We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Accommodations - lovely host - I am going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

the area, the place was neat and My bf and I stayed for his birthday weekend. The hostest went the extra mile and made my bf a cake as part of our final breakfast and we sang him happy birthday with the other guests. The location was fantastic less than a 10minute drive to the wineries, the host had some taste testing coupons for us and was very knowledgable about the area, the place was neat and clean.... And the breakfast was SOOOOOOOOOOOOO delicious! I am coming back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Thank you for selecting our B&B for your special occasion. It was a fun morning and my pleasure to celebrate your boyfriend's birthday. Look forward to doing it again next year. Have a great year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Rooms are clean and beautiful. We were given a three course breakfast, food was hot and delicious. The host was courteous and offered suggestions on where to eat and what to see.
We are definitely going to stay here next year for the ice wine festival.

Room Tip: any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hello and thank you for selecting our B&B to stay in. Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We look forward to being able to host you next year for the Ice Wine Festival.

Many thanks,

Meheroo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The service was great. The rooms were very clean and beautiful. It was in a great location close to downtown. The food was amazing we would love to go back. The area is right in the middle of wine country and there is alway lots to do and beautiful country to drive through.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephaniefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for selecting John's Gate Gourmet B&B for your mini-vacation in NOTL. Thank you also for your kind comments. We look forward to being able to host you again and show you interesting places of interest.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in another B & B in NOTL in December and this one was a lot better. Rooms are comfortable with flat screen TV and refrigerator. Owner is very hospitable offering dining tips and wine tasting passes. (Note: Pick up passes the morning go your arrival to take full advantage of this offer. Savings can be significant.) Breakfast was special but non traditional. Suggest calling direct for best price and book well in advance for weekends and May-October. We go to NOTL 2-3 times a year and will book here again

Room Tip: Slippers provided! Ask about breakfast menu options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for selecting John's Gate Gourmet B&B for your getaway to NOTL. Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. We look forward to being able to host you again and to build happy memories of our Historic town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful establishment and will defintitely return when the time comes to visit the area again. Extremely clean and a very relaxing enviroment. The hostess was very helpful and made our stay that much more enjoyable. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for selecting John's Gate Gourmet B&B for your stay in historic Niagara on the Lake. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to being able to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have been in the sales and customer service industry for years and am pleased to say that for once an establishment that truly lives up to a 5 start standard!

The inn-keeper was ever charming, insightful, and great at keeping conversation. Very knowledgeable of what to do and where to go in the Niagar on the Lake area.

The breakfasts were truly gorumet! After those delicious 3 courses, I gladly had to wait at least 4 to 5 hours to have lunch. That kind of breakfast is worth the room rate itself.

The rooms were bright and perfectly clean, which I've found to be surprisingly hard to find these days.

I strongly recommend John's Gate to anyone looking for a relaxing and delicious getaway to Niagar on the Lake. Very romantic for any couple to enjoy.

I accidently checked the pool and fitness centre boxes below. There is no pool or fitness centre, but that's not what this place is about. It's about a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for selecting John's Gate B&B for your birthday. It was our pleasure to make the event as enjoyable and as memorable as ever. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was a the best getaway in a long time - very relaxing. I would highly recommend to anyone coming to the Niagara on the Lake for the same. Hostess was fabulous and very gracious. Rooms were clean and breakfast was absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: We had the Queen Suite 1 and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for selecting John's Gate Gourmet B&B for your weekend in Niagara on the Lake. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to be able to offer you greater deals and the best service we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
6.5 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#41 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
115 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,392 reviews
7.8 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 John Street West | Box 1156, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £95 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinner/Theatre Packages, Wine Tours and Seniors' Specials offered monthly. Custom-built pre-Victorian style bed and breakfast, centrally located 1km from Niagara-on-the-Lake's Queen Street shopping, restaurants and Shaw Festival theatres. Next to the world-class Spa at the Pillar and Post Inn. Private entrance, dining room and guest parlour. All the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing