We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A group of 26 of us stayed here the weekend of January 25th. The property is different in that the hotel spans various buildings and is not all in one building. We stayed in the two bedroom villa, but others stayed in the hotel rooms, the studio suite and the one bedroom villas - all are beautiful. The two bedroom villa was great for having everyone over for drinks and apps before dinner. We all fit with no problem. The villas are very well equipped, the furnishings are beautiful and the beds and linens are very comfortable. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. I have stayed in all of the main hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake and this is by far my new favorite and the most luxurious. We will definitely be coming back - everyone in the group is looking forward to next year. The hotel is also in the perfect location for walking everywhere.

Room Tip: The studio suite above the lobby is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLynnBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you “jlynnbuffalo” for taking the time to post this review. We were more than happy to host the group and we are so pleased you had a great weekend here. The two bedroom villas sure are spacious enough to host pre-dinner apps & drinks. It sounds like you were also able to take advantage of all the amenities. We look forward to seeing you all in the future.

Cheers
Corey Stirrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    43
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
76
291
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south western ontario
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for one night on a very cold February night. The staff here are great, very friendly and professional. The rooms and villas are spread out between four different buildings. Our room was in a brand new building and had a very comfortable King bed, nice linens, and nicely appointed furniture. We were celebrating our anniversary, and the staff left us a bottle of sparkling wine in the mini fridge. Nice touch! Thank you!
Reception is in a small separate building in the parking lot, which might a be a little hard to find, but if you have a reservation they send you directions. You do have to go outside to get to the building your room is in, which on a cold winter night is not ideal, but no great hardship. We got the dining package with Treadwell Restaurant and it was fantastic! We really enjoyed both the dinner and the stay at Victorian Villas. I didn't see the one or two bedroom villas, but they sound great if you are visiting NOTL with friends or family. They have a full kitchen, but don't cook your own meal when you can go to Treadwell!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinderella50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hello “Cinderella50” thank you for taking the time to post this review and allowing us to be a part of your anniversary celebrations. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable dinner at Treadwells. During your next visit you will have to tour both the one and two bedroom villas. They are very spacious for friends and family.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario. Canada
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We recently spent a night at the Victorian Villas and dined at Treadwell's.
Victorian Villas couldn't be better situated in the town and they've done a good job of updating the historic properties. We had a king bed room with fireplace on the top level, it was winter so we didn't enjoy the balcony, but it would be great in the summer.
We were in a room right above Treadwells and we had no indication there was a restaurant below, they've done a great job of sound proofing.
We enjoyed the getaway although I don't think the room is worth the $475/night posted rack rate. We had a problem with the room temperature, it was in the mid 70's F which was too warm for us for sleeping. We tried setting the temperature down to the level we're used to but it didn't budge.
In addition, we were awakened a couple times during the night to loud bangs from duct work. I also found the mechanicals very loud in our room. In addition, we had poor wifi service, it was either very slow or unavailable.
On the plus side, Treadwell's food was delicious and beautifully presented although I did find the portions small.
It was a good experience but I don't think my wife and I will be rushing back there anytime soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hello “Trip42” thank you for taking the time to post this review regarding your stay. I am glad you were able to take advantage of being in the heart of Niagara-on-the-Lake while staying with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced from the duct work. I have since had my Maintenance team correct that for future guests. In regards to the wireless internet, we have recently updated the service, so all guests can connect to one signal and stay connected while moving from one building to the next. I would ask that the next time you are staying in the Niagara-On- the- Lake, you contact me directly and I will personally take care of your reservation.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Victorian Villas for 3 nights to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and it was simply outstanding! We have stayed in several resorts in Ontario and abroad and this is by far the best! Everything about the hotel is top notch right from their customer service to the amenities to the furnishings. Corey, Debbie, Nicole and the entire team went out of their way to ensure our every need accommodated.

Often times when staying at a resort you will find at least one aspect that could be improved but this is not the case with Victorian Villas. It was a wonderful vacation .... Our only disappointment was having to leave!

Thank you Victorian Villas for making our stay so memorable.

Julia and Domenic

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hello Julia & Domenic. Thank you very much for staying with us on such a special occasion and trusting us to help make it special. Both Nicole and Debbie were pleased to hear you had a great night. We are very grateful for the kind words and hope to see you both during future stays with us.

Regards,
Corey Stirrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I spent a relaxing weekend at the Victorian Villas during the Niagara-on-the-Lake Ice Wine Festival. We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, which truly exceeded our expectations.

The location was great, the staff friendly and attentive to detail, and our one-bedroom suite was very luxurious. Everything was high-end, from the well-stocked dream kitchen to the ultra-comfy beds. The 2 HD TVs, lush towels and bathrobes, and top-of-the-line appliances added to the great experience.

We ate at the hotel’s restaurant, Treadwell, where every course was delicious. The co-owner of the restaurant, James, is a certified Sommelier and he helped us gain some valuable wine knowledge as he paired an excellent wine with our meal.

We highly recommend the Victorian Villas, and plan to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian_Villas, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Carm P, thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. I’m glad you had a great weekend in town and were able to take advantage of the many activities during the Ice Wine Festival. The one bedroom villas certainly do have everything to make our guests feel right at home. We hope to see you again in the future, please let me know if there is anything I can assist you with.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager
The Victorian Villas Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the wonderful Victorian Villas for the first time during the Niagara on the Lake Icewine festival. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was perfect. The room was beautifully appointed, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the linens & towels were top notch. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare a meal or entertain guests (dishes, glasses, cutlery, pots, kettle), stainless steel appliances (side by side fridge with an ice maker/dispenser, stove, microwave, dishwasher & a garburator). The bathroom is luxurious and high quality toiletries are provided. The suite was one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in. It is steps away from Queen Street and they offer shuttle service should you require. They have complimentary tea and coffee (including espresso, lattes, cappucino) in the lobby throughout the day. The coffee was very good! All of the staff were very friendly and professional, they are definitely interested in making your stay enjoyable. We ate at Treadwell's and were completely wowed, the food was exceptional! We will definitely return for another stay this summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian_Villas, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear “Sonia R”, thank you for sharing your review on our Trip Advisor page. It sounds like you had a great weekend with us, taking part in all of the Ice Wine celebrations. All of us are thankful for the coffee machine, I’m glad you enjoyed a cup or two as well. Definitely needed after a busy day outside. I will pass your comments along to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer, where you will be able to enjoy the rooftop patio!

Kindest Regards,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager
The Victorian Villas Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Victorian Villas for New Year's Eve. It was a perfect location, right in the heart of Niagara-on-the-Lake's main street, so we could walk to everything. New Year's Eve was particularly cold and our reservations was more than a stroll away, so we used the hotel's shuttle service. Nicole, who also checked us in at the front desk, drove us. She was very friendly and came to pick us up. It was perfect.
The rooms were clean, as they are all freshly renovated. Our room was above Treadwell restaurant, but to my surprise, smells or noise didn't permeate the room. (It was New Year's so we weren't in our room during peak dining hours.) Strangely, there were plug-in air fresheners in the hallways that was overpowering. The bed was comfortable but small, as it was a double.
Breakfast was not included, so we made our way across the street to Stage Coach Family Restaurant. It was a great post-New Year's Eve breakfast with very friendly service.
Overall we had a nice stay and a lovely New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveisatThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian_Villas, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Happy New Year LoveisatThor! Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read you had a wonderful New Year’s Eve and that we were able to be a part of it. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Nicole as well. We hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager
The Victorian Villas Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,983 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa

Property: 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
Address: 124 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly The Victorian Villas Boutique Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unsurpassed luxury awaits you at 124 on Queen Hotel & Spa. Choose from a range of stylish accommodation options including deluxe rooms and multi bedroom villas and enjoy five diamond service that will exceed your expectations. Situated on the main street of Old Town, the heart of Niagara on the Lake is just steps away, and our exceptional Concierge Team is ready to assist you with every request. Stay fit in our 24-hour fitness facility, or relax at our world class Spa at 124. 124 On Queen offers a wide range of amenities to all our guests along with daily cleaning services and 24-hour reception. Each room is also full of special touches to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. 124 On Queen Hotel & Spa is located 30 minutes from Niagara Falls and 90 minutes from downtown Toronto. Come enjoy the Niagara on the Lake lifestyle in style - only at 124 on Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing