We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at John’s B and B for one night in May and had a very pleasant experience. When we arrived, Meheroo made sure we were comfortable for our stay, made sure we had dinner reservations and gave us many tips on what to see in NOTL. Our room was extremely clean and inviting; we definitely felt welcomed at John’s B and B. The breakfast was to die for, it was delicious. Great place, we will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZainabR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my first time in a B&B and I will definitely come back. The decor was charming. The room was cozy, comfortable and very clean. It's only a short walk to the quaint downtown along a quiet tree-lined street. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 686DarleneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast. Our hostess was charming, our room very comfortable and the breakfast was the best we have enjoyed at a bed and breakfast. It included a divine fruit salad served exquisitely, as well as an egg-smoked salmon dish, artistically presented with roasted vegetables...delicious. It was so lovely we wanted to photograph it. The last offering was a warm homemade banana walnut bread. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One of the best B&B places we ever stayed and we traveled B&B a lot across North America. A lovely atmosphere, friendly hosts, gorgeous patio, superb location, you are treated royalty in every aspect.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, spacious, comfortable, sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dusanka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

John's Gate was the perfect spot for my husband and I to spend our 2yr Anniversary! The location was absolutely perfect. It was just far away from downtown to still be peaceful without all the hustle and bustle. We could walk to resturants, winery's, shoppes and so much more. Are hostess Meheroo made us aware of all attractions etc. in area and offered to make reservations once we planned what we wanted to do. She also kept are rooms clean with a piece of Lindt Chocolate every day! It is special touches like a piece of chocolate that separate you from the rest! :-)The breakfast was absolutely amazing in presentation as well as taste! I can't say enough about John's Gate B&B and Niagra-on-the-Lake! Thank You Meheroo for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the first opportunity my daughter and I have had for a mother daughter weekend in almost 18 years and we couldn't have selected a better location. Over the years I've stayed at other B&Bs in Niagara-on-the-Lake and none of them compared to John's Gate. The inn was absolutely lovely; impeccably clean with everything in-place - yet still provided the perfect ambiance. Close enough to all of the sights that we spent minimal time in the car - always a plus. We were greeted with a smiling face from Meheroo as she served up a gourmet breakfast every morning, and a delicious cup of coffee every night. Conversation - almost a lost art in this country - was plentiful and enlightening as we met new friends. The last night of our stay, Meheroo arranged dinner for us at a local restaurant and it was sublime! The perfect ending to a perfect stay. We can't wait to return to John's Gate - I highly recommend you do the same!
Vicki and Donna - Texas

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickifromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your encouraging words and kind comments. It was my pleasure to host you. Thank you also, for the beautiful photographs you took of our town, the property and Niagara Falls. They are very professional and original.

I look forward to being able to host you and Donna again. Many thanks for the photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and the bar has been set pretty high.
From the moment we made the reservation, Meheroo made it her goal to ensure that we had a great time during our visit. We went with her suggestions on where to eat the entire time we were there.
The breakfast was totally unexpected. The food was amazing, simply amazing...from the presentation to the taste. The first day there our breakfast extended over a couple of hours as we just sat and chatted with Meheroo and the other guests. It was just a great experience.
We stayed in the King room, lots of space and privacy. Our stay has already started us thinking on the next time we will be down.
Thank you Meheroo. We look forward to our next visit.

Sandra and David

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DVD1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Yes, we try to give every guest the best we have to offer and yes, it is a goal to see everyone leave with happy memories.

To see people who have never met before, at the breakfast table two hours later talking and laughing, is a very satisfying moment for a hostess. Thank you for being a part of this moment.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.8 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,254 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,151 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 John Street West | Box 1156, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £90 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinner/Theatre Packages, Wine Tours and Seniors' Specials offered monthly. Custom-built pre-Victorian style bed and breakfast, centrally located 1km from Niagara-on-the-Lake's Queen Street shopping, restaurants and Shaw Festival theatres. Next to the world-class Spa at the Pillar and Post Inn. Private entrance, dining room and guest parlour. All the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing