We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new 'go to' for a weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our new 'go to' for a weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I love biking and great food. We had considered NOTL a few times, however we also enjoy a more modern, contemporary feel to our accomodations. NOTL is known for their bed and breakfasts, Victorian hotels etc. Shaw Club Hotel and Spa is chic and modern. We LOVED our recent stay. Upon arrival, you will be shocked with the friendliness of the staff. I have never stayed in a hotel where I was treated so well. You know immediately that the staff love their jobs and work very hard to make you feel welcome. You receive individualized service starting with a tour of your room to ensure you know how everything works (down to the electronic window shades).
We brought our road bikes which were readily accommodated in a locked room for us. The hotel rooms are lovely! We stayed in a king/patio room but I was able to view the king/couch room (which is more spacious) as well as their fabulous two room suite (king bedroom and separate living room with pull out couch). The suite is sensational and totally worth the splurge for a special occasion. There is a welcoming seating area in the lobby with fireplace, newspapers, complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate and a large selection of DVDs.
We dined at Zees on site and it was fantastic! It was a busy evening and our order got held up (computer glitch). Our waiter promptly admitted to the problem and brought us complimentary wine and appetizers. The next evening we ate at Treadwells (a quick walk along the main street). Also, loved this restaurant. It was a cool evening so we sat outside under heaters, with two cozy blankets.
All in all, a perfect, quick get away. ……fun accomodations, with awesome biking, great wine tours and fun theatre (we saw Guys and Dolls). What more could you want….a couples side by side massage…….lovely at their nearby spa

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderfully detailed review, I truly appreciate it! We are very lucky to have a such a great concierge team ready and willing to assist our guests in any way. Zee’s is always a must when visiting beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake, the cuisine is sensational! The pictures you have posted look phenomenal as well! I’m thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    179
    32
    14
    16
See reviews for
59
656
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel, BEAUTIFUL location. My boyfriend and I stayed here in early September. There was so much detail to everything. We accidentally arrived 3 hours early, but the concierge allowed us to check in earlier instead of making us wait around. When we entered our room they had a 'Welcome' card with both our names on it and a chocolate brownie. We also had complimentary breakfast, again with our names on the invitation. Very clean, very comfortable beds, great bathroom, glass shower and extremely convenient location to all the shops and restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel was amazing too, called Zee's. Food was delicious, great menu and cooked just right. But the best part of this hotel was COOPER SMITH! He was the front-desk concierge and he was so funny, very welcoming, extremely informed and had great knowledge of everything around the area. He knew so much in such great detail, he helped us with every question we had. He knew so much about the winery's and the restaurants. He even helped us get free wine sampling at one of the vineyards. Overall great experience. See Cooper, I pinky swore and even LOCKED IT! I hope you see this and remember us. Definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such an amazing review, we truly appreciate it! Cooper has been a wonderful addition to our team this year. We feel very lucky to have such a terrific team of people who enjoy the hospitality business and truly care about the experiences of our guests here at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa. I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the King Annex Room with whirlpool and thoroughly enjoyed it. Upon arrival we were greeted by Cooper, the concierge, who was extremely friendly and helpful, and who offered us a glass of champagne (nice touch and very welcome after nearly 3-hour drive from downtown Toronto!). Our room was very comfortable and clean (this coming from someone who is extremely picky!). There was also a beautiful card and bottle of wine in our room, courtesy of Shaw (it was our 20th wedding anniversary). Again, this was really a nice touch and what, in my opinion, makes the Shaw hotel stand out. All staff were friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. We will definitely be back! Thanks for an amazing night!

Room Tip: King Annex with whirlpool and fireplace was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to pass them on to the rest of the team, especially Cooper! Thank you for choosing Shaw Club Hotel & Spa to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary! I’m happy to hear we exceeded your expectations in every way. I look forward to the opportunity to say hello during your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Welcoming staff. Great location at end of main street. Easy walking access to Shaw Festival theaters. Bar and very good restaurant on site.Parking is included and available at rear of building. Highly recommend. We would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FUNINSUN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we truly appreciate it! Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club Hotel and Spa soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Although there are many great places to stay while visiting NOTL we were glad we chose Shaw Club for our 20th anniversary celebration. The hotel has a boutique feel and a hip vibe. Our room was small but very nicely appointed. Everything was updated and modern. The Shaw Club has a very convenient location and a top notch restaurant. The most important feature was the amazing staff. Be sure to ask to speak to the Concierge Cooper Smith. He is enthusiastic about what he does and knows the area well. His recommendations were perfect! Lisa who checked us in on arrival, ordered us tickets to a show and had them delivered to our room. She also printed our boarding passes so we would not be late for dinner on our last night! They were in our room when we returned that evening. They also have a complementary shuttle service that runs until 11PM. Our dinner at Peller Estates ran late until 11:30 but the driver waited for us anyway. We were prepared to call a cab! Service like this is not common today but at the Shaw they know how to make guests feel special. It was hard to leave the Shaw Club. This place hits all the high marks for selective travelers. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your 20th anniversary celebration! It was a pleasure meeting both of you during your stay with us, I am always happy to assist in any way possible! I’m thrilled we exceeded your expectations. I look forward to celebrating many more anniversaries in the future here at Shaw Club!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our room was very nice. Great location. Bed was a bit uncomfortable (sore back at the end of the weekend). Fireplace was a great feature. Extremely helpful staff. Zee's Grill (hotel restaurant) was fantastic. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Thanksgiving weekend. The room was cozy, well appointed, and loved the balcony. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. We dined at Zee's both mornings for breakfast, which was delicious. We will definitely be back again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Review R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us, we truly appreciate it! I’m thrilled we exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Property: Shaw Club Hotel
Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing