We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dallavalle(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charles Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Moffat Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shaw Club Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
410
26
9
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
410
26
9
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastb bwonderful experiencethree courseswonderful cookgave us couponsdietary restrictionsmemorable stayspent nightsbeautiful houseniagara areaniagara fallshostesswineriesconversationnotljohn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One of the best B&B places we ever stayed and we traveled B&B a lot across North America. A lovely atmosphere, friendly hosts, gorgeous patio, superb location, you are treated royalty in every aspect.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, spacious, comfortable, sunny and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dusanka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

John's Gate was the perfect spot for my husband and I to spend our 2yr Anniversary! The location was absolutely perfect. It was just far away from downtown to still be peaceful without all the hustle and bustle. We could walk to resturants, winery's, shoppes and so much more. Are hostess Meheroo made us aware of all attractions etc. in area and offered to make reservations once we planned what we wanted to do. She also kept are rooms clean with a piece of Lindt Chocolate every day! It is special touches like a piece of chocolate that separate you from the rest! :-)The breakfast was absolutely amazing in presentation as well as taste! I can't say enough about John's Gate B&B and Niagra-on-the-Lake! Thank You Meheroo for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the first opportunity my daughter and I have had for a mother daughter weekend in almost 18 years and we couldn't have selected a better location. Over the years I've stayed at other B&Bs in Niagara-on-the-Lake and none of them compared to John's Gate. The inn was absolutely lovely; impeccably clean with everything in-place - yet still provided the perfect ambiance. Close enough to all of the sights that we spent minimal time in the car - always a plus. We were greeted with a smiling face from Meheroo as she served up a gourmet breakfast every morning, and a delicious cup of coffee every night. Conversation - almost a lost art in this country - was plentiful and enlightening as we met new friends. The last night of our stay, Meheroo arranged dinner for us at a local restaurant and it was sublime! The perfect ending to a perfect stay. We can't wait to return to John's Gate - I highly recommend you do the same!
Vicki and Donna - Texas

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickifromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your encouraging words and kind comments. It was my pleasure to host you. Thank you also, for the beautiful photographs you took of our town, the property and Niagara Falls. They are very professional and original.

I look forward to being able to host you and Donna again. Many thanks for the photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and the bar has been set pretty high.
From the moment we made the reservation, Meheroo made it her goal to ensure that we had a great time during our visit. We went with her suggestions on where to eat the entire time we were there.
The breakfast was totally unexpected. The food was amazing, simply amazing...from the presentation to the taste. The first day there our breakfast extended over a couple of hours as we just sat and chatted with Meheroo and the other guests. It was just a great experience.
We stayed in the King room, lots of space and privacy. Our stay has already started us thinking on the next time we will be down.
Thank you Meheroo. We look forward to our next visit.

Sandra and David

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DVD1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Yes, we try to give every guest the best we have to offer and yes, it is a goal to see everyone leave with happy memories.

To see people who have never met before, at the breakfast table two hours later talking and laughing, is a very satisfying moment for a hostess. Thank you for being a part of this moment.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Terrific location, beautiful property and very quiet. The gourmet breakfast was outstanding and just for that reason alone we will make point of staying here again. The host was very engaging and extremely informative. Lots of parking and a very attractive wrap around porch to sit outside and just relax. A true home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JP W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews