We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to stay in a lovely town”
Review of Moffat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moffat Inn
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for one night in July. We had heard that Niagara itself wasn't the greatest place to stay and found good reviews about Niagara on the Lake. The Moffat Inn was clean,we had a comfortable bed & it was well located next to restaurants and shops. The room was on the side of the hotel with a separate entrance which made it seem more private & more like a motel. I would recommend staying here, it's quiet, clean & ideal for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

I would have to agree with yvonne475. My partner and I were also disappointed in the quality of the Moffat Inn. We were there the week of July 22, 2013 and were greeted with rolls of old carpet and the sound of workers installing carpeting in the hallways. Our room (#116), billed as a traditional room, was very tired looking, with peeling wallpaper, scruffed up furniture and windows with missing handles so that we could not open them. To my surprise, I was advised on checking out that all the rooms were renovated just two years ago. If that is true, they should fire their designer/contractor. The bathroom, admittedly, was new, but again the workmanship was poor. The one glass shelf looked like it was about to fall off, and it seemed that they neglected to finish off the window frame. Having enjoyed stays at the Queen's Landing, Prince of Wales Hotel and the Pillar and Post, we thought the Moffat Inn would also be lovely. How wrong we were. We shall not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Water_Lily61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Nice stay at a fairly reasonably priced hotel. Updates have the place looking lots better. Staff is helpful. Location is great for walking around Niagara on the Lake. If you are expecting this Inn to have the same amenities as a brand spanking new hotel, you may be disappointed but you may be missing some of its charm. I wanted to bring the pillow top mattress home....it was amazingly cozy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We found the Inn to be great value. It's located on the main strip of NOTL. Walking distance to anything you want to do. They have free parking , which is a plus, considering everywhere else there is metered parking, that's if you can find a spot. Our room was located on the second floor and was very comfortable. The bathroom was small but clean and newly remodeled. We had windows in our room with screens and air conditioning that worked great. The linens were very high quality . The staff was very pleasant and check in and out went without a hitch. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the inside of the building without an exterior entrance. We had friends that got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is old, tired and dirty. Carpets are stained and filthy; wall paper in our room was peeling off the awl, shower curtain had three fewer hooks than required, pillow stuffing was coming out in my hand. Rooms are really tired and the place needs a total makeover. The entire hotel smells musty and mouldy. This is not a cheap place and is associated with much better hotels. It should be closed and fixed up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvonne475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The inn is situated in a very pretty spot near the Festival theatre, across form a beautiful park. Room 127 is charming and quiet. The room has its own entrance directly from the street up a couple of steps. It's clean and comfortable. The wall paper , unfortunately doesn't adhere properly to the walls, so at the seams it curls up. This didn't affect our sleep though! It's an attractive place otherwise. The location is perfect for the Festival theatre and for strolling the quaint downtown. Very friendly, pleasant front desk staff. There's a coffee maker and mugs. If you bring your own breakfast you can keep It cool with the free ice from the ice machine. It's spacious, too, for a B and B. a fair price for the location and quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for one night (June 29, 2013) and absolutely loved it. This was our first time in NOTL and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Although some parts of the lobby may not be 'modern,' we loved the quaint, cottagey feel of the inn and would definitely return for another stay. We paid $200 and it was worth every penny (We travel a lot, hotels at the falls at this time of the year start at $300, so $200 for a room on the main NOTL strip is worth it to us!).

Check-in was super speedy. The lovely employee at the front desk was very polite. Our room was very small, but so cozy and perfect for us. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable ones we have ever slept in (as I mentioned before, we travel a lot!!), the bedding was crisp, white and so fluffy. The TV set was pretty outdated and very tiny, BUT it had all the channels so it didn't really bother us. Besides, we didn't go there to watch television.
Where the bedroom may have lacked in style, it was definitely made up in the bathroom. It was fresh and completely renovated. Everything was granite and super clean. No problems there!

The only thing I would recommend for the hotel management is fixing the leak in the check-in area. Though it did not both us, it might be an eye sore for others. It also made the room feel a little bit damp. To everyone else, no where else in the inn did it feel damp. The room's AC worked very well, and was NOT loud like some other people mentioned.

The inn also offers complimentary coffee in their communal living room downstairs every morning, where there is cozy seating and a TV. It was really nice! Another guest told us about the pool facility at another inn in the same Vintage Hotels chain, and recommended we go for a swim. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to but were told that it was definitely worth it next time. Do bring your swim suits! Guests at the Moffat Inn have access to the rest of the Vintage Hotel chain's facilities.

The Moffat Inn also has free parking which was very convenient, and has a small pub in the inn's lower level. The pub is warm and welcoming, and is a great place to hang out at night. We ordered a pizza and ate it in our room. Very yummy for a late-night eat.

In short, the Moffat Inn is great for you if you're looking for an affordable, comfy and quaint stay on the NOTL strip. The guests appeared to be a more mature crowd (no young adults at all), in fact, we were probably the youngest ones there. It's a 5 minute walk from the water and is across from a lovely park. It's also right beside all the shops--truly a perfect location. This inn is a perfect reflection of this area's vibe, and provides the intimacy of a B&B type place to their guests.

I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We booked a room totally last minute and were thankful to have even gotten one. Our room had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moffat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moffat Inn

Address: 60 Picton St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £84 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moffat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Moffat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moffat Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing