We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

John's Gate B & B was our first experience with Niagara on the Lake and it was wonderful. Our room was very comfortable and impeccably clean. The Inn was charming and the hostess went above and beyond to be sure we had a great trip. Her gourmet breakfasts were worthy of a 5 star restaurant! Next time we come to wine country we will definitely be staying here again, highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    26
    9
    10
    12
See reviews for
29
219
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deux-Montagnes, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our 2-night stay at John's Gate B&B was a delightful experience! Meheroo was the perfect hostess: so caring, considerate, and comical! She tried to accomodate us in every way possible, from wine tours to restaurant suggestions, to special attention to food sensitivities. Meheroo's gourmet breakfasts were delicious and a work of art! Her lovely B&B is beautifully decorated and meticulously clean! We felt at home and enjoyed our chats with our hostess. We certainly recommend John's Gate B&B to anyone going to Niagara-on-the-Lake and hope to return for another memorable stay in the future :)

Claudette (Cookie) & Friends

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudetteCookieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My partner has never been to Niagara Falls, so we jumped in the care and off we went!!!! Made reservations to stay at John's Gate B&B, first time stay, and could not have asked for a better experience. From the wonderful sense of humor our delightful inn keeper had, the amazing breakfast we woke up to each morning, to our relaxing oasis of a room. Our inn keeper set us up with a wine tour, one of the best wine tours I've taken, and headed us in the right direction to use the We Go public transit system to see all the tourist attractions for one great price This was one great road trip and would stay and recommend John's Gate B&B to all.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meheroo, Owner at John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We try to give our guests as much as information as possible in what they are interested in and then they can make an 'informed decision'. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for your confidence and for the appreciation. We hope to be able to host you again and again.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for one night at John's Gate. The B&B is a wonderful place. Our room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was delicious. We will recommend John's Gate to our friends and hopefully will be back for another stay in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bilkar6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have been to NOTL many times and have found each experience unique and delightful. The hostess at Johns Gate does a wonderful job of keeping it spotlessly clean and providing gourmet breakfasts. Not unlike home, we had to remove our shoes but this is a common custom in many places and helps keep from tracking in who knows what into the bedrooms. The hostess is very enthusiastic to ensure that you have a wonderful stay and is willing to provide all kinds of helpful tips and coupons. Having been so many times before we declined these but another couple took full advantage and were thrilled with the suggestion for a place to eat for their anniversary. This turned out to be a perfect place they related. Overall a very positive experience....even though Raonic beat Kyrgios!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at John’s B and B for one night in May and had a very pleasant experience. When we arrived, Meheroo made sure we were comfortable for our stay, made sure we had dinner reservations and gave us many tips on what to see in NOTL. Our room was extremely clean and inviting; we definitely felt welcomed at John’s B and B. The breakfast was to die for, it was delicious. Great place, we will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ZainabR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my first time in a B&B and I will definitely come back. The decor was charming. The room was cozy, comfortable and very clean. It's only a short walk to the quaint downtown along a quiet tree-lined street. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 686DarleneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.8 mi away
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#11 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finlay House
Finlay House
#42 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#38 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Property: John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 John Street West | Box 1156, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinner/Theatre Packages, Wine Tours and Seniors' Specials offered monthly. Custom-built pre-Victorian style bed and breakfast, centrally located 1km from Niagara-on-the-Lake's Queen Street shopping, restaurants and Shaw Festival theatres. Next to the world-class Spa at the Pillar and Post Inn. Private entrance, dining room and guest parlour. All the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing