled glass of Jackson Triggs sparkling wine during check-in (a welcome new amenity) Cooper is a highly skilled concierge with a wealth of information about the local area: restaurants, wineries, the best farm produce and meats, and so much more. Actually, he was so knowledgeable that our family made it a kind of game to come up with a question/request he could not answer. We did not succeed, though it was merry trying!

Another fine new addition to the staff is Guest Services manager Lisa McDonald. We didn't get to interact as much with her, but we were very impressed with the speed and efficiency with which she resolved a bill discrepancy at check-out. Her customer service skills are very impressive.

One exception to the "everything was better" impression we got this year was with the breakfast. it was very HOT during our stay, but nevertheless no one was allowed to breakfast in the air-conditioned interior; service was only on the hot, humid outdoor porch. As breakfast ends at 10 and lunch does not begin until 11, management should be able to accommodate guests who seek the comfort of breakfasting inside during such weather.

Other than this, however, our stay was superb. With its perfect location right opposite the Festival theater and its first-rate staff, we consider the Shaw Club the best hotel in the area--and we will certainly return next year for a new round of plays and festivities!

Room Tip: Unrenovated rooms offer a great value. Other than missing the great "hubcap" showers and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woolfcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you, I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team, and I will absolutely speak with our food and beverage manager to ensure your breakfast experience isn’t duplicated. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay immensely at the Shaw Club Hotel and Spa. The staff was very friendly, helpful and always had a smile. We had dinner on the veranda at Zees Grill. The food was spectacular – best lamb I ever had. Ate breakfast at the grill – great food, but a little pricey. Beautiful location, easy access and right across from the Shaw Festival Theatre .

Our room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom with separate tub was perfect for a romantic getaway.

We recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise_and_Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Chef Jason Dobbie has created such an amazing menu, I couldn’t agree more! I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, our air jet tubs are certainly a favourite amongst our guests. I look forward to your next visit with us!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were treated to a stay here from family as a wedding gift, so a little over a year later in November 2012 we planned our mid-week get-away.

We stayed in the King Suite with balcony, and it felt like a home away from home. I immediately noticed the brownies left in the room being a chocolate lovin' gal :)

The accomodations are fantastic if you're looking for a couples getaway - we enjoyed a soak in the jacuzzi, a glass of wine (or 2) infront of the fireplace, and a lovely stroll down the main street, just outside our door.

If you get a chance - check out the Spa as well - we had a 1 hour couples massage that was out of this world.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, I truly appreciate it! Carol, our spa manager has done such an amazing job offering a heavenly retreat right next door to us. And you just can’t go wrong with brownies! I look forward to saying hello during your next visit to beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Second stay while going to the theater and once again in room 202. Room is modern but small and doesn't have much practical storage space. Bathroom is small but with big shower stall. Faces the street, so there is early morning noise (trucks and lawn mowing). Location is the best feature of the hotel, with the main theater across the street and only a 10 minute walk to the Royal George.

Have tried a couple of other places in town and prefer this one. Rate included breakfast in 2012, but not 2013.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travl1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

From the moment we walked in this place provided pure pleasure. After a long day of biking through wine country, what better way to be greeted than with a big smile and a glass of refreshing sparkling wine. It was my sister's birthday and once they discovered this they were at the room door with a cake! Too tired to meet our reservations for dinner, no problem, they rescheduled. Need water for biking, they have that too. The beds and sheets were wonderful, the price great and there was nothing we could want for especially good manners and great attitudes which were ever present.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We had the older rooms, which were more economical, but certainly didn't seem old in any way. T...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tranquilitytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, we are truly here to serve you! There’s nothing like a glass of sparkling to start your mini vacation. I truly appreciate the room tip you left as well, our annex rooms are more economical and gorgeous with the new renovations!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The customer relations team was perfect. They asked about our special occasion and helped with every detail. Andrea and Cooper were especially helpful with reservations, show tickets and winery recommendations. Don't miss dinner at Zee's. The rooms are small but very well appointed. You won't miss the wasted space. Great location and the hotel shuttle was a big help to get us back and forth to some wineries for dinner. We parked the rental car and never moved it in 4 days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words, I will pass them on to the rest of the team! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I couldn’t agree with you more, Zee’s is a must! With fine dining food and a casual atmosphere you truly can’t go wrong. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £118 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing