We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I decided to take a little getaway for a few days. We stayed at Harbour House for 2 nights and we loved it. Our room was comfortable and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. The hotel makes little nice touches-- wine and cheese before the dinner time hour and warm cookies in the evening. Fresh apples were available throughout the day. We were definitely the youngest couple (33 years of age) there. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the main street, which was great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaiteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are thankful to have such a great team working with us who understand the importance of the little details.

One of the great things about our location is being able to look out of your guest room window and see the harbour and marina, and we are just a short walk to Queen St. where you can enjoy shopping, dining and the Shaw Festival theatre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

We decided to visit Niagara on the Lake for our 25th Anniversary. We were very pleased with our choice to stay at the Harbour House Hotel. The personal service was a very nice touch, being shown to our room, which was lovely, the extra touches in the room, chocolates, turned down bedding and the wine and cheese in the lobby, etc. Also the choice of dinner at the St. Charles was fabulous. The shuttle service was very handy and prompt. Breakfast was nice, a large variety of breads, eggs, cheeses, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and teas and more in a lovely dining room. The staff at the inn is what really sets it apart. We would definately stay here again. Thanks for making our anniversary one to remember.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kulemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This has been the ninth time at harbour house we go twice a year early spring and late fall to Niigata on the lake and always stay here it is very quite attention to detail nice personal touches fresh cookies,ice in ice bucket remembering I like and extra bath towel staff will do what ever you ask to make stay special breakfast has enough variety for everyone staff is very professional attentive and most importantly friendly always a smile and a real genuine concern for the guests this is not the place if you are looking for flash and excitement this is a place to reconnect with the person you love in a romantic quite place fireplace beautiful view attention to detail

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique it seems everyone has their favourite it is small enough that there is no b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyspanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am thrilled to see that you enjoy and appreciate all of our little added touches. We are very thankful to have such a wonderful staff who truly care about our guests and their needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 10th visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We went to Harbour House for my birthday. We got a Travelzoo package for $179/night with $25 credit at Charles Inn Restaurant or Zee , $25 credit at Shaw spa , a fantastic bottle of wine ( $35 value) and (2) wine tasting passes at (2) wineries ( $28 value). The hotel is elegant ,luxurious and spot clean.The staff is friendly . They all get out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. I have been pleasantly surprised to find in the room a Happy Birthday and a Welcome note. Amanda checked us in and she showed us to our room which we felt was a very nice Welcome. We loved the breakfast !! It is of high quality in a pleasant environment and with good service. The hotel location is excellent with river view and 7 minutes walking distance to Festival Theatre or Shaw Spa and 10 minutes to Old Town stores. We liked it so much as we booked again a one night getaway for my wife birthday in May !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rszasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Went here for last minute get-away. Had to call for reservation because there was a problem both times on the internet in trying to book a room. They did honor the trip advisor discount. The staff were pleasant. Liked the shuttle service they offer into the town (they will drop you off for dinner and pick you up), considering the temperature outside was in 20's when we were there or we would have walked. The rooms are roomy enough and very clean. Others commented on quietness but we had some noise from other people's bathrooms/showers. Did enjoy the breakfast as others have said. Would choose this inn again upon returning. Does have parking attached which is a plus too, not an issue at this time of the year but I imagine at the height of the season this may be even more important. I did end up leaving an item behind and I give them kudos for sending me an email to let me know .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doctormomStow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your last minute get-away and all the wonderful features we offer. We are thankful to have such a wonderful housekeeping team that quickly hands in any lost items so we can have them returned. I am sorry to hear that you experienced any difficulty with booking room online, I will look into that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel.

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent just one night at this very good inn. Quiet rooms, good night sleep, confortable bedding. An excellent breakfast, i would say one of the best i had in an inn. Excellent staff, they moved us as our wifi connection wouldn t work in the first room we were in, which was in the back of the hotel. A minor thing to improve: at the wine reception at 4 they advertise for wine and cheeses, although the wine was there, the only cheese was a spread...it would have been nice to taste real cheese.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with wifi that actually works especially if you have an ipad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We went to the Harbour House for our 20th Anniversary and it was our 5th time there. The hotel is fantastic and the staff are the best. They all go out of their way to make your stay great and one you will always remember and want to come back to. Our favourite part is the breakfast!! They will even took my request for their blueberry french toast that I ask for everytime we go. Best hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you Debbie! I am thrilled that you chose Harbour House to be a part of your 20th Anniversary celebration. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful team working with us who enjoying creating those special moments.

Wishing you a wonderful year filled with many loving memories.

We look forward to your 6th visit.

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,609 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £126 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing