We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”
Review of Moffat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moffat Inn
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Moffat Inn is a lovely hotel with the coziness and friendliness of a B and B. The rooms are very comfortable, newly renovated with excellent plumbing. The staff is particularly kind, helpful and friendly. The location in NOTL couldn't be better for access to all the Shaw Festival theaters, and the waterfront. Since it's an historic building, it has the charm and feeling of NOTL without the high prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our room was advertised as "premium" with rates to match but fell very short in delivering in many ways. Rugs were dirty, furniture was tired and location of our room was horrible. Our patio backed out on the parking lot, and the smell of grease coming from the kitchen ventilation prohibited sitting on it.. The one redeeming feature was the comfortable beds. The lobby of the Inn is deplorable, musty smelling and not welcoming at all. I could not in good conscience recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5bann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I recently revisited NOTL and stayed at the Mofft Inn. It's been 2 years since our last visit and I was thrilled to see things have not changed. The staff at the Moffat Inn is very friendly and goes out of their way to take care of their guests. The rooms are spotless and the hotel is very quiet. For those who have never stayed here before, the location is perfect and they have a great restaurant downstairs with some wonderful beers. Stay here...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Once upon a time, the Moffat was the only non-smoking hotel in town; and I started staying there because of that. What can I say---I fell in love with the place. Rooms are large and comfortable with plenty of space to put one's clothes. Beds are comfortable. Location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed for a w/e at the Shaw. (2/52 after a stay at Whiteoaks previously reviewed and not to be repeated)
Arrived noon and very pleasant greeting. Checked in expeditiously (cf Whiteoaks with checkin 4pm and totally unrepared to consider early checkin). No photo ID required (also cf Whiteoaks).
Nice room , reasonably spacious, furniture not run down as reported by one reviewer. Well equipped b/r. An irritating fly handled promptly.
Very convenient for the Shaw theatres and shopping.
Very comfy mattress and pillows, slept well.
Would thoroughly recommend

Room Tip: Try to get a terrace room, definitely a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Seeing the photographs of The Moffat Inn online, comparing it to other lodging accommodations in Niagara-on-the-Lake, and comparing nightly rates, our expectations were met during our early August, 2013 visit. We felt it had the best location where we could walk everywhere. Their Pub was a pleasant surprise offering great specials and homemade soups - we ate either lunch or dinner there each of the 4 nights in town. Not a rowdy crowd at all in the Pub. The staff there and at the front desk was most helpful to us, as this was our first time in Niagara-on-the-Lake. While the Inn did not have its own pool or fitness center, guests have those privileges at the upscale Prince of Wales Hotel next door. We took advantage of this. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Be mindful that the Inn has no elevator when making your reservation. Available rooms are either on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadsters040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just come home from what has become our annual stay at the Moffat Inn. If money is not an object, don't bother reading beyond this point. But if saving at least a hundred dollars a night (US or CDN) for a very good place to sleep when compared with the next closest Vintage Inn property, and a location that is only steps away from the Festival Theatre and other Shaw Festival venues, this is THE place. It's especially nice to have one of the first-floor rooms with a veranda. Yes, the furniture tends to be worn, in a funky sort of way. But the beds are good for sleeping, the room is clean, the bathroom is sparkling and adequately supplied. You can get a morning cup of coffee in the charming sitting room off of the lobby. Breakfast packages at the Prince of Wales are available. There is a London-style pub with decent food and great beer in the cellar. Over the years, we have spent much more money in virtually all of the other Vintage Inn properties, in rooms with snazzier fixings, but we have come around to the realization that we are in NOTL for its many appealing activities, all outside of our hotel room. For sleeping comfortably, for a place to stash your gear, for warm hospitality, and for an experience that will leave you with some extra dollars in your pocket, the Moffat Inn is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Look for one with a veranda towards the back of the Inn (although there are some verandas toward the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marbmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moffat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moffat Inn

Address: 60 Picton St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £83 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moffat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Moffat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moffat Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing