We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Face, Great Location”
Review of The Old Bank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Bank House
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty Face, Great Location”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The main floor of this B&B is full to the brim with mostly Asian antiques, furniture, and decorative pieces. It is lovely to look at and interesting to learn about. The host, Michael (I never spoke with Judy), was not initially helpful but as the time wore on-we were there four nights- he became more forthcoming. The breakfasts were delicious though, if you are in hurry, you may have a problem. The air conditioning in our room was weak though our friends were quite cold in theirs. The location couldn't be better since it is across from the park in front of the lake, next to another park and a couple blocks from the all the action. We would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: The B&B is on the street on two sides and over the kitchen on the third. There is some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    24
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We looked forward to our third visit to the Old Bank House and, once again, it lived up to our expectations. The setting is bucolic, right on the lake and away from the noise of downtown, yet a few minutes walk to the theatre and the golf course right down the road. The Arbor Room was large and comfortable. Judy and Michael were warm and hospitable, as always, and generous too, as they extended an invitation to our friends who were staying across the road to join us for breakfast without charge. And the breakfasts were delicious!
The home is decorated so beautifully it's worth some time just to examine what they've gathered from around the world.
Next summer will undoubtedly include a return to this beautiful and relaxing setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRM807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

BeauTiful location, gorgeous decor, outstanding service and hospitality. Loved it loved it loved it! Thanks Michael and Judy for making out stay so memorable! You have a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yndesouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Old Bank House for four nights in May 2012. It was a beautiful, quiet, and restful place. The owners were lovely and very helpful when we asked for directions and suggestions for spots to visit. The breakfasts were AMAZING.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My Husband and I stayed here this weekend for our wedding anniversary. We had such an amazing time! I read a lot of reviews for this place and thought went there not really sure what to expect. This was our first B&B experience and we must say.... It was amazing! The entire house was absolutely stunning. The room was beautiful. High ceilings and antique furniture made this experience even better. We stayed in "The Gallery Suite" that had French doors that went out to a balcony that overlooked the park and lake. Stunning view! We got up early to do tai chi on the shore and then got back for an amazing breakfast! The hot pears with custard was just what we needed, the eggs benedict was delicious. The entire experience was much more than I expected. The location of this B&B was perfect! Within walking distance to the main street with all the shops and right across the street from the lake. What more could you ask for? The service was great and the owners were the nicest people! So thank you to the staff at the Olde Bank House for making our stay so wonderful. We will be back!!! Guaranteed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at the Old Bank House in August 2011 in order to be in the same B&B as other people we knew and have breakfast together. It is a lovely building in a lovely location. However, for $276/per night I expected to find very nice things like bed linen, towels, shampoo, comfortable bed. We had none of those things. The bed we had was extremely uncomfortable - it felt like a very cheap mattress with very little padding over the inner springs. The bed linens were terrible: pilled, cheap, polyester or poly/combo. They were scratchy and uncomfortable. The towels in the bathroom were thin and the face cloths were tattered on the edges. There was one bar of soap, a half bottle of shampoo, and a half bottle of a body lotion. I have no problem with environmentally friendly people re-using plastic bottles, but they could fill them up.

The bedroom had access to a veranda - along with two other bedrooms. There was one table, four chairs. No umbrella, no shade, and not one flower pot. In a town such as NOTL - which is known for its summer beauty - it is very surprising to see a veranda of that size with nothing pretty on it. If the other two rooms had wanted to share it there would be no place to sit.

We also spent a little time in the room with two double beds as we were visiting others who had that room. The same complaints were voiced by our friends: terrible beds, linen and bath towels.

There is a lovely front porch which runs the width of the house. There are chairs for guests. There is a wider, round area at the end of the porch with a table and a number of chairs. However, when we went out there to enjoy a glass of wine (there were 6 of us) the area was taken over by the owners and their friends. I would expect that if other guests were already there, that would be the luck of the draw. But it does not seem appropriate for the owners to commandeer the best spot for themselves when they have a house full of paying guests.

I agree with some of the other reviews about the parking situation there, too - it is far too small and crowded.

The breakfast was good - but there was no offer of another piece of toast or English muffin.
We were advised that breakfast that morning was 'eggs benedict'. It arrived and it was a version of 'eggs benedict' made with smoked salmon. This was fine with me, but one of our party could not eat smoked salmon, and was not given any other choice or a substitute.

I have stayed in at least half a dozen B&Bs over the years in NOTL and they have all been delightful - and at prices between $99 and $150/per night. In fact, they were all far superior to this B&B - and the breakfasts were equally as good or better.

And one other thing: if you are allergic to dust, this is not the place for you. The downstairs in particular - hallway, sitting room, and dining room looked as though it hadn't been dusted in weeks.

I would not recommend this anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank OntarioEnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We recently stayed for the weekend at The Old Bank House with 3 other couples. We had stayed there several years ago and looked forward to our return. The house has newer owners now and it was a total disappointment. The bed was hard and ordinary as were the thin towels. The breakfasts were small and service was slow. The decor is hodge podge like a gigantic garage sale. We gathered in the living room one evening at 8 pm and were told that we had to be quiet by 10 pm. Not very friendly. The weather turned cold and so did the rooms with no temperature control. For paying in-season rates, this once first class B & B is now at the bottom of the list. Not a cozy welcoming place.

Room Tip: The rooms with carpeting were warmer than the ones with hard wood floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Somerset Bed & Breakfast
Somerset Bed & Breakfast
#89 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bernard Gray Hall Bed and Breakfast
Bernard Gray Hall Bed and Breakf...
#91 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arbour View B&B
Arbour View B&B
#134 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Manor Bed and Breakfast
Royal Manor Bed and Breakfast
#88 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#74 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellington House B&B
Wellington House B&B
#93 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank House

Property: The Old Bank House
Address: 10 Front St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Bank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Old Bank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bank House Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing