We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wife's 45th Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at 124 On Queen on July 16-17, 2014 as a surprise for her 45th birthday. It was a great place to stay. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was awesome as was the location! They had a bottle of wine in the room for my wife's birthday and were very helpful with recommendations for dinner & other activities.

The only complaint, if you call it that, is that the office where you check in is not properly marked. There are several buildings on the property and we walked around in the rain for a few minutes trying to find the office for check-in. The room was $325 for the night but definitely worth it and we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi "Todd L", thank you for posting this review of your recent stay with us! And thank you for allowing us to be a part of your wife's birthday surprise. I hope you and your wife make this an annual getaway.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Saturday July 12th 2014 for 2 nights. I can say without reservations that this was the best hotel experience I’ve had in recent memory. The access to the parking lot is easy to miss and it is a one way drive immediately after the Hendriks Valu-Mart. Drive slowly or you will miss it! We booked a spa and dinner package. The front office staff is ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING in every way. Any building can be a hotel but the staff makes the experience. Every single member of the staff was smiling, pleasant, attentive, informative and helpful. Kudos to them! My room was beautiful and looked like it was just painted. The bathroom was spacious with a cool travertine tile floor. King size bed with 2 sets of pillows with different firmnesses (I need firm and the wife is a belly sleeper). My room faced Queen Street ---- the crowded, busy, bustling ‘main drag’ of the town --- but the room it was pin-drop quiet. The spa treatment was outstanding for the both of us. Be aware that tip is INCLUDED with the repurchased package. Dinner at Treadwells was outstanding and I’ll review them in detail separately. I can honestly say that I will never stay anywhere else but here when I return.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and ask for a room that faces Queen Street. Avoid rooms that face the resta...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOldDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you "TheOldDude" for taking the time to post this review! I am pleased to hear you had a great weekend with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our first time at Niagara on the Lake and wanted someplace that was in a central location. I can't say enough about 124 Queen Street. It is brand new and perfect. It is spotless, decorated gorgeous and the staff is amazing. The girls at the front desk went out of their way to help us feel comfortable as we got there before our room was ready. The showed us to the rooftop lounge and let us get comfortable there. As soon as our room was ready they came right up to tell us. The size of the room was wonderful. The bathroom is so spacious and spotless. The housekeeping was equally outstanding as they called to ensure that they could clean the room so they were not getting in our way.
We needed ice and they brought it up right away. After we left Niagara on the Lake we went to Marriott in Niagara Falls ( Canada Side) and they nickeled and dimed us for everything. 124 Queen was total opposite. WI - fi was included. Bottled water was always available, free parking( unlike the Marriott that charged us for all that I just mentioned). The location was perfect as you could walk to everything. The restaurant- Treadwell was OUTSTANDING- the best meal. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and they surprised us with complementary glasses of champagne.
Everything fresh and cooked to perfection. There is not one thing that is wrong with this hotel. We will definitely be back and will by pass Niagara Falls and just stay at the lake. A must for everyone!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 401 and it was wonderful!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 0118Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi "0118Jean" thank you for your wonderful review! We enjoyed having you and are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of so many amenities. We hope you'll make your anniversary an annual visit to Niagara on the Lake.

Regards,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Have stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions. Both times the service was impeccable. The concierge was helpful when recommending attractions and restaurants, and emailed us two weeks in advance to confirm whether or not we would need reservations for dinner or a show. The hotel is situated right on the main street in Niagara on the Lake and is walking distance to all of the Shaw Festival theatres and all of the NOTL restaurants (go to Treadwell - it's the best one in the area). The hotel was spotless and quiet - no problems with noise as the rooms are dispersed over a couple of buildings. Try to book a suite facing Queen street (the main street). Staff and services at the spa were also top notch. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex_765123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi "Alex_765123", thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home when you are in town. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay yet again, and you were able to take advantage of the onsite amenities. The concierge team was more than happy to assist you with recommendations and reservations. See you again in the future.

Cheers
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is one of the nicest mini-vacays I've ever had! We stayed at 124 on Queen for two nights for my mother's 75th birthday 'girls weekend'. We had a Courtyard Deluxe room, which was on the second floor of the building which has Treadwells on street level.

Check-in was friendly and efficient - we were in our room within 10 minutes. A few minutes later, while we were getting settled in, there was a knock at the door - a complimentary bottle of Jackson Triggs wine in celebration of Mum's birthday! Really nice touch.

The room was spacious enough for the two of us, with a double sink in the bathroom (always a good thing with two women sharing a room!), L'Occitane toiletries, a Keuring machine, complimentary bottled water, and one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in! Absolute heaven.

The location is perfect - right in the middle of the action on the beautiful main street which has charming shops and restaurants. We booked some services at the spa - I had called in advance the week before to make reservations. We both had a relaxation massage, then my Mum had a facial (which she raved about) and finished off with express pedis for both of us. The timing was perfectly coordinated with no waiting in between services and friendly, competent staff. Eminence organic products were wonderful.

After that, we went to Treadwells for dinner before catching a show at the Shaw Festival. We had reservations, so we were in and seated immediately (I'd advise making reservations if you'd like to dine here - it is a popular spot!) The dinner was absolutely delicious - the 'farm-to-table' concept is great - the flavor and freshness of the ingredients definitely adds to the dishes. Really innovative flavor combinations and flawless execution by the kitchen. The staff were professional and knowledgeable - providing information on each of the dishes and the sommelier provided excellent suggestions. Truly worth the visit if you are a 'foodie'.

All-in-all, it was a wonderful experience which made this special weekend very memorable. 124 on Queen has it all - location, amenities, staff, spa, food - all woven together flawlessly to create a world-class experience. Worth it!

Room Tip: The Courtyard Deluxe room (#406) looks out over the patio of Treadwells. If you're visiting in S...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoJoTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi "MoJoTrippin", thank you for taking the time to post this review and posting the lovely picture while at the spa. It sounds like you had a great weekend in town, taking advantage of the onsite amenities as well as the Shaw Theatre. We were more than happy to be a part of the birthday weekend for your mother and providing the bottle of wine. I am glad you both enjoyed! Hope to see you again next year.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Three nights at 124 Queen. Lovely new facility with gorgeous modern rooms. Quiet room location toward the back of the property was lovely. Yet you are right in the middle of the NOTL action. Most places are walkable. Parking is easy. Check in was smooth with extra attention paid to helping us making the most of our visit (how to see the Falls best, where to have lunch, etc.). The e-mails before hand to offer assistance were also a lovely touch. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in NOTL.

Room Tip: Quiet room location toward the back of the property was lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lviehmyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hello "Lviehmyer", thank you for posting this review from your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had a great three night stay. The team was more than happy to provide you with recommendations to make sure you get the most out of your stay in Niagara on the Lake. See you again in the future.

Regards,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been to Niagara on the Lake a number of times and we loved this little hotel in the middle of town. It is perfectly located on the main street and we walked to the play we attended at the festival theater. We have stayed at other hotels however they were bigger and less personal. Megan at front reception was wonderful and helped us get organized. I used the gym a couple of times and while small it had great equipment. The bed was great, the room nicely furnished overall a great couple days away from the big city!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124onQueen, General Manager at 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi "LGTO" thank you very much for writing this review of your recent stay! I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable and relaxing weekend away from the busy city. I will be sure to pass your comment onto Megan as well. I hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers,
Corey Stirrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,534 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa

Address: 124 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly The Victorian Villas Boutique Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £129 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unsurpassed luxury awaits you at 124 on Queen Hotel & Spa. Choose from a range of stylish accommodation options including deluxe rooms and multi bedroom villas and enjoy five diamond service that will exceed your expectations. Situated on the main street of Old Town, the heart of Niagara on the Lake is just steps away, and our exceptional Concierge Team is ready to assist you with every request. Stay fit in our 24-hour fitness facility, or relax at our world class Spa at 124. 124 On Queen offers a wide range of amenities to all our guests along with daily cleaning services and 24-hour reception. Each room is also full of special touches to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. 124 On Queen Hotel & Spa is located 30 minutes from Niagara Falls and 90 minutes from downtown Toronto. Come enjoy the Niagara on the Lake lifestyle in style - only at 124 on Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing