We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Last minute getaway”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed at John's Gate Gourmet Bed & Breakfast Saturday 11/30/13. Very Clean, spacious, extremely helpful with wine tasting & restaurant info & coupons. The name gourmet was very appropriate when it came to the 3-coarse amazing breakfast. Will stay there again, hope to enjoy a bottle of wine & some cheese wasting away some time on the wonderful covered wrap around porch.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank butch t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
We were happy to host you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for selecting our B&B to stay in.

We look forward to your future visit and share our wrap-around porch with us.

Many thanks.

Meheroo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    25
    9
    10
    12
See reviews for
29
223
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and it will most certainly not be our last. The hostess has thought of everything. Our room was very comfortable and spotless. Breakfast each morning was a gourmet treat. We enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace each evening before turning in. The hostess was kind enough to book a wine tour for us as well. We were very impressed by the details. We highly recommend staying at John's Gate. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sperd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Hello: It is our pleasure to have had the opportunity to host you and give you a memorable 'mini holiday". Thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

Look forward to being able to host you again sometime. Have a terrific 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the John's Gate Bed and Breakfast and I can say it was very enjoyable.
This would be my repeat stay at this home and I can say this Bed and Breakfast still exceed my expectations.
The breakfast was on time and very tasty as well as the endless supply of coffee . This was in celebration of my 70th birthday and I wanted peace and quiet . I will recommend this place at any time. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was good and the conversation at breakfast time was enjoyable. I will return to this Bed and Breakfast anytime and I will highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for four nights. No restrictions able to come and go as we pleased. Slept in Queen Elizabeth 2, spotlessly clean, very comforable, fully serviced every day, bathroom equipped with all necessary toiletries. Our hostess was most welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The breakfasts have to be experienced to fully appreciated.
High quality hotel standards at Bed & Breakfast prices. Thank you Meheroo.
Good memories to take back to England, Nick & Ann

Room Tip: We were very happy with Queen Elizabeth 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was welcomed on arrival and this feeling lasted my whole stay. Everything mentioned on the website as being 'free' - was truly free and offered without my having to ask for it. The bed was really comfortable and the breakfasts - exceptional - really gourmet. Coffee was always available and ready when I came down in the morning. Coffee was available anytime of the day.

This was not my first visit and will not be my last. I must book soon for 2014 to make sure I get a room.

The comfortable living room was available for my friends to visit me while I was in Niagara. The hostess made them feel welcome also.

Thank you Mehru for a nice holiday.

Room Tip: I found the bar-fridge in the rooms very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gifty940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I have been to St.John's Gate three or four times. It is a wonderful place; neat and clean, charming and beautifully decorated. The hostess is lovely, helpful and a great cook. I would highly recommend this place. It is close to the town and restaurants. We would go back to St. John's Gate in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are three rooms. I believe each room would accomadate two people but there is one room that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at John's Gate B and B this past weekend with great friends while enjoying Taste of the Season in Niagara on the Lake. Meheroo, our host, was very welcoming, informative and attentive throughout our stay. We enjoyed relaxing in the spacious living room before going out for dinner. There was plenty of room in the living room for all of us as well as a fireplace and TV, which is not always the case in B and Bs. Our Queen sized room was neat, clean and equipped with a small bar fridge, TV, extra blankets, bed linens that were ironed with care, and chocolates on our bedside tables. The adjacent 3 piece bathroom was also very clean and well equipped with shower toiletries and towels. Meheroo inquired about our food preferences upon arrival and created a unique 3 course gourmet menu for breakfast for us the next morning. We started with maple macaroon pears, then proceeded to have creamed eggs with smoked salmon, portobello mushrooms and champagne, and finished with homemade banana bread topped with pecans and whipped cream. Delicious! It is apparent that Meheroo's attention to detail has created a delightful B and B experience for her guests. Great value too. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#73 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Via Veneto
Via Veneto
#32 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Graystone Bed and Breakfast
Graystone Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Property: John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 John Street West | Box 1156, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinner/Theatre Packages, Wine Tours and Seniors' Specials offered monthly. Custom-built pre-Victorian style bed and breakfast, centrally located 1km from Niagara-on-the-Lake's Queen Street shopping, restaurants and Shaw Festival theatres. Next to the world-class Spa at the Pillar and Post Inn. Private entrance, dining room and guest parlour. All the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing