We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Stay”
Review of Moffat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moffat Inn
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at the Moffat Inn last weekend and found that it an excellent choice. Located between the theatres, it was easy to walk to all of them and around the town. As always, we travelled by train to St. Catharines then took a taxi to the hotel. We were greeted by name when we arrived, a great comfort to be remembered by the staff - it made us feel that we were 'somebody.'

This year, we took the Bed and Breakfast package and enjoyed the Breakfast Buffet at the Prince of Wales Hotel next door. The choices, both hot and cold, were plentiful and the price most reasonable.

We sat by the window as we enjoyed our delicious meal.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the hotel, so if you have trouble with stairs, you should choose a room on t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpackca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Moffat Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the Moffat Inn June 13th, 14th, and 15th. We had a lovely queen room that overlooked the little courtyard. The bedding was so comfortable that I am going to buy it from the Prince of Wales gift shop! The location is wonderful as you are on the main street that leads to town. The parking is free and we didn't get in the car until we left. We brought our bicycles and toured the neighborhoods. We walked to the 2 theaters where we had George Bernard Shaw theater festival tickets and to the restaurants in town. You can use the amenities at all the Vintage properties and we got massages at the Prince of Wales spa. A wonderful weekend!
For the money, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nursestina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Overall our stay was pleasant, however, there were a few things that really impeded us from having a great stay. Namely, we could not change the room temperature - and it was FREEZING. It was horrendously cold in our room. Taking a hot shower to warm up was difficult as the shower water temperature would not remain constant, fluctuating from burning hot to freezing cold - all without adjusting the faucet! Another point of concern was the mystery USED towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door when we arrived. One of the windows was also missing a covering. It was strange. Despite the setbacks, the room was quiet, clean and spacious. Also, the location couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel was very nice and comfortable but totally overpriced for what we got! The room was smallish but clean. The TV in the room was so small you could hardly see it when lying in bed. I was also rather disappointed that breakfast was not included. However coffee was provided in the morning. Overall it was an average stay for 5 star price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selwyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Moffat Inn is located in a perfect spot for exploring the beauty of Niagara-on-the-Lake. It offers free parking for guests, has WiFi, on-site restaurant (which we did not try and is only open during peak season) and friendly staff.
When we first arrived we were taken back by the overwhelming musty smell...like a recently opened cottage after a long damp winter. We were concerned that our room was going to have the same odour and were relieved when this was not the case.
We had to enter our room from the outside...a private entrance into a decent size room. The room had a step up to where the bed was and a step down into the bathroom...something you may want to consider depending on your mobility. Stepping down to the bathroom in the middle of the night can prove to be somewhat tricky. In our room, you are unable to view the TV from the bed...perhaps not a deal breaker, but we wanted to watch some sports late into the evening.
The bathroom was very clean, great water pressure however not the greatest quality soaps, etc.
Overall the location was perfect and the staff were very welcoming. Given the abundance of choice in the area...from B&Bs to Inns...I don't think we would stay here again. It was average at best.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about stairs to/from room and within room itself. Some rooms are entered from out...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAT2012135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Moffat as it was more reasonably priced than sister properties. It is not fancy by any means but it was clean, front staff friendly and bed was comfortable. Great to be able to park car on premises. I would like to see place spruced up a bit. Would recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We spent one day/night at the inn in this charming town. It is located between the lake and the center of town. The staff was very nice. Parking was free in the back of the inn. We were on the way to Toronto, having flown in from Buffalo and this was a perfect extra day stopover.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,534 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moffat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moffat Inn

Address: 60 Picton St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £86 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moffat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Moffat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moffat Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing