We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the Annex room (King, Jacuzzi) were great”
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Even the Annex room (King, Jacuzzi) were great”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We weren't sure about staying in the Annex for the price savings but with the limited availability decided to try it. It was well worth it! The Jacuzzi was a nice touch and the fire place (note that even with the fireplace off the room was RIDICULOUSLY hot to the point where the window had to be open all night).

Staff were excellent, very willing to accommodate any request.
Ate at the restaurant and the food was very very good!

FYI you have to go up stairs to the annex room (and the hallways/stairwell looks pretty ghetto but don't let that worry you - the room/bathroom is completely renovated). You have to cross outside to the main building to get ice, just an FYI.
We were facing the parking lot and it wasn't too loud or anything.

For those that don't know the area the location is perfect as it's right on the main strip yet one hotel down from the main/busy intersection so there is less traffic. (not really a problem in NOTL anyway).

Would recommend and stay again!

One downside: the shuttle service was non existant until 4 PM so you couldn't take it during the day to any of the wineries (and the wineries close around 6PM so the shuttle is more used to go to dinner). Seems like they could open the shuttles earlier to facilitate guests to the wineries (Queens landing/prince of wales has a free shuttle service all day for the nearby wineries). Cabs are expensive and in the colder months biking/scootering are not really options so the shuttle would be a nice touch.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_l0ve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    184
    32
    14
    16
See reviews for
61
661
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I spent two days, including New Year’s Eve there. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful; the room, including the fireplace and whirlpool tub made it almost resort like; and it is a short walk to the quaint town center. Although the room we were in and the hotel’s spa are separated from the main building, it did not cause much difficulty, except when it snowed heavily one night. But the experience was well worth this minor inconvenience.

They arranged everything for us and it all went off without a hitch despite our last minute arranging of the trip - a wine tour, two spa treatments for my wife and a fabulous wine-paired dinner to bring in the New Year. While my wife was in the spa I sat and read in the waiting lounge in front of the gas fireplace drinking the complimentary coffee. A very relaxing environment.

As others have, I cannot say enough about Cooper, always helpful, always friendly and smiling. We will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your New Years Eve Getaway with us! I’m thrilled we were able to make all the arrangements you required for your visit to beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Cooper, He has been a wonderful addition to the Shaw Club team this year. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!



Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed two nights, just before Christmas, for a peaceful break and could not have chosen a more perfect place. Room was modern, cosy and very comfortable. Great shower and whirlpool bathroom too.
All the little thoughtful touches, and friendly staff really made our stay exceptional. Very grateful Cooper offered the shuttle service to us for our evening meals around Niagara-on-the-lake. considering the hotel is within walking of everything, it was very cold. Afterwards we enjoyed sitting in the lounge by the fire and the fitness facilities, will indeed visit again to take advantage of the restaurant and spa. The online discount also made it a good deal!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaSe_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I truly appreciate it! Cooper’s service is absolutely second to none and I’m glad you experienced this first hand. I’m thrilled you enjoyed most of the amenities we have to offer, you’ll have to return soon to try Zee’s Grill and Shaw Spa! I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club soon!



Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
655 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Wonderfully located in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. They have a couple of rooms where you can bring your dogs and they are welcomed, not just tolerated. (Dog beds, treats for both of our poodle puppies.) The staff is warm and friendly, the public rooms (lounge with fireplace, comfy chairs) are welcoming while not overwhelmingly large, and parking is convenient. WiFi is fast and free. The pet-friendly rooms are not very large, but the public areas offer plenty of space to stretch out. Great beds. Excellent breakfast at their restaurant, and also at their sister hotel, Harbour House. A return visitor, this year we had an ice storm and power outage in town, but the hotel handled it very well.

Room Tip: Ask for a pet room if you bring dogs -- #114 has a patio door to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We look forward to welcoming our furry guests as well as our human ones! I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay once again, thank you so much for making Shaw Club your preference when visiting beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. I look forward to saying hello during your next visit!\



Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We would highly recommend Shaw Club Hotel. The room was very tastefully decorated and cozy. Cooper Smith the concierge welcomed us warmly and could not have been more accommodating. He upgraded us to a larger suite with fireplace on what was a cold, snowy day. Dinner at Zee's was delicious. We loved the salmon entrée and the vegetarian offering was a taste sensation. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with fireplace. It's electric but still sets the mood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 416Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! I’m thrilled to hear you received such a warm welcome from Cooper and that he was able to offer you an upgrade with a fireplace. As you said, it just doesn’t get much better than relaxing by the fireplace on a snowy day. Chef Jason Dobbie has created an outstanding menu with many options, especially vegetarian. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and I look forward to saying hello during your next visit to beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake.



Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in December . This was to celebrate a wedding anniversary.Lovely setting. Friendly,professional staff. Food at Zees was terrific. We had both dinner and breakfast there.
Our room was comfortable , very clean and well stocked.Would highly recommend as a get- away. Look forward to returning and raking advantage of spa.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PRRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Shaw Club to celebrate your anniversary! I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the wonderful food at Zee’s as well as your accommodations. Shaw Spa is an absolute must when visiting us, their grape and wine pedicure is outstanding! I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club soon!



Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Shaw has all the right things. Vacationing to Niagara on the Lake with my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we chose The Shaw. Right price, in the heart of town and a lot of nice amenities: fireplaces, spa, restaurant. We arrived (unfortunately) after a 3 day delay (no fees!) and were warmly greeted. Our spacious and tidy room was waiting for us, all warmed up with chocolates. After some initial confusion ( we had requested a fireplace) we switched rooms with ease and got a discount to boot.

The staff was incredibly responsive and excellent. Our needs were met quickly and professionally. I can't thank the staff enough - very thoughtful. Note: we were one of about 4 couples in the entire hotel. Traveling in November definitely has its rewards.

The restaurant is actually incredible and we ate there 2X in 3 days. Great service and amazing food.

Room Tip: Forget about the balcony view. Not much - unless it is summer and you face the Shaw Festival. Then i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team. I’m thrilled you enjoyed all the amenities Shaw Club has to offer. Chef Jason Dobbie has created a wonderful menu and I’ll be sure to let him know you enjoyed it twice during your stay!



Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Property: Shaw Club Hotel
Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing