We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the most unwelcoming host on the planet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotters Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We booked two adjoining rooms at this B&B, one for ourselves and one for our three (civilised) children via the Chamber of Commerce. It is a traditional-looking clapboard house on a nice estate of similar houses, 20 mins walk from the centre of town. On arrival late in the afternoon we were being introduced to the accommodation and local facilities by the landlady when the landlord, Fernando, arrived and proceded to explain that we would not be allowed to leave any of our children alone in a room for even a minute: ie I would have to sleep in one room with our girls and my husband in the other room with our son! Not at all what we had imagined for a "luxury break in picturesque, romantic Niagara on the Lake". This on account of the threat to his "valuable antiques" - causing raised eyebrows as we are Londoners who lived in a house dating from 1790 and have plenty of old valuable stuff coexisting with our kids.
When we decided to leave he threatened to retain 50% of the tariff due to a late cancellation, and was extremely aggressive and unpleasant. Whilst I can sort of understand that some accommodation might be unsuitable for children, we made it absolutely clear on booking what we required and how old our children were, It was a bit of a shock therefore to be treated as if we were bringing vermin in to his home!
If you look at the Globetrotters own web advertising you may glean that Fernando has a similar attitude to vegetarians, vegans, diabetics and people with food allergies. This man should not be working in a service industry.
We stayed at the Pillar and Post instead and had a wonderful time.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank kiddywrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffvdv, Owner at Globetrotters Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2009

In seven years of operation, Globetrotters B&B has never received a negative review or comment—until now. This four-night reservation for a family of 5 was made through a third party (the Chamber of Commerce). The reserved guest rooms are not adjoining rooms. One is located on the main floor while the other is on the second floor. Accidents do happen, so for the safety of the children and in consideration of other guests, we insist that a person 15 years or older share sleeping quarters with children under the age of 12. In this case, all three were under 12. Unfortunately, the parents never contacted us to discuss their expectations. Nor did it occur to me that parents might want to leave children under 12 alone for any length of time in strange surroundings. It was not until my husband mentioned our policy (posted on our website) that we fully understood the parents' plans to occupy the room on the main floor while their three children occupied the Sultan's Tent upstairs. The father became belligerent, loudly demanding a refund. I explained no deposit had been collected prior to their arrival so a refund did not apply. Realizing they would not be happy here, I calmly suggested they leave, assuring them we would waive any cancellation fee under such unfortunate circumstances. We are pleased to hear they found accommodation that was much more suitable to their young family of 5.

Donna Vieira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2008

We stayed here in July 2006 and had a great time. The accommodation is first class and the hosts very friendly and easy to talk to.

The highlight was Fernado's breakfasts!

Robert and Judith (N Ireland)

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank torontotrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philou666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globetrotters-BnB, Owner at Globetrotters Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pescio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globetrotters-BnB, Owner at Globetrotters Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ederlezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globetrotters-BnB, Owner at Globetrotters Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#37 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
266 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,403 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,788 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Bed and Breakfast

Address: 642 Simcoe St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £98 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Globetrotters Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Globetrotters B&B in Niagara-on-the-Lake offers world-class, value-added accommodation at reasonable prices. Globetrotters B&B features elegantly furnished air-conditioned rooms in a pet- and smoke-free environment. Queen and single-bed sleeping arrangements in Le Moulin Rouge and in our Sultan's Tent provide flexibility for families or for two to four single adults travelling together. All guest rooms feature up-to-date private ensuite bathroom facilities. Awaken every morning to the delightful aromas of fresh-brewed coffee, home-baked croissants and Fernando's mouth-watering gourmet creations. All room rates include full breakfast, on-site parking and complimentary Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Globetrotters Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing