We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully furnished, great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Victorian Villas on King Street, which has five rooms/suites above the Grill on King Restaurant, which is a 'sister' property of 124 on Queen. We were at first a bit surprised as we had booked for a stay at 124 on Queen, and only upon check-in realised we were assigned to this property on King which is about a block or two away from the main property. The unit is well furnished and has all the facilities (and more) than expected -- fridge/freezer, cooker, oven, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, lovely lounge with comfy sofas and throws, nice sized bedroom, and a bathroom (which unfortunately did not have space for a bathtub, though the shower was nice). The staff were friendly and attentive, and accommodating when we changed our prebooked massage sessions twice. The only gripe, if it can be called that, is that being away from the main property felt a bit removed, in that we missed having a concierge/reception at our doorstep, though they were only a phone call away to assist with our queries -- for example,when we had difficulty navigating the cable channels to find World Cup and Wimbledon coverage. Otherwise, we would definitely recommend 124 on Q, including at Victorian Villas, especially for couples who may be staying more than a weekend, as the amenities really lend themselves to a longer stay.

Room Tip: May be useful to clarify if you're getting a room at 124 on Q or at the Victorian Villas, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FT-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi "FT- London" thank you for posting this review and the photos of your recent stay with us! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the great location, being steps from all of the action in Niagara on the Lake! The location at King Street is still part of 124 on Queen Hotel & Spa. We do have the buildings on Queen Street and the one building at King Street. The hotel name did change at the beginning of spring- from The Victorian Villas. Offering the same in room amenities and great service. I hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a stay the Memorial weekend at 124 in an upgraded room and the Spaliday overnight package. If looking for a great value in a stay (given interested in the spa for a bit of relaxation) this package is a wonderful mix of everything in one package at a great price. It includes an upgraded room, couples massage and dinner.

The hotel may be a bit unusual to think of and find at first as it is made up of many buildings directly behind the main street (cannot beat literally being in the middle of everything) with reception (and our room) in the middle of the hotels parking (directly behind Treadwell's) with access to the site by car driving beside the Valumart parking lot. Rooms largely face this space and the reception building. Our room was an upgraded suite that occupied the entire 2nd floor of the reception building. A large kitchenette (with Keurig), fireplace, sitting area, king bed and a wonderful bathroom made up the space. The weekend having wonderful weather I wonder what the site would offer in winter. Wet weather they have thought of though as the room had a large umbrella given needed.

The spa was really enjoyed (we were able to upgrade from the offered couples massage) and the staff great and dinner enjoyed. Reading the feedback and reviews of Treadwell's there was no worry of the quality or service though not many of the items appealed to us on first read of the menu (local and fresh but combinations/dishes we would not normally order). On being seated, we were provided a Spaliday fixed menu which was not read as part of the package. We were actually ready to leave and pass on the dinner (the fixed menu appealing to us even less than the full menu) and in telling the hostess why, we were offered the opportunity to order off the regular menu quickly. Our wait staff accomodated even further in an appetiser of mixed greens (not on the menu) Dinner was excellent in quality, the off menu appetiser enjoyed along with the bread service, and (part of the Spaliday menu) a dessert sampler.

When we arrived for dinner, we wished we had requested the patio as it was nice with the sun setting. Leaving a few hours later we were glad we had not as it had cooled considerably and we would have missed out on the ambience of the open kitchen inside. If wishing to sit outside for a planned reservation, remember to request such.

Having stayed at all the larger properties in NOTL, we would definitely add 124 as an option at the top of the list and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Look at the packages offered for extra value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Openspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you "Openspace" for taking the time to write this review! It sounds like you had a great evening on the Spaliday package, and both dinner/spa were enjoyed thoroughly. Hope to see you again this summer.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in a 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom villa. After a painless check-in we proceeded upstairs into a dining room, high-end kitchen, and living room area. The king and queen bedroom were well appointed and had plenty of closet space. Excellent soundproofing prevented the activity on Queen Street from being a problem. This location was perfect for sight-seeing and resturants. This is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hello "wisebo" thank you very much for taking the time to post your review! I am happy to hear both you and your wife had such an enjoyable stay with us in the two bedroom villa. The villas certainly have everything in them to make you feel right at home. Hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here with my husband and two other couples. The room was beautiful, service was great and the bed was so comfy!

We had the best couple weekend whilst leaving the kids behind with our friends. The rooms had everything you would need. We also went to the restaurant on site, Treadwell and it was delicious.

A great experience that I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi "jensen1974" thank you very much for posting this review. I am pleased to hear you and your friends had a great stay with us, and were able to experience Treadwell Farm To Table Cuisine on site. I hope to see the group again in the future!

Regards,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in this great little hotel on the main street (Queen) of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Even though our room was directly above Queen Street, the town is quiet by around 9 p.m., so noise is not a factor. There's free coffee in both the room and in the check-in area, plus a Starbucks next door. Treadwell's is a wonderful, fresh cuisine restaurant on the main level with both outdoor and indoor seating. Food is wonderful, but a little pricey. Beds, linens very good and bathroom with glass shower had lots of room and two sinks (no vanity mirror, though). You can basically park your car (for free) during your visit, since the theatres, great restaurants and shopping are all within easy walking distance. We didn't use the Spa or the Concierge services for wine tours, etc., but the staff were very helpful for any questions we did have. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in Room 401 on the second floor which overlooks Queen Street. No evening noise - we would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoCouple763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi "TorontoCouple763", thank you for posting this review! I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to take advantage of the great location. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to town. You will have to make time in between the shopping to enjoy the great spa services we offer!

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A great retreat with luxurious bedding & bath products. Staff are extremely obliging & very efficient. Thx to Kristen B & Kristen S for a quick resolution to our request. Their in-house spa also provided great service - what a way to start our weekend! A special thx to Megan who took care of all our requests even before we arrived.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello “CollFair”, thank you for posting this review of your recent stay! I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and were able to relax while enjoying services at the spa. The entire team was more than happy to take care of any requests you had. We want each guest to feel right at home while staying with us. I hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our second visit to this luxurious hotel and once again they exceeded our expectations. The location is perfectly situated in the heart of beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake and within walking distance to everywhere you may want to visit.

The hotel itself has a wonderful restaurant, Treadwells and a Starbucks so that you won’t go hungry ... or thirsty. The rooms are equipped with a full kitchen that includes everything including a gas burner stove should you want to cook in your own suite.

We stayed in The Evans House, Villa 202 which is on the second floor. Cory, from the Front Desk took us to our room and effortlessly carried my (embarrassingly) heavy suitcase up to our room while at the same time pointing out all of the features in our room, and explaining how we access the roof top terrace and Sun Deck in the next building over from ours at 124 on Queen. While we didn’t find any time to enjoy that space, we did manage to check it out briefly and it is an amazing place to relax and enjoy the sunshine by day, or a star-filled sky at night. It would also be a perfect setting for an intimate social gathering .... perhaps with some local wine and music to round out a special event.

Our immaculately clean Villa was also equipped with everything you could possibly need and more: 2 flat screen televisions, stone-faced gas fireplace, adjustable air conditioning, special treats including toiletries and towels from France, crisp white bed linens on the incredibly comfy, a King size bed, a walk-in closet, and spacious stand-up glass shower with adjustable shower head. You won’t want to leave!

We were offered a hotel shuttle to attend an Opening Night at the Shaw Festival, however we declined the offer as we were meeting friends and driving with them. When we returned to the hotel, Treadwells was still bustling with people enjoying the warm Summer evening, sharing a night cap by the outdoor firepits and waterfall.

We didn’t have time to enjoy the spa .... one day we will give it a try. We plan to return again and we will also be eager to see the new Wine Bar that will be opening within the next month or so at 124 on Queen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Real_Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi “Real_Melanie” thank you very much for the kind words in this review. It was great to welcome you back for a second stay with us. The housekeeping team does an outstanding job in keeping the rooms in top shape. I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. I am pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again. On the next visit you will have to find time to relax on the roof top patio!

Regards,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
967 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa

Address: 124 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly The Victorian Villas Boutique Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £105 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unsurpassed luxury awaits you at 124 on Queen Hotel & Spa. Choose from a range of stylish accommodation options including deluxe rooms and multi bedroom villas and enjoy five diamond service that will exceed your expectations. Situated on the main street of Old Town, the heart of Niagara on the Lake is just steps away, and our exceptional Concierge Team is ready to assist you with every request. Stay fit in our 24-hour fitness facility, or relax at our world class Spa at 124. 124 On Queen offers a wide range of amenities to all our guests along with daily cleaning services. Each room is also full of special touches to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. 124 On Queen Hotel & Spa is located 30 minutes from Niagara Falls and 90 minutes from downtown Toronto. Come enjoy the Niagara on the Lake lifestyle in style - only at 124 on Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing